??!
2 photos
Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser

Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser

3.4 from 25 reviews

Reviews

3.4

25 reviews
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Previous
Next
KayD

KayDGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

HATE IT

published

What is even in this stuff? It stinks. The FUMES coming off it burns your eyes! Tried it 3 times thinking it will be better. Now its in the bin. Total waste of money. Disgusting stuff. Should be ZERO stars.

November 23rd 2019 Update: Horrible!

Stinks like menthol or something on your face and the fumes coming off my face stung my eyes! What is even in this stuff? Persevered a couple of times then chucked it in the bin. Total waste of money.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeNormal Skin
See all answers
Forget Boost

Forget BoostVictoria

  • 10 reviews

Waste of money

published

This shouldn't even be sold as a scrub. It's just rubbish. It isn't a scrub. Horrible texture too. Worst scrub I've ever used. Used it once and threw it away. Shame on you Neutrogena.

Purchased in September 2019 at FoodWorks for A$12.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeDry Skin
See all answers
waytogohere

waytogohereMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews

Changed formula caused allergic reaction

published

My teenage daughter has been using this for the past two years. Recently Neutrogena changed their product "New and Improved". However the first time my daughter used the new product it caused an allergic reaction. My daughter stopped using it 4 days ago but her face is still covered in red and itchy hives.
Don't put this on your face without spot testing first.

Purchased in July 2019 at Drakes.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Cleansers and Exfoliators

Find out how Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser compares to other Cleansers and Exfoliators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jennalyn B.

Jennalyn B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great for oily skin

published

this cleanser is just fine, I sometimes use this after removing my makeup using another makeup remover and it helps me clean my face thoroughly. The issue I find is there is a little tightening and there are dry patches all over my face after a few minutes of rinsing it off.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$5.50.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeCombination Skin
See all answers

Dangerous!

published

1st time I use it my skin feels like it has cuts all over it because it is so dry. 2nd try, Now my face is burned with red blotches

Purchased in June 2019.

Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Susan

SusanAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for acne prone skin

published

I have tried just about every cleanser, treatment and medication around and this has consistently produced the best results by a mile in keeping my skin clear. I love it! And its so cheap compared to dermatologists, LED treatments, medications etc.

Ashley

Ashley

  • 4 reviews

DO NOT USE!

published
Cloe

Cloe

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Not bad however a bit drying

published

This is not a bad cleanser considering it has fragrance in it. It feels as though it cleanses very well as it strips everything from the surface of your facial skin, including the natural moisture hence feels a bit drying after using it. So I'd caution anyone who is prone to suffer from dehydration on your face as long term use can further burden your skins immune system.
I used the product for a month before I stopped using it a started looking for a gentle and more hydrating alternative.

stella martin

stella martinRio de janeiro

  • 2 reviews

One of the best

published

I have combination skin and this face wash works best for me. Good and soft on my skin, deeply clears my skin pores. My T zone remains oil free for more than 3 hours after using this product. I also had some dark patches on my face but they get lighter now. So it is a must have for me.

Cleansers and Exfoliators

Find out how Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser compares to other Cleansers and Exfoliators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jacster

jacsterPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Actually removes your makeup!

published

This product always removes make-up and dirt leaving my skin feeling beautifully clean, but not dried out like a lot of products can
Deep cleaning, leaves skin feeling clean and soft, inexpensive

strass

strass

  • 27 reviews

Excellent

published

I decided to try this one out a year ago and I really love it. I have oily skin and I found that most facial cleansers in the market including those from expensive brands do little to accommodate my skin condition. With this one, like the name suggests, my face feels clean and tight, not a trace of oil left freshly after using it which is exactly how I like. Will not live without it. Always have a spare one in the cupboard!
Cheap. Great value. Does what it says it does.
None. Although, I think this product does not suit sensitive and dry skin.

axcentric

axcentricGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews

Good

published

I liked it so much I bought it again, and only this time I find myself using it less because I don't want to fork out for its price again too soon. I could easily go back to J&J clean and clear as they offer trial packs on special
It does what it's intention is. It cleans your face.
expensive, smells a little funny

heytherek

heytherek

  • 369 reviews

OK

published

I used to use this product a lot before I moved on to using Clinique. It is readily available at chemists and does not do too bad a job, but I have found that if you do have sensitive skin it can leave your skin a little bit irritated. It is not as mild as some other products but does do the job it says it will.
Competitively priced,easy to find, is oil free. Readily available. Does the job it says it will.
Not as suited to those with very sensitive skin as can be a little bit harsh I have found.

Mell_Bell09

Mell_Bell09

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good

published

My sister got me onto this product, she's been using it for the last 4-5 years and has lovely clear skin. I've used it on & off and found it