??!
4 photos
Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX

Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX (2015-2020)

Also referred to as: Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX 2019 and Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX 2021.
3.0 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.0

41 reviews
5
(9)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (8)
  • Handling
    3.5 (8)
  • Braking
    3.8 (8)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (8)
  • Interior Design
    3.4 (8)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (6)
  • Features
    3.0 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Ben J.

Ben J.Sydney, NSW

blow up engine

published

car used only for family transport regularly serviced
engine blow up at 73000 km 5 years
terrible customer service ,they just ignore you
not a reliable car , dont waste your money

Purchased in May 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Great drive

published

Great truck. Have completed 73000km with it. I Use the Ute on gravel roads over mountain passes all the time in NZ. I am using Four wheel drive daily. Also tow my 1.7ton digger over same roads. It’s been awesome. No real dramas apart from a sticky turbo waste gate. Seems to have fixed itself

Purchased in December 2017 for A$44,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
c purton

c purtonNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Good light weight workhorse

published

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Arb boi

Arb boiNortheast, VIC

Worst 4x4 to drive on market no suspension travel loud engine and road noise poor build and design

published

Work for a accessory company and have one company car and fit accessories to multiple dealers drive all brands and this is the worst on market carnt say anymore on how bad these drive on and off road

Purchased in June 2019 for A$39,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
jasonzammit22

jasonzammit22Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Awesome 4wd, haven't had an issue

published

Car has been great and can't fault it at all in the past 18 months of owning it. Definitely glad I saved the money by going a triton rather than a more expensive ute

Purchased in June 2018 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Cheap for a reason.

published

Bought 2016 dual cab manual brand new $35k (with extras) and with in 40000km:

-Drivers side outside door handle fell off. Literally fell off. Dealer said it had just been shaken loose!
-Rear suspension bushes wore out after 20000kms.
-Stereo only connects to my ipod sometimes and only after approx 3 minutes.
-Gutless as buggery. Overtaking anything is scary as hell.
-Rides like youre an epileptic in a washing machine.
-Traction control takes years to kick in.

Although i dont consider $35k as cheap,it is compared to the other manufactures.
Even so, dont buy these Thailand made, plastic, poorly designed things.

Purchased in November 2017 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Saba01

Saba01South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

awesome car

published

I use my car to go to work everyday and I also used it when I moved house was great the tray had everything in it from a gas oven to coffee machine.The Ute is serviced according to the log book and my mechanic always says it a tough car that takes a beating

Purchased in January 2018 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Top Ute For Cash

published

Mate look after it and will go 400000 plus klms Japanese design had 2 that did with regular service and care like any diesel warm it up clean air filter regularly and dont expect more than you paid for it i find it a very honest ute but will let YOU know when its done a bit

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

big problems

published

hi
I have a 2016 tritan as a work ute. things were going ok, then at 45000 klms the diesel injector blocked, court fire and melted. 3.5 weeks in workshop then told it was good to go. I drove out of workshop did 132 klms the dpf and engine warning light came on, I had to drive back to workshop at 40 kays as that was max speed, I waited 2 day before they told me it may be a dpf problem and they may be able to claim it under warranty, but they cannot even think about ordering parts until they sort out if its a warranty job. Not to mention this part is not in Australia and will take a month to get here.
The workshop tell me nothing I have to ring to ask them, and the best part is they don't know.

Badgetritan
CabSingle Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

4wd.. Your joking...

published

4wd. Single cab... Purchase new dec 2015... The drum that holds your seat belts.. When retracted rattles very loud . was told by dealer.. Your on your own... When 4x4 stick broke the wire for the rear wheel sensor.. NO more 4wd..but rear wheels bind up if you drive it... I recommend you don't drive it until you you fix it..$400 plus to replace... 2.4 diesel big flat turbo lag..one more thing If your on your own. In the bush with a flat battery you can't clutch start it... Because you have to press in the clutch to start...WHAT WHERE YOU THINKING... 4WD IS A OF ROAD VEHICLE... MITSUBISHI...

BadgeGLX
CabSingle Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Drive4WD
nothappyjan49

nothappyjan49PERTH

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

MQ Diesel Dual Cab-Pig!

published

Not happy at all with this vehicle. Seats fallen apart, Stereo system and bluetooth turn robotic. Roof racks interfere with radio reception as aerial cant fully extend. Has flat spot on acceleration. Doesn't like to tow which defeats the purpose as its a commercial work horse. Paint is absolutely crappy! Low quality for the new price paid! Capped price servicing from Mitsubishi only goes up to 45,000kms! Do not bother. Its an absolute PIG! Was told it was a GLXplus- no such badge!

