??!
3 photos
Motorola Moto G5 Plus 16GB

Motorola Moto G5 Plus 16GB

MPN: KHMOTG516DGRY
4.5 from 70 reviews

See the Best Mobile Phones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
41
4 star
23
3 star
6
2 star
0
1 star
0

Alex W

Alex WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great for the price

published

This phone has the performance of competitors many times it's price. Battery life is good, and it's quite robust. Would highly recommend. Only downfalls - camera is hard to focus up close. Brightness adjustment could be more sensitive.

Purchased in November 2017 for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Chopped

Choppedport melbourne

Don't need flash iPhone

published

Does what a $2000 phone would do never had a problem with it I would buy another over samasung htc or iPhones very fast never freezing Facebook runs great good camera recommend this phone to people at work as dropped alot and still going strong no cracked screen like iPhone

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Eleni.

Eleni.Adelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Very pleased with performance, biometric print unlock at price.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Jessica

JessicaMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good phone

published

Happy with this phone. The last one I had (3rd gen) lasted me 3 years before the charging port went. It does everything I need it to and has plenty of space for apps and pictures. Photo qualitys not too bad, sometimes my phone distorts the colour ever so slightly, but for the price difference between these and the top of the line phones, I can live with that

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Marian

MarianWodonga

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love this phone but has developed a problem with incoming calls

published

I've owned a lot of phones, including iphones and Samsung Galaxy's. This phone - until now - has been one of my favourites. It has a random issue with incoming calls - and random problems are difficult to get solutions to (especially from your retailer). I don't want to diss too much on the phone, because it has been great until now. I think its one of the better lower priced phones and if not for this annoying problem that has just raised its ugly head, I would give the phone 4 stars.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Clerisa

ClerisaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Good hardware, bad software

published

The moto g5 plus is a decent budget device. Specs are nice and usable and it doesn't hiccup much. The camera takes nice shots most of the time and can be improved by installing google camera. This phone has dual sim slots and micro SD expansion. Most phone have hybrid slots. It is unfortunate however, that Motorola (because lenovo) does nothing to support the software of this phone. I haven't got 1 update on this phone and I have had it for almost a year. It is still on android 7.0 even though 9.0 is out in a couple of months. Hardware is perfect for the price, but updates are non-existant.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Tututopi

TututopiMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The balanced mid-ranger

published

The moto g5 plus does not excel at any particular field, but does most things right. The screen is fine but could be brighter in direct sun light. I rarely run out of battery during the day. Camera is fine, but can be improved with Google's HDR+ camera app. The software is almost completely stock with no bloatware. However, Motorola have become really trash at providing updates for all of their devices. That is the only downside I see to this phone. Otherwise it serves me well.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Cin

CinNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Omg!! Amazing phone!!

published

I have had my G5+ for over a year now, and its still the best phone. I have had no problems with this Moto G5+, the whole time that i have owned it. Battery life is still amazing, all of the apps work great. Best phone for the money, You cannot go wrong with the Moto G5+!!!!!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Dane F

Dane F

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best budget phone on the market.

published

So many people think you need to get a flagship phone and that all the other phones are rubbish. The Moto G5 Plus strongly challenges this viewpoint. I have had this phone since September 2017, it doesn't feel one bit slower than when I first got it. I can honestly say that the $650+ price difference compared to something like a Galaxy S8 is not worth it. The fingerprint reader works great, overall the OS is snappy, and the camera is more than capable. I can see myself keeping this phone for a while.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Twin mum.

Twin mum.Perth

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fast and snap for a budget phone

published

On par with expensive models on performance and snappy response. Turbo charger make using a breeze. Great cam and takes good pics. Sound is not too shabby. It does not have all bells and whistles like ir or screen mirroring but you don't pay as much. Also dual SIM model makes travelling/business easy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

itaricebubble

itaricebubbleQLD , 4220

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great phone overall but has a few issues.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Sam C

Sam CNSW, 2480

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ammmazing phone

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Sean

SeanAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent phone for value.

published

Definitely the best phone on the market in its price range. I love how the software is clean with very little add-ons. The phone is definitely fast & very little lag. The camera is really good as well, but does struggle in low light.
Important to note, try to get the 32 GB if possible. 16 GB is definitely not enough.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Very good phone!

published

Love this phone! Such a good phone under budget. Good quality camera, enough storage for myself, expandable memory. Please bear in mind that it's not a luxurious phone. I did look at a lot of other options in this price ctaegory, but this was the best of it all. I would highly recommend this phone!

