3Nestle NAN OPTIPRO

Nestle NAN OPTIPRO

 Verified
3Nestle NAN OPTIPRO
3.7

336 reviews

PositivevsNegative
67% · 22588 · 26%

Reviews

336 reviews
Renee
ReneeTasmania
  Fair Incentive 3 Toddler

Good for cooking

My daughter has Nestle Nan Optipro 3 milk drink in her breakfast every day. We mostly mix it into weetbix or oats. She is very settled afterwards. It mixes well and is super easy to prepare. Show details
Doris
DorisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  3 Toddler

Good while need to observe longer

My little one loves milk/ formula so i can hardly tell how it tastes for toddlers. It resolves easily in water. Little one sleeps well after having it. Do not like the scoop n lead. Show details
Tiki
TikiMelbourne6 posts
  Fair Incentive 3 Toddler

Very surprised

This was the first time I've used Nestlé formula.

I wasn't sure how baby was going to go with the change but she absolutely loves it. Bottles are finished in minutes and shes very content.

Easy to prepare but its 7 scoops per bottle and when baby is crying at you its hard to count to 7 and not lose track haha Show details

Leanne
Leanne
  1 Starter

The new recipe is NOT RECOMMENDED!

After my child drink the new recipe, he had rashes all over his face & chest and his stool became watery and green color. He was drinking NAN since birth without a problem but after this new recipe came out, our nightmare starts. Imagine the stress they gave the baby and us, parents. Now we switch to other brand and all rashes fade away and stool was back to its normal color & texture. Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More
Jayjay_Ja
Jayjay_JaSydney3 posts
  2 Follow-On

Yuck don't purchase

I can't believe I bottle fed my bub this foul smelling formula twice and realising something didn't feel right about it. Ended up buying a different formula. Don't understand why it smells bad as the Nan OptiPro 1 wasn't like this and noticed stage 2 formula is made in a different country (France). My bub did have a reflux from this and didnt like it, don't blame him! Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Jayjay_Ja, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Anshul MEhta
Anshul MEhta
  1 Starter

One of the worst products for me new born

Started with this formula and my new born had rashes and swelling all over the body ... had to take to emergency and doctors were not sure if this could be due to formula feed ...
Now after one day we again gave him a little formula and the baby vommitted and had a lot of water poo.
Rashes are again all over the body , will not recommend this product Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Anshul, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Keyuri
Keyuri
  2 Follow-On

Awful smell

It has horrible smell. My baby refused to drink and vomitted. Please don’t buy this product. My baby used to drink Nestle NAN opti pro 1. Now baby turns six months old and brought opti pro 2. Very bad smell and baby refused to drink it. Not happy with product. Company has to review it and change ingredients. Also need to give money back. Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Keyuri, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736

Babbaljit S.
Babbaljit S.Sydney, NSW
  1 Starter

New recipe is terrible!!!…

We have used nan for our 2 other kids and never had an issue . And now with our newborn I started with nan as I trusted the formula and then comes this “RECIPE CHANGE” which completely changed my baby into very unsettled crying baby with smelly diarrhoea poos until the whole thing is flushed out of her body. Really frustrated and saddened from this recipe change of yours nestle , as we will now have to look for a new formula ….. Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More
Kristy
KristyCentral Queensland, QLD
  1 Starter

Concerned Mum !

My now four month old prem was on nan no dramas at all when the kid was gold now you’ve changed the formula - my question is why ? You’ve gone from a gold lid then in the last month a white lid now a blue lid and she is sick projectile vomited ! I see other reviews & most are the same . My question is why did you change the ingredients when before was such a good formula - not happy Show details
Value for Money
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More
Helen
HelenSydney, NSW
  1 Starter

Life Saver

I just changed from Aptamil Sensitive to Nan Optipro 1 and my LO have no problem.
He used to vomit after every feed , colic reflux ect. Now only a day with Nan i have nooooo issue. LO sleeps well settled and bk restless and no vomits.
 Show details
Sheral Amos Churchill
Sheral Amos Churchill
  1 Starter

