3 photos
Netgear Nighthawk X4S VDSL/ADSL AC2600 D7800

Netgear Nighthawk X4S VDSL/ADSL AC2600 D7800

MPNs: 36035850 and D7800-100AUS
2.9 from 36 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Netgear? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (16)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (16)
  • Number of Connected Devices 10.667 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.6 (17)
  • Reliability
    2.6 (17)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.4 (17)
Previous
Next
Ianm
IanmGippsland, VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic Start

published

Purchased in May 2021 at Centre Com for $360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul
PaulSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Didn't work, no Netgear support

published

No idea if it's any good, couldn't get it to connect to internet. Hour & half on ph to internet provider who couldn't get it going then tried Netgear support - calls dropped out after few mins, 4 times - gave them my number to call back but said they couldn't. Netgear support non existant - because over their 90 day limit? Support is everything for ongoing sales, never Netgear again. Waste of a lot of money.

Purchased in May 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Simon L.
Simon L.South East Queensland, QLD

Drops Either 2.4 or 5G channels constantly.

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk X4S VDSL/ADSL AC2600 D7800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Reuben B.
Reuben B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

It's a lemon.

published

If you want to spend a week trying to enter basic router settings, only to find that wi-fi constantly cuts out, devices are forgotten and IPs get assigned to multiple devices at the same time, then this is the device for you! If you get a kick out of taking a hammer to a chunk of plastic and circuitry it's hard to pass up this majestic lemon.

Idk quite how Netgear manages to come up with such garbage firmware, but they do an outstanding job of it. Netgear never again.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Alan D.
Alan D.Hunter Region, NSW

Great when it works but wifi is unreliable.

published

Wifi randomly drops out at least three times a week requiring a reset.
Firmware version makes no difference even with december 2020 1.00.58.
The problem exists for everyone on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands.
When it works it is great being both fast with eccellent resource handling and exceptional wifi range.

Netgear know about the wifi issue and simply refuse to fix it. Half a dozen firmwares later and the problem still exists.

Such a shame because it has such great potential. But you'd expect better reliability for $450.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Best router for multiple devices

published

I'm a pro gamer and have had this router for a while now and have typically 23 devices running on it most of the time 3 Game consoles, a gaming pc live streaming, 5 smart tv's using streaming services the likes of Netflix, Amazon prime, BBC iPlayer etc and half a dozen smart phones and a a few laptops you cant stop the kids can you!.

The router may be bigger and not as cosmetically pleasing as one that might be supplied by you internet provider but it sure out performs them no dropping of devices on Wi-Fi or the Ethernet cables which I have experienced with internet provider supplied devices which struggle handling many device connections so this router gets a big thumbs up from me.

Purchased at Amazon.

Incentivised Review No
Number of Connected Devices 26 devices
Mark R.
Mark R.
  • 8 reviews

WiFi issues unbearable

published

This router has issues with the 2.4GHz wifi band. Requires at least a daily reset and eventually devices start dropping off and cannot reconnect. Have been unable to fix and Netgear support unhelpful. Google search this and you will see many others have the same issue. Netgear support website provides suggestion to fix that does not work and marks as "solved" - UNHELPFUL (https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/2-4ghz-stops-working/td-p/494947)

Purchased in April 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
A_real_person
A_real_personSydney, NSW

Do Not Buy Netgear Routers/modems

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Richie M.
Richie M.Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Dont waste your money

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $405.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk X4S VDSL/ADSL AC2600 D7800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kheng J Tan
Kheng J TanAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good modem for the first year. But...

published

On the first year using it on HFC NBN and it was very good on speed and range. Now I have consistently getting my 2.4g wifi network drop out on my phone and my PC couldn't detect 2.4g network. Have been reset seven times and try a lot way to fix it but it is still the same. Spending over a $400+ modem all I wish that it will last me for a few years. But sadly it did not....

Purchased in June 2018 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

A case of Jekyll and Mr Hyde router/modem

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Blane F.
Blane F.Sydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad customer service

published

You call them they are rude over the phone someone named Gary

They talk like crap to you

I said don't talk to me rude they are bad at their jobs if not happy with their easy jobs don't do it

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David
DavidSydney, NSW
  • 17 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect router

published

Had this modem router for few months. Used it from ADSL to now hfc NBN. No dropouts and great speed. I'm with Aussie Broadband. Setup was easy using app on phone.

Purchased in July 2018 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Danny.i
Danny.iSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best modem I have owned

published

Connectivity is never a problem, I've been outside the house at about 17 metres away from the modem and it still connects, Never had a problem inside the house. I have had it for 3 years and haven't had a problem . I don't remember it being so difficult to set up either.
I will keep buying Netgear modems

Purchased in July 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
kishlette
kishletteQueensland
  • 2 reviews

3 years and still going strong

published

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Modems

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk X4S VDSL/ADSL AC2600 D7800 compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Neil A.
Neil A.asked

Is it ready for NBN?

1 answer
A_real_person
A_real_person

Yes, but the router has multiple firmware issues and it's not worth the risk for such an expensive product. Look elsewhere.

David
Davidasked

I have NBN over copper via old phone line. Will this modem router connect to this?

5 answers
BigMan
BigMan

Yes this router will work with NBN FTN.

Dave
Dave

Yes it will. Just remember you only get free customer support for 90 days. After 90 days of purchase if you have any problems you will not get any assistance. I would search for a cheaper alternative. This is very expensive and your not getting your money’s worth with this product.

David
David

Many thanks

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $499.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,733 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 3.0 Ports2
Dimensions 50 x 285 x 185 mm
Weight0.84 kg
NBN CompatibleNo
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36035850 and D7800-100AUS
  • GTIN12: 606449109443

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.