??!
2 photos
My Genie ZX1000

My Genie ZX1000 (page 2 of 4)

2.6 from 73 reviews

Robot Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of robot vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(10)
(13)
(10)
(17)
(23)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (17)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (17)
  • Product is used
    • Several times a week (10)
    • Rarely (3)
    • Weekly (2)
    • Daily (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.2 (18)
  • Pet OwnerYes (5) · No (11)
  • System Errors Every time (9) · Never (4) · Often (3) · Occasionally (2)
  • Ease of Programming / Scheduling
    1.9 (16)
  • Battery Life
    2.1 (17)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

TIm

TImGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

not recommended

published

used for less than 2 weeks and it's stopped working, brushes keep giving an error even no obstruction.
took 2 months to communicate with Kogan support team, they agreed for replacement but after more than 2 week I still haven't received their reply.

Purchased in November 2018 at Kogan.com for $188.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Ease of Programming / Scheduling
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
System Errors Every time
See all answers
J Crebert

J CrebertSydney NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

My Genie ZX1000

published

Had to send the first two back after only a short time malfunctioned. This one is doing well still haven't tried the mop circle yet but the vaccum is performing as it should - finally. Doesn't work on high pile carpet but fine on low pile. Great on tile and laminated floor.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Brett G

Brett GPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

IT'S OK - but it's NOT a Roomba

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheik

SheikMaroubra

  • 19 reviews

Good for current price

published

It is not as strong , not as cleaver and I did not expect tht anyway . Robot vacuum has a long way to go .but it does the job . i have a kid who alway on the floor and robot vacuum constantly clean as much as it can . Also can mop not bad . I would cry if I have paid original price of $1100.i paid under $200 so it is worth it . It’s good if you trun it on when you leave the house and it will constantly clean until bettery runs out . Can not find home base charge station if it is further than 7 meters

Date PurchasedNov 2018
JacJame

JacJameAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Annoying

published

The My Genie ZX1000 is great for getting under hard to reach places like beds and desks. I however found that it would go over the same spot many times in a row and I would have to use the remote control to change the direction constantly. This actually makes it more time consuming than using a regular vacuum.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Virginia L

Virginia LMelbourne

Faulty Battery and charger!

published

Bought this at Kogan on 6 June 2018. It broke down 3 weeks ago, only used for 5 months. The charger and the battery are faulty. Tried to contact Kogan for customer service for 3 weeks already but no reply. Tried to contact the manufacturer as well, but no phone number, no address, only email. As usual, no reply via email. Poor performance of the machine, and poor after-sale service and support too.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Poor copy of a Roomba.

published

Bought this to have downstairs as I have a Roomba upstairs. AI failure. Gets stuck all the time. Missed debris often, just doesn’t appear to have sufficient suction even when it runs over it several times. Seems to completely miss areas while covering other areas many times. Support from supplier abysmal. Stick with the real thing not this toy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

I love it!!!

published

I love this machine!!.. I have run it twice today after it took itself back to charging station & recharged. Of course it is going to get stuck sometimes under some furniture but I have only had to redirect it twice. It goes from hard floor to over my mats. The amount of dog hair etc it has picked up is amazing. So far I cannot fault it...

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Disappointed

published

Normal carpet and just bought today. Got stuck under my bed in an impossible place against the wall. Then in several places, just seems to go back and forward. No batteries supplied so bought some but control dead. Will get some more and see if it is the batteries. Mine doesn't go very far before it gets stuck. Not at all what I expected.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rajie

RajieQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I keep tripping over the silly thing

published

I don't know why they made this black as when it stops mid floor it's a tripping HAZZARD and the light is so dim it doesn't really help! The robot vacuum dose pick stuff up but not every thing and it's charge time is very silly long and it missed areas.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sladek

SladekBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good value for money.

published

After I bought it, this kind of simple cleaning work relied on it, the cleaning was clean and the cleaning efficiency was very good. Product durability, stability, and good performance in later maintenance. Can go back to charging normally. There is a remote control that allows it to help in times of difficulty.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Joe