Vomit after Every Feed

I have terrible experience, This New recipe is not good I don’t know why Nestle changed it. My son is 4months old and was fine with the old recipe now he vomits after every feed. I was thinking it may be reflux but it’s actually due to new NaN pro 1. Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More
billie
billieRavenshoe3 posts
  1 Starter

Tummy pain in afternoons nan opti pro 1

Have just started the transition to the new recipe im really nervous mybaby has started to get tummy pain and won't drink her full bottle arrrhhh this is so frustrating! Perfect on the old tin. Why has nestle done this! It has sent my mum worry anxiety into overdrive! Would love to hear if things get better but not looking good only at day 4 omg. Show details
Varsha
Varsha2 posts
  1 Starter

Terrible

We were using nan optipro for our 2 week old , had a terrible experience. Our bub was always very unsettled, had stomach pain, very smelly poos, after feeding nan. Things would get especially worse during the evenings, bub would cry relentlessly, possibly due to the stomach pain. We changed to aptamil gold plus, haven't noticed these problems in the last few days. As many reviewers have pointed out, there seems to have been a change in recipe in recent months causing numerous problems. I don't have experience with the previous version, so can't comment if things were better earlier.. but current version is definitely bad... Smells bad too.. avoid if you can Show details
Value for Money
Shaynaaz
Shaynaaz
  1 Starter

Extremely uncomfortable baby with Nan Optipro

I used Nan Optipro for my first born and she was fine with it. Now with my second baby, naturally I trusted Nan again as my choice of infant formula. Regretfully, my baby was extremely uncomfortable with it. He cried after feeds. He had excessive tummy gas. He became constipated and would cry inconsolably. I changed the formula my baby was instantly better with the first feed of new formula. His constipation was relieved as well. My paed advised me to put him on Similac comfort and my baby is perfect now. Nan should be accountable for their untoward change in formula composition.  Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Shaynaaz, we are sorry to hear your baby hasn't taken to the Nan Optipro. We would like to speak to you further about your baby’s experience, please reach out to our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Shona
ShonaVictoria
  2 Follow-On

Terrible

This new formula is terrible. Has a horrible smell, my baby refuses it after absolutely loving it in the past. It’s giving her extreme stomach pain. Not happy at all. Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Shona, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Wilmari
Wilmari
  2 Follow-On

Perfect but disappointed

My baby loves drinking Nan optipro and has no side affects BUT on the follow up (number 2) why can't you give a bigger spoon? Like 1 spoon=2 spoons. With a 6 month old is really hard to throw in all 8 spoons. At the end of making of the bottle we struggle with a crying baby.  Show details ·  1
Baby Formulas

Find out how Nestle NAN OPTIPRO compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kylie
Kylie
  Verified 2 Follow-On

Why call it improved…

no choice if bottle feeding as moved from the “previous” formula to this. started the new optipro 2 formula… has more bubbles when shake or when being drank. Changed on ingredients to less but increased sodium (salt). Haven’t has a problem ever on preparing formula.
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Kylie, we’re sorry to hear this and for further advice, please reach out to your healthcare professional or if you would like to speak with us for further information about the product, please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Thi
ThiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  Fair Incentive 2 Follow-On

Very very bad

I don't know why they change the ingredients. Very bad smell , make my son scare of milk now and he got diarhea too ! The old one very good ! I thought they are same ingredients that why I bought i lot . Now can't drink it ! Shouldn't buy this  Show details
Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Thi, we’re sorry to hear this. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Lydia
LydiaCentral, TAS4 posts
  2 Follow-On

Terrible smell and make our daughter ill

Well we thought that it was a one off bad tin but now know that it’s a recipe change that has caused the formula to smell awful and make our daughter violently ill.

In saying that the Nestle customer service was excellent and offered us a refund on the tin we purchased. However I wish they had mentioned that it was caused by a recipe change. Will be avoiding in the future.  Show details

Nestle
Nestle   DM   
More

Hi Lydia, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If you have any concerns, please reach out to your healthcare professional or for further information about the product please contact our Careline team on 1800 468 8736.

