??!
1 photo
Netgear D7800 Nighthawk

Netgear D7800 Nighthawk

MPN: 36035850
2.9 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (14)
  • Number of Connected Devices 11.231 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.7 (15)
  • Reliability
    2.6 (15)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.5 (15)
Previous
Next
Simon L.

Simon L.South East Queensland, QLD

Drops Either 2.4 or 5G channels constantly.

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Reuben B.

Reuben B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

It's a lemon.

published

If you want to spend a week trying to enter basic router settings, only to find that wi-fi constantly cuts out, devices are forgotten and IPs get assigned to multiple devices at the same time, then this is the device for you! If you get a kick out of taking a hammer to a chunk of plastic and circuitry it's hard to pass up this majestic lemon.

Idk quite how Netgear manages to come up with such garbage firmware, but they do an outstanding job of it. Netgear never again.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Alan D.

Alan D.Hunter Region, NSW

Great when it works but wifi is unreliable.

published

Wifi randomly drops out at least three times a week requiring a reset.
Firmware version makes no difference even with december 2020 1.00.58.
The problem exists for everyone on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands.
When it works it is great being both fast with eccellent resource handling and exceptional wifi range.

Netgear know about the wifi issue and simply refuse to fix it. Half a dozen firmwares later and the problem still exists.

Such a shame because it has such great potential. But you'd expect better reliability for $450.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netgear D7800 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best router for multiple devices

published

I'm a pro gamer and have had this router for a while now and have typically 23 devices running on it most of the time 3 Game consoles, a gaming pc live streaming, 5 smart tv's using streaming services the likes of Netflix, Amazon prime, BBC iPlayer etc and half a dozen smart phones and a a few laptops you cant stop the kids can you!.

The router may be bigger and not as cosmetically pleasing as one that might be supplied by you internet provider but it sure out performs them no dropping of devices on Wi-Fi or the Ethernet cables which I have experienced with internet provider supplied devices which struggle handling many device connections so this router gets a big thumbs up from me.

Purchased at Amazon.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Number of Connected Devices26 devices
See all answers
Mark R.

Mark R.

  • 6 reviews

WiFi issues unbearable

published

This router has issues with the 2.4GHz wifi band. Requires at least a daily reset and eventually devices start dropping off and cannot reconnect. Have been unable to fix and Netgear support unhelpful. Google search this and you will see many others have the same issue. Netgear support website provides suggestion to fix that does not work and marks as "solved" - UNHELPFUL (https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/2-4ghz-stops-working/td-p/494947)

Purchased in April 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
A_real_person

A_real_personSydney, NSW

Do Not Buy Netgear Routers/modems

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Richie M.

Richie M.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Dont waste your money

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $405.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kheng J Tan

Kheng J TanAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good modem for the first year. But...

published

On the first year using it on HFC NBN and it was very good on speed and range. Now I have consistently getting my 2.4g wifi network drop out on my phone and my PC couldn't detect 2.4g network. Have been reset seven times and try a lot way to fix it but it is still the same. Spending over a $400+ modem all I wish that it will last me for a few years. But sadly it did not....

Purchased in June 2018 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

A case of Jekyll and Mr Hyde router/modem

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netgear D7800 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blane F.

Blane F.Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad customer service

published

You call them they are rude over the phone someone named Gary

They talk like crap to you

I said don't talk to me rude they are bad at their jobs if not happy with their easy jobs don't do it

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
David

DavidSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Perfect router

published

Had this modem router for few months. Used it from ADSL to now hfc NBN. No dropouts and great speed. I'm with Aussie Broadband. Setup was easy using app on phone.