JoeTAMBAR SPRINGS

  • 2 reviews

very good!

published

It seems OK but it's sometimes not able to make it's way back to the base to recharge. Often we are finding it powered off in weird places. Shaggy rugs are a problem as the brushes get tangled up. Batteries are not supplied. The virtual wall device takes DD batteries. It would be a lot easier if it took AA's so I can use a set of rechargeables already owned.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jeromy

JeromyNORTH JOHNSTONE

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This is great.

published

Great value for money. Easy to set up and use. Haven't had it for long and haven't tested ALL the features yet. However, have no complaints so far. Has done everything I have asked of it as per the promised blurb. So far, so good.Recommend everyone to buy at ease!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Grecian

GrecianPERTH

  • 2 reviews

Did the Job

published

Used on carpets and laminate flooring this product did a surprisingly good job at first. Over time the battery doesn't last like it did at the beginning unfortunately. The vacuum sometimes struggled to get to the home dock as well. Overall not a bad vacuum, did not try the mopping attachment.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Died and the worst customer service ever

published

Used it 3 times then left it for 6 months as we moved house. It died and all we got was a canned response that the problem was wear and tear. Were unable to buy a new battery to get it going again. Most expensive 3 vacuums ever!! Would not buy again.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how My Genie ZX1000 compares to other Robot Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynne

LynneNorth Mackay

  • 2 reviews

Love My Genie

published

I use "My Genie" robotic vacuum to vacuum and mop timber and tiled floors and absolutely love it. I also love the spot clean function on it to clean up those occasional spills. I would not hesitate to highly recommend it to anyone interested in a value for money robotic vacuum!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Jenny

JennyApollo Bay

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Much better than the first robo vacs that came out years ago

published

The my Genie ZX is so much better than the first generation robo vacs that came out many years ago that were really rubbish. My Genie picks up a lot in the slot holder in just one run. Still dose not run very long on a charge but it's a start. Cleans both carpet and Lino but better job it dose on our carpet

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Tumbleweed

TumbleweedSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

After Sales Support is Terrible!

published

The unit itself is OK. We have a wide expanse of wooden flooring and It vacuums this quite well but can get caught in some locations from time to time. In these situations, it seems to stay in one place and spin its wheels which can cause a wear mark on the floor. I have learnt to only use it when I am home as I wouldn't trust it to work unsupervised.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Liv

LivVictoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Surprisingly a great vacuum

published

We use the vacuum on carpet, tiles and floating floorboards. Works really well on carpet but not so well on more solid surfaces as it flicks the crumbs/dust rather than sucking them up. I’m always surprised when emptying the vacuum how much dust it has sucked up! The downside is that it doesn’t really have a proper route of where to go and often repeats the same area over and over again rather than moving elsewhere so I often find myself guiding it with the remote. It’s a good vacuum for in between more thorough cleans with a proper vacuum.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
kimlf69

kimlf69Brisbane

Hopeless

published

Hopeless, doesn’t mop well, gets stuck everywhere and doesn’t go back to dock to charge. Help desk is hard to communicate with and very unhelpful. Very unhappy with this product. Instruction manual is hard to follow and not much information. Good just to do middle of floor like kitchen. Don’t buy

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 2 of 4

See all My Genie ZX1000 reviews

Questions & Answers

Kaz B.

Kaz B.asked

How long does it take to recharge a zx 1000 genie?

1 answer
Jamelia Jane
Jamelia Jane

Over night or it used to.But mine was 12 months old doesn’t work anymore and I was 2 days out of warranty I would not recommend d this product to anyone even though I brought 2 :(

Vicki E

Vicki Easked

Error message E001 keeps coming up. How do I fix it?

No answers
Fred F

Fred Fasked

How do I know if the battery is fully charged on the zx1000. It doesn’t show ‘FULL’ . The screen is blank after a while so no indication.

1 answer
Kathy
Kathy

Sorry Fred mine was sent back. I think the lights stop flashing.

Get an answer from our members and MyGenie representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.