Simone
SimoneCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  2 Follow-On

New recipie is horrible! Not worth it!!

We have tried transitioning our 8mo onto the new recipe, we looked at the ingredients and although most of them have been listed the same we noticed that the vitimans and minerals have decreased a lot, he's been in screaming pain and his stomach is so bloated and rock hard... i definetly do not recommend this formula, not worth the money for the issues it brings... we are now moving on to a different formula brand.  Show details
Tace
Tace
  1 Starter

New Packaging BIG PROBLEM

With the change of the new packaging they also changed the ingredients but they don’t state that on the front of the tin.
My Bub has been throwing up after a bottle... I couldn’t workout what it was at the start (I thought maybe food related) but worked out it was since this new recipe came out.
I’m furious- he’s been vomiting and so unsettled at night. Poor bubba.
They changed to full lactose (not a blend) and changed the oils.
Dje
Dje3 posts
  1 Starter

The new recipe is a fail

The new recipe is a fail. We used Nan for our first born with no trouble. With our second we changed to the new formula after one tin of the old and it was just as everyone else has reported.  Show details
Chloe
Chloe
  1 Starter

Disappointed

My 6 week old was on opti pro since birth (old tin), I noticed they changed there look recently but didn’t realise they changed there ingredients. I have noticed they made it very clear about the “new look” but not the “new recipe” ... Since trying the new tin bub has been extremely unsettled both day & night, constipated, vomiting & had lost weight.. she is a little prem and at 6 weeks old only weighs 3kg. This is really disappointing, I loved my old faithful nan with all my kids but now the formula has changed I had to convert to another brand.
Katrina Z.
Katrina Z.Sydney, NSW
  2 Follow-On

New recipe is HORRIBLE!

What happened to the new recipe of Optipro 2! It smells like cat food! I even tried it myself, it tastes foul now! Why did they do this?!! They changed the packaging and the recipe to charge more, I don’t mind paying more but this new recipe is a fail! Big mistake! I will never use this brand again if they don’t change it back.  Show details
Marcy T.
Marcy T.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  2 Follow-On

New formula recipe a big thumbs down!

Since recipe change it now smells off-putting and un healthy for my little one. Have been using Nan Optipro for 10 months with no issues, but will now be looking at alternative brands Show details
Angry mum
Angry mum Sydney, NSW
  3 Toddler

New recipe is RUBBISH!!!!

The new recipe is rubbish and I’m deeply concerned about what I’ve been feeding my 2.5 year old daughter since giving her this formula. IT STINKS LIKE DOG FOOD. And she’s had terrible explosive diarrhoea, been vomiting and had painful stomach pains since drinking the new formula. She’s been drinking the previous recipe since 2mo with no issues at all. AND it has come with a price increase!!! Wth happened?!!! All these babies getting sick and nothing being done about it?! Show details
Baby Formulas

Find out how Nestle NAN OPTIPRO compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karla
KarlaSydney, NSW
  1 Starter

Terrible new recipe for Nan Optipro 1

Bub’s unsettled, had bouts of diarrhea. She was doing absolutely fine with the original one. Thought it was from her eating solids but nah. Upon readin reviews online, mums share same sentiments. Why change a perfectly good recipe? Such a shame. Show details
ABBA
ABBASydney, NSW7 posts
  1 Starter

Change in recipe causing issues

We have been on OptiPro since birth and never had any issues until the recent recipe change. Baby (3months) has had diaherrea for second week :( Its normal to have some side effects but not two weeks! Companies need to be more transparent at labelling what they changes so parents can make an informed devision about alternatives.