Purchased in July 2018 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Danny.i

Danny.iSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best modem I have owned

published

Connectivity is never a problem, I've been outside the house at about 17 metres away from the modem and it still connects, Never had a problem inside the house. I have had it for 3 years and haven't had a problem . I don't remember it being so difficult to set up either.
I will keep buying Netgear modems

Purchased in July 2016 at JB Hi-Fi for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
kishlette

kishletteQueensland

  • 2 reviews

3 years and still going strong

published

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Disappointing for the price

published

I bought this to try to fix a range issue in my house. While it does have decent range, it doesn’t work well with apple products. They regularly cannot connect. The network often drops out requiring a reset.

Purchased in December 2018 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
BigMan

BigManMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for 18 months use only

published

At around the 18 month point it started doing weird things with wifi and nbn that required rebooting to get a good connection with both. Swapped it over with another d7800 and incredibly had the same issues. Went back to a Netgear AC1750 and all perfect. So D7800 nit goid value at all.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Modems

Find out how Netgear D7800 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

D7800 No customer service after 90 days

published

I have had this modem for 9 months. I had no DSL connection so contacted NETGEAR, the customer service Pearson said that my modem has gone into default mode. I asked how to rectify that will cost you $$$
Buyer beware Telstra give 1 year support

Purchased in May 2018 for $580.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range

Consistently failed since purchase April 2018

published

Sold to us on basis of strong signal and good for lots of devices and gaming.
Our experience has been a weaker signal than old Telstra modem and all devices frequently drop off wifi.
Netgear back up is difficult to obtain.
Netgear router log in help menu warns device may need factory settings reset after firmware updates. This all gets too technical and is not user friendly.
The product was also very difficult to set up requiring numerous calls to service centre and even a request for payment after 90 days after purchase date.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Joeeeee

Joeeeee

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Much better then the isp modem

published

This is a all in one vdsl adsl modem router plus its NBN ready. I recommend setting up the device manually not automatically so you have no problems like drop outs they are often caused by incorrect settings or information by the auto setup. you can get all the information for manual setup from your isp. overall this device has significantly increased internet speeds and I am very happy with the product. one more thing I’d like to say is that this device has no (voip phone port) so if you need to run a home phone through the modem you can ether get a voip phone or a voip phone adapter which will cost roughly $80.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Neil Robins

Neil RobinsSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Faulty Product, avoid Netgear!

published

I purchased a Nighthawk D7800 which died after seven months. I paid the return freight and two weeks later got a free replacement. This new D7800 died two months later! Again Netgear promised a replacement if I paid the return postage. So I dispatched this second faulty unit and they received this D7800 three weeks ago and nothing has happened. I have spent hours on the phone with the only response "its on its way". But at the same time I received an email saying that my case will close in three days. Netgear has no customer complaint service you can get to. Avoid Netgears bad product and terrible service!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Chris

Chris

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

One of the Best Modems/Routers in today's market

published

I had issues with my previous modem/router, like constant at Wi Fi drop outs of Data not Wi Fi signal, lagging on playing HIGH resolution games and buffering watching live tv. Since I purchased the Netgear Nighthawk D7800 all problems fixed. I am extremely happy with its advanced technology inside, at the end it is worth its money and what you pay is what you get, I highly recommend this product to anyone.
The above issues are the most common issues so if you have encountered them buy the Netgear Nighthawk Modem/ Router

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Neil A.

Neil A.asked

Is it ready for NBN?

1 answer
A_real_person
A_real_person

Yes, but the router has multiple firmware issues and it's not worth the risk for such an expensive product. Look elsewhere.

David

Davidasked

I have NBN over copper via old phone line. Will this modem router connect to this?

5 answers
BigMan
BigMan

Yes this router will work with NBN FTN.

Dave
Dave

Yes it will. Just remember you only get free customer support for 90 days. After 90 days of purchase if you have any problems you will not get any assistance. I would search for a cheaper alternative. This is very expensive and your not getting your money’s worth with this product.

David
David

Many thanks

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $499.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,733 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 3.0 Ports2
Dimensions 50 x 285 x 185 mm
Weight0.84 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36035850
  • GTIN12: 606449109443

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.