?
? !
1 photo
Netgear D7800 Nighthawk

Netgear D7800 Nighthawk

MPN: 36035850
2.9 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (7)
  • Number of Connected Devices 8.667 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    2.9 (8)
  • Reliability
    1.1 (8)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    2.5 (8)
Previous
Next
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Didn't work, no Netgear support

published

No idea if it's any good, couldn't get it to connect to internet. Hour & half on ph to internet provider who couldn't get it going then tried Netgear support - calls dropped out after few mins, 4 times - gave them my number to call back but said they couldn't. Netgear support non existant - because over their 90 day limit? Support is everything for ongoing sales, never Netgear again. Waste of a lot of money.

Purchased in May 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon L.

Simon L.South East Queensland, QLD

Drops Either 2.4 or 5G channels constantly.

published

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Reuben B.

Reuben B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

It's a lemon.

published

If you want to spend a week trying to enter basic router settings, only to find that wi-fi constantly cuts out, devices are forgotten and IPs get assigned to multiple devices at the same time, then this is the device for you! If you get a kick out of taking a hammer to a chunk of plastic and circuitry it's hard to pass up this majestic lemon.

Idk quite how Netgear manages to come up with such garbage firmware, but they do an outstanding job of it. Netgear never again.

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear D7800 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan D.

Alan D.Hunter Region, NSW

Great when it works but wifi is unreliable.

published

Wifi randomly drops out at least three times a week requiring a reset.
Firmware version makes no difference even with december 2020 1.00.58.
The problem exists for everyone on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands.
When it works it is great being both fast with eccellent resource handling and exceptional wifi range.

Netgear know about the wifi issue and simply refuse to fix it. Half a dozen firmwares later and the problem still exists.

Such a shame because it has such great potential. But you'd expect better reliability for $450.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark R.

Mark R.

  • 7 reviews

WiFi issues unbearable

published

This router has issues with the 2.4GHz wifi band. Requires at least a daily reset and eventually devices start dropping off and cannot reconnect. Have been unable to fix and Netgear support unhelpful. Google search this and you will see many others have the same issue. Netgear support website provides suggestion to fix that does not work and marks as "solved" - UNHELPFUL (https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/2-4ghz-stops-working/td-p/494947)

Purchased in April 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
A_real_person

A_real_personSydney, NSW

Do Not Buy Netgear Routers/modems

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richie M.

Richie M.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Dont waste your money

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $405.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

D7800 No customer service after 90 days

published

I have had this modem for 9 months. I had no DSL connection so contacted NETGEAR, the customer service Pearson said that my modem has gone into default mode. I asked how to rectify that will cost you $$$
Buyer beware Telstra give 1 year support

Purchased in May 2018 for $580.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Consistently failed since purchase April 2018

published

Sold to us on basis of strong signal and good for lots of devices and gaming.
Our experience has been a weaker signal than old Telstra modem and all devices frequently drop off wifi.
Netgear back up is difficult to obtain.
Netgear router log in help menu warns device may need factory settings reset after firmware updates. This all gets too technical and is not user friendly.
The product was also very difficult to set up requiring numerous calls to service centre and even a request for payment after 90 days after purchase date.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear D7800 Nighthawk compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neil Robins

Neil RobinsSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Faulty Product, avoid Netgear!

published

I purchased a Nighthawk D7800 which died after seven months. I paid the return freight and two weeks later got a free replacement. This new D7800 died two months later! Again Netgear promised a replacement if I paid the return postage. So I dispatched this second faulty unit and they received this D7800 three weeks ago and nothing has happened. I have spent hours on the phone with the only response "its on its way". But at the same time I received an email saying that my case will close in three days. Netgear has no customer complaint service you can get to. Avoid Netgears bad product and terrible service!!!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Over priced and under performing

published

Nothing but problems from the start, first firmware update modem no longer worked, same problem second replacement after spending hours on the phone to tech person overseas who could barely speak or under stand English I received a third modem and now this drops out when it likes RUBBISH PRODUCT

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Soundy

SoundyParkes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does not work with FTTN and NETGEAR support cannot find a fix

published

Will not work with FTTN and unfortunately it has been 3 months and many hours with NETGEAR support (which is overseas and totally unhelpful) has refused to find a fix for the issue.
Some of the worst customer service I have ever had......much worse than Telstra!
The restarting of the unit is painfully slow for something that is suppose to have an amazing processor at its core

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Netgear D7800 Nighthawk reviews

Questions & Answers

Neil A.

Neil A.asked

Is it ready for NBN?

1 answer
A_real_person
A_real_person

Yes, but the router has multiple firmware issues and it's not worth the risk for such an expensive product. Look elsewhere.

David

Davidasked

I have NBN over copper via old phone line. Will this modem router connect to this?

5 answers
BigMan
BigMan

Yes this router will work with NBN FTN.

Dave
Dave

Yes it will. Just remember you only get free customer support for 90 days. After 90 days of purchase if you have any problems you will not get any assistance. I would search for a cheaper alternative. This is very expensive and your not getting your money’s worth with this product.

David
David

Many thanks

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $499.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
FeaturesBeamforming, External Antennas and Parental Controls
Maximum Wireless Speed1,733 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports5
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 a, 802.11 ac, 802.11 b, 802.11 g and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 3.0 Ports2
Dimensions 50 x 285 x 185 mm
Weight0.84 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36035850
  • GTIN12: 606449109443

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.