We now changed to S26 Gold but its causing a lot of spew up which we never had before. It too just changed label and many seem to think the recipe was also changed as there is a lot of complaints in the last month. Wish I’d read that earlier. Will be trying Bellamy’s Organic. Show details

Value for Money
Natasha R.
Natasha R.
  1 Starter
Ivana
IvanaSydney, NSW
  2 Follow-On

Nan optipro 2 new packaging smells

Since purchasing the new packaging it smells to me and babies vomit, wee and poo stinks. Will be switching to another brand which is disappointing, with all my children I used NAN from day one. Not sure why you would change the formula it was fine before Show details
DanD
DanDNew South Wales
  1 Starter

Terrible change in formula!

My 7 month old son since trying the new formula is doing smelly farts, I believe he is unsettled at night and bloated. We are changing brand, also it smells like dog treats now.  Show details
Jade L.
Jade L.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  1 Starter

New recipe is horrible!

My 3 year old son has always loved this brand of formula, never any problems. Within a few days of the new tin/new recipe he was constipated, severely bloated, diarrhea, tummy aches and in complete pain, even at night when trying to sleep. Had to give him Coloxyl to help him move his bowels. Stopped using the formula, back to his happy self 1 day later. Something needs to be done about this before a child ends up very sick!  Show details
Jess
Jess
  2 Follow-On

Terrible, why did they change the recipe?!

We were recommended Nan Optipro from the hospital, when our son was born 10 months ago, he responded really well and we had no issues and we would often recommend it as a formula!
The new recipe change is terrible, it smells like cat food and our son has had diarrhoea since. We are going to change his formula, but it’s such a shame as it was a great product before.
Michelle
MichelleSydney, NSW
  2 Follow-On
Maria
MariaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA2 posts
  2 Follow-On

Changing of formula big thumbs down

Tried the new formula. It’s been 3 days. The powder smells like cat food and my baby isn’t drinking more than half of each bottle. She loved the old formula which we relied on for over 11 months. Now will need to try another brand. I won’t recommend this product any longer. Such a shame because it was definitely worth the money previously.  Show details
Railgun_Livewire
Railgun_LivewireGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC5 posts
  2 Follow-On

Recipe change was a mistake

We used optipro from birth for our twins and it was fantastic; clearly better than other leading brands.
However, the recipe change made in mid-2021 has made our babies constipated, vomity and the milk smells really bad - like dog-food.

I'm not sure what you've done Nestle...but it wasn't good and we won't be buying any more of your formula. Show details

Baby Formulas

Find out how Nestle NAN OPTIPRO compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ally
Ally 2 posts
  1 Starter

Was perfect until they changed recipe!

This has been a great formula for my 7mo. We have had him on it since 2mo and were ecstatic that he was thriving on it.
Nestle decided to change the packaging which was fine until we opened our first tin and realised on the tiny sticker ontop it also mentions the recipe has changed. We’ve given it ago but baby can not stand it. Diarrhoea and that’s with minimal feeds.
Switch to Karicare and he has been happier and enjoys the taste.
Wish Nestle never changed the recipe. Really disappointed.  Show details
Value for Money
Georgie Skinner
Georgie SkinnerMid North Coast, NSW2 posts
  2 Follow-On

New Recipe is AWFUL

I have used Nan Optipro for the last 3 year with both children never had an issue, bought a few of the old tins when we were informed of the changes coming and have just opened a new tin of the new recipe and it is terrible! tastes disgusting child won't drink it.

Why did they have to change something so GOOD!
My 3 month old niece was also on and has had Diarrhea since starting the new formula  Show details

Renee
Renee
  2 Follow-On

Why did they change the recipe?

We have used nestle nan from 2 months old and she loved it finished the bottle every time...... But now they have changed the recipe she cry's all the time hates the bottle and has diarrhea all day and night!!! What the hell do I give her now???? Show details
Value for Money
Anna M.
Anna M.Townsville2 posts
  1 Starter

Vomiting after every feed

Baby is breastfed and I bought a tin to have it as back up. First two times he vomit all over himself and dad. I thought we overfed him. But no on two other occasions he also vomited about 30minutes after his feed. He does not have a stomach bag and it definitely the formula. My poor bub couldn't sleep for nearly two hours because he kept vomiting. Show details
Page 2 of 9

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.