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Anna

AnnaCaloundra

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

a great mid-range phone

published

i have the rose gold and love it. it lost a star as i cant use the calender without signing in and i (still) can't work out how to delete a video i dont want. the battery charger is super good-very quick, and screen is super clear. you really need an extra memory card. i have dropped it once and it did not scratch or chip!!!!! back camera is pretty good too-nice clear photos, not iphone but much, much better than the cheapies.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
jebdra

jebdraMid North Coast, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best budget phone you could buy.

published

For a mid price phone, this is spectacularly good value. Dual SIM, good size screen, ok processor and camera, good battery life, sd card slot. One of the best features is NO BLOATWARE. It's the closest thing to vanilla Android available outside nexus or pixel. Because of this, you actually get a reasonable amount of the 16GB storage to use for yourself. It seems well made and quite robust. I've dropped it several times with no damage so far.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Jade

JadeRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone for the price

published

It's super affordable and even has dual SIM. I needed an affordable dual SIM phone and this looked like my best option and I definitely can't complain. I haven't used the camera and video much as I have a second phone and I'm sure it's not as great quality as the higher end phones but you get what you pay for.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

lexonnet

lexonnetCessnock

  • 5 reviews

Awesome value for money

published

This is a very affordable phone that does not compromise on quality. The camera is okay but could definitely be better, especially when compared to the iphone and samsung phones. I love being able to put in a microsd to expand the storage so I find the 16 GB plenty big enough. Dual sim is also a plus when travelling. I love the feel of the phone and I find the built sturdy. Can highly recommend for the price

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Jen

JenSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent value for money

published

This is a cheap phone that does not compromise on quality. The camera is good but could be better, especially compared to higher priced phones like iPhone & Samsung, but obviously this phone is cheaper. Very slick looking. Only complaint is that 16 GB is small & some apps are pre-installed, so actually you have less than 16 GB

Date PurchasedJan 2018

teddydenise

teddydeniseToowoomba

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A competitively priced smartphone

published

This phone was competitively priced, being significantly cheaper than an equivalent iPhone or Samsung. The interface is easy to use and the phone is well sized, being comfortable in the pocket. I don't use the camera as much as other smartphone users, so I can't comment on the quality of that. However, the phone is perfect for any and all apps that one might want to use.

My only complaint is minor - which is that the way Motorola phones are set up make it very difficult to set custom ringtones. This however is very minor, and doesn't detract from all the good points of the phone.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Page 1 of 4

See all Motorola Moto G5 Plus reviews

Questions & Answers

lan j.

lan j.asked

Where can I buy one

No answers

itaricebubble

itaricebubbleasked

I've just submitted my review of the Moto G5 Plus and wondering if anyone has Bluetooth issues with their phone?? I seem to have to unlock the screen on my phone in order for my phone to connect to either my car's Bluetooth or my Smartwatch. If so it kind of defeats the purpose of having a smartwatch connected to your phone.

2 answers
Sam C
Sam C

I've not had any such Bluetooth connectivity issues. My phone and car are always connected via Bluetooth. The only issue I ever have is music not automatically playing, but that seems to be an issue with the music player app, as calls work just fine. You've also mentioned that Bluetooth breaks up now and then, and I've had this too, when using 2.4Ghz WiFi at the same time. Bluetooth & WiFi share 2.4Ghz, and do interfere with one another. Since switching to 5Ghz WiFi, there's been no issues.

Sam E
Sam E

yes I purchased the XT1805 moto g 5 plus from Kogan and am having bluetooth issues. I cant seem to answer the phone normally and have to put it on speaker. I have another moto g 5 plus model XT1585 that works perfectly. I am wondering if the kogan stock was grey import?


Whippy

Whippyasked

Has anyone had any issues with ghosting on the g5 plus, ive got this very issue on my g4 plus, good phone, but it's driving me crazy, hoping they have it sorted on the g5 plus. Thanks

1 answer
Sam
Sam

Do you mean the phone screen thinks you touched it when you actually didn't? I don't have that problem on my G5 Plus.


Get an answer from our members and Motorola representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $399
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Waterproof
Charging Port Micro-USB
Operating SystemAndroid
Display
Pixel Density424 ppi
Screen Size 5.2"
Screen Resolution1920 x 1080 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCD
Camera
Max Video Resolution 2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Front Camera(s)5MP Wide-Angle Lens
Hardware
ProcessorOcta-Core 2.0 GHz
Internal Storage16 GB
Battery Size3,000 mAh
Memory (RAM)3 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Lunar Gray, Fine Gold
Dimensions 150.2 x 74 x 9.7 mm
Body MaterialAluminium
Weight155 g
Compare all Motorola Moto G5 Plus

Visit official website
  • MPN: KHMOTG516DGRY

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.