3 photos
Netgear Nighthawk M2 Mobile Router MR2100

Netgear Nighthawk M2 Mobile Router MR2100

MPN: MR2100
1.9 from 12 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mobile Broadband Devices in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Netgear? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.9
12 reviews
5
(2)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (8)
  • Number of Connected Devices 3.3 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.1 (10)
  • Reliability
    2.1 (10)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    2.6 (10)
Previous
Next
Unimpressed
UnimpressedBrisbane
  • 12 reviews
  • 19 likes

Know what you are doing

published

I’ve been using this modem/router connected to Telstra on the northern highlands north of Toowoomba for months. Because I am in a marginal signal area, I have it connected up to two external antennas. I’ve not had a single drop out, In the whole time. The daytime downloads fluctuate wildly due to the fact Telstra doesn’t provide sufficient bandwidths to cover the regional use, but that’s not the modems fault. For all those reviewers that complain about drop outs, slow speeds and low signal strength, do your research or hire someone to help and get your problems solved, because this is a quality cost effect solution.

Purchased in January 2021 at Telstra Stores for $435.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
rexyman
rexyman
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally unreliable!

published

Have had the Nighthawke m2 for 3 months on the recommendation of the Telstra rep in one of their offices. Since then it has proven itself to be be basically useless. On most occasions I get a few minutes of connectivity before it shuts down. Then it’s a process of manually rebooting it and resetting anything you are using it for. I have upgraded to the latest software upgrade but absolutely no difference. It appears that as long as you don’t stream anything it stays connected but as soon as you start to stream it shuts down! I am paying for it and the monthly download that I can’t use so it’s back on the Telstra complaint train...Again!

Purchased in January 2021 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
  • Verified

Almost unusably laggy

published

Works ok but the user interface is _extremely_ laggy. Makes the thing almost unusable. Also has a tendency to turn on when handled due to the nature of the buttons.

Purchased in January 2021 at eBay for $220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mobile Broadband Devices

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk M2 Mobile Router MR2100 compares to other Mobile Broadband Devices

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bobbles
BobblesCooroibah
  • 5 reviews

Not reliable

published

This is the second Mk 2. I have tried. Asked for a replacement for the first one but second unit no better. As soon as it has
been plugged in for a while,
the operating button ceases to function and the only way to shutdown and reset is to remove the battery and let it cool down. Telstra needs to have a good look at this overpriced rubbish

Purchased in January 2021 for $350.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Devial
DevialRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rubbish!

published

Drops out regularly, continually drops out of 4g To Telstra unsecured network. Very Disappointed. What a waste of money. Telstra runs its own program on these modems. Do not buy!

Purchased in November 2020 for $495.00.

Incentivised Review No
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
Lizzy L.
Lizzy L.
  • 4 reviews

Don't bother, if you can get an alternative...do so

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Telstra Stores for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Make sure you can get great reception before buying.

published

I have found this unit will not hold a signal. Easy to set up and great to have ethernet port for PC. I tried to improve with 9db aerial but still drops out and locks up requiring a battery removal to reset. I put the sim in an old Samsung neo and had good result with hotstopping to devices.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $384.00.

Incentivised Review No
Number of Connected Devices 1 devices
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Reliability
Wi-Fi Range
Graham
Graham
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Works Flawlessly

published

This modem was purchased to facilitate streaming, on a Mobile Broadband account and has not let us down at all. It worked out of the box. It is also "blisteringly fast" though that may be due to the Telstra network as well as the modem (> 100Mbps down and >40Mbps up). Connectivity has not been a problem, even with multiple devices connected. The device holds its charge well.

Purchased in August 2020 at Local Telstra Shop .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Aussienetworker
AussienetworkerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible device laggy and full of bugs

published

Bought this from telstra and ended up returning it as it’s not suitable for purpose. The UI is laggy and touch screen is unresponsive. Often prone to crashing. The routing function is deplorable when using it as a dhcp server. It cannot properly bond devices when they are connected via 5ghz, 2.4ghz wifi and lan. $380 wasted a cheap router from officeworks does a better job. 4g speeds I got were 20 down 30 up in mentone

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Mobile Broadband Devices

Find out how Netgear Nighthawk M2 Mobile Router MR2100 compares to other Mobile Broadband Devices

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published

Bought it in June. Hasn’t worked properly since day 1. I have tried 2 times by phone for help with no joy. Told I will get a call beck never happens. It freezes regularly & I have to take back off & battery out to get it up & running. Am on hold again while writing this. I live in the bush & not near a local shop. When it works it’s great.
Cheers June Nahrung.
0408 704 307
junenahrung@gmail.com

Purchased in June 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Number of Connected Devices 3 devices
Vladimir31
Vladimir31AU
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great when it works

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Telstra Burwood Westfield for $936.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Thomas
ThomasGoulburn Valley, VIC
  • 57 reviews
  • 21 likes
  • Verified

Great 4G mobile router excellent connection speeds

published

Questions & Answers

shirl
shirlasked

why wont my cannon wifi printer connect to netgear

No answers
Barbara L.
Barbara L.asked

I received my Telstra nighthawk mark2 and didn’t get a SIM card after a an hour wait on phone I got told to go and get one from a Telstra shop I live an hour away from shop and don’t drive and it should have been in it when I got I found them very unhelpful

No answers
Terry
Terryasked

I need to connect a printer to my M2

No answers
See all Netgear Nighthawk M2 Mobile Router MR2100 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryMobile Broadband Devices
Price (RRP) $384.00
FeaturesMobile App Control
Maximum Wireless Speed150 Mbps
Number of Ethernet Ports1
Number of USB 2.0 Ports1
Dimensions 20 x 106 x 106 x 20 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
  • GTIN13: 0606449135299
  • MPN: MR2100

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.