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Drive4WD

2017 dual cab MQ triton value for money

published

excellent car to drive handles very well, tows well, comfortable, towed a 2.8 t half way around Australia no problems. good on fuel under 100 km hr.
few little issues, aircon packed it in day after buying it, no problems getting it fixed, had clutch slip while towing from day 1, often drops the bluetooth off while driving have to shutdown and start again to get it back.
if i was too buy again would go auto, the clutch is different to any other manual ive driven.
overall good value for money with so far only minor issues.

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Luke G

Luke GGeelong

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not what you think

published

We have three of the 2017 Triton utes at work and i was very excited to be able to drive them all over the state. They are ok but no where near the Ranger. Very small entry space, always bang my head getting in. Sore after driving anywhere over 5hrs. The older tritons were more comfortable than these. Not much value for money

BadgeGL
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Drive4WD
Rachel B

Rachel BAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Does everything it should but lacks in comfort

published

Great ute for a basic 4x4.
Good ground clearence,4x4 is easy to engage, economical, tows well and runs smoothly.
The diesel is quiet,turbo ia slow and can be sluggish.
Its basic with whats on the market and good for a tradie or beginner in the 4x4 market.
Ir does ride rough, the seats arnt the most comfortable and it's bouncy on the road.
They do have major speedo issues ours runs on average 7km under what shows on the dash, many others have the same issue with the MQ model.

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size3.2L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD
Tom

TomSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not a good car not good after purchas service

published

All the numbers in regards to power and fuel consumption is an absolute lies it’s uesing 11/13litr per 100 kilometre very cheap quality plastic interior slight touches resulting in deep scratches on the plastic all over interior ,transmission not trustworthy at all engine stalls at hill start due to two seconds forced breaking system ,took for first complementary services and got it back damaged/scratches totally disappointed bit extra towards Toyota or vw would do you better

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex liszczak

Alex liszczakMelbourne

The absolute devil

published
BadgeGLX
CabDouble Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.8L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Malberg

MalbergCaboolture

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pleasure to drive

published

I have just clocked up 50000 km 30000 km was towing a 2.7 ton caravan absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car still has original brake pads shock absorbers suspension only thing replaced better tyres I intend the put at least 250000 km on this Triton .
I highly recommend the Triton just as good as all the others but without the big price.

BadgeGLX
CabDouble Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD
Keith S

Keith S

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

What a nightmare

published

Purchased Mitsubishi Triton 4x4 Twin Cab Turbo Diesel Manual from South Nowra December 2016. Reported shudder in first gear through 15kph at 1500km service. Told it was new parts settling in. Towed 13 ft van and found the shudder was magnified in traffic and hill starts. Then started jumping out of third gear, sporadically at first and then every day. Told they did not have parts to fix. Traded Triton back to dealer at 10 months old for loss of over $10,000 still shuddering and jumping out of 3rd gear. Contacted NSW Fair Trading and they contacted dealer with no positive response. Looking for other Triton owners who want to take to court.

BadgeGLX
CabDouble Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Drive4WD
GregL

GregLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Preferred the previous model

published

Within first couple of
Weeks noticed that bonnet was
Vibrating whilst highway driving. Checked under bonnet and the bonnet skin Adhesive had come away from the frame. I can see this as I have a glx (glx+), if you have insulation you won’t see it. I took it back and they fixed it no worries. Whilst waiting for service I went and had a look at a number of other glx and glx+, brand new
And the adhesive
Had come away already.

1st Drive on a sandy track, after about 5ks had errors flashing, long story short abs sensor ripped off (probably by a stick), lost 4wd, has to be replaced, new part $550+. Note abs sensor is placed low, don’t know what rangers/hilux set up is but surely they can place it above the axle - design flaw.

BadgeGLX
CabDual Cab
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD
Kathy M

Kathy Mmarsden park

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Seat Issue + Deisel Particulate Filter Problem

published

Bought a new Triton Dual Cab manual - basically for the convenience of a dual cab ute (horse gear + stock feeds in the back), and to tow a horse float. It has now hit the 2 year old mark, and the drivers seat stitching along the edge near the door is coming apart, and the DPF warning light is flashing. I do plenty of highway driving, so the filter should be working OK. Not real happy that I have to wait 6 weeks to book the car in to get these issues sorted under warranty, as that's the wait time for next available service date at my local dealer (and where I bought the Triton from originally.

BadgeGLX
CabDouble Cab
BodyUte
Engine Size2.5L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Drive4WD
Page 1 of 3
See all Mitsubishi Triton reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Mitsubishi Triton MQ 4x4 2.4L Turbo Diesel GLX (2015-2020) but you can read 1,228 questions about Mitsubishi Triton.

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.