??!
2 photos
Netgear Orbi

Netgear Orbi

MPN: 36525853
4.1 from 52 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Fast, stable connection

  • Far-reaching, consistent coverage

  • Simple to remotely manage

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (3)
  • Number of Connected Devices 15.333 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.3 (3)
  • Reliability
    5.0 (3)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
sacd

sacdSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very reliable however units quite physical big

published

Using the RBR50 + Satellite was by far the best wifi solution I’ve had for our large 2 story home. Nothing else was ever as reliable for speed and connection. The remote management tool for iPhone is fantastic - really good if you’re having to help less techy family members remotely. You can even turn individual devices off that are accessing the wifi.

It’s certainly expensive and the units are quite physically big. But it works! Not a single hiccup in a year.

Ps oddly both the satellite and base ended up quite close to each other to get the best result - maybe 15m away. I was expecting they would need to be far apart to work best, but somehow it does the job!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff Costello

Geoff CostelloPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Capable and Flexible, can be complex to setup

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Wanted one for ages and not disappointed

published

I've wanted one of these for ages. I ended up buying for my work when we got NBN. We are using hard wire ethernet to connect the two units. It didn't seem to work well using radio between the two. Setup was a bit fiddly. Performance now set up is great

Purchased in April 2019 at eBay for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear Orbi compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robin

Robin

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Speed is excellent

published

I bought one base + one satellite a couple of months ago. Easy to setup. I just follow the manual and complete setup in minutes. (Probably because I'm an IT engineer) It provides mesh network and the speed of online surfing, streaming is good. But the coverage is not as good as it advertised. I have a room 2 walls behind the base. Sometimes, I can't get connected to the WIFI in that room. And it's too expensive.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff

JeffNew South Wales

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great for very large houses

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
J.M

J.MCoburg, VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 19 likes

Immature

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HMac1

HMac1Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great wifi extender

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Henry H

Henry HSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Strong wireless signal for the entire home!

published

I purchased this set-up from Netgear as it promised to blanket wifi across a large area given we had notable issues with our previous router over multi-storeys. The Orbi works fantastic and the only times there are hiccups are due to updates in firmware which may be pushed out to the main router and not the satellite - easily rectified. Would highly recommend.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Signor F

Signor FPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great concept, still need some refining.

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Modems

Find out how Netgear Orbi compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Netgear Orbi reviews

Questions & Answers

bretta

brettaasked

Hi, I have a fibre connection at home, with a Tp-link Archer C7 modem/router, how do i connect up a Orbi RBK50 2pc set to it? Do i have to disable the 2 and 5 ghz wireless connection on the C7? Thanks.

1 answer
Geoff Costello
Geoff Costello

If you gave Fibre to the premises NBN, that has an Ethernet port in the house. So it’s Easiest to replace the Archer C7 with the Orbi Router, otherwise the two wifi setups will fight and you will have two routers back to back.

Debbie T.

Debbie T.asked

Hi everyone. I'm looking for a mobile internet hotspot device (don't know what it's really called). I travel permently so fixed line no good. Need to attach several devices (5 give or take). What would you suggest I buy? 1. Mobile
2. Best reception
3. High speed
4. Can connect with Galaxy 9 & Xbox & Microsoft laptop & iPhone.
5. Telstra internet
I'm really lost and need your advice. Thanks

No answers
hawk C.

hawk C.asked

i have Orbi and have just switched to Foxtel, but it doesn't seem to work

No answers
See all Netgear Orbi questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • Netgear’s Orbi uses tri-band mesh WiFi technology, giving you the fastest available internet speeds on all devices.
  • Netgear advertises the Orbi as providing you with steady WiFi that doesn’t leave you walking around the house looking for a reliable internet connection.
  • You can easily set up and manage your Orbi via a mobile app.
  • Parental controls let you filter content and manage the screen time of your kids, giving you peace of mind that they’re safely browsing.
  • It features Netgear’s Armor built-in anti-virus and data theft protection, so you know your data is secure and you’re protected from cyber threats.
  • You can buy an Orbi that suits the size of your home, so you’re not paying for a range you don’t need. You can also buy add-ons to expand the range - a great option if you’re planning on moving around a bit.

Points of praise:

  • Many reviewers said that setting up the Orbi went without a hitch, and that it was simple to remotely manage the system on their phones.
  • They reported that their internet speed was excellent and stable.
  • Most of them also said that it had far-reaching and consistent coverage.
  • Some gaming reviewers noted that they had improved pings when using the Orbi.
CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $229.00
Frequency BandTri-Band (2.4GHz, 2 x 5GHz)
FeaturesMesh Compatible and Mobile App Control
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 10606449116349
  • MPN: 36525853
  • GTIN12: 606449116342, 606449131055, 606449138009 and 606449148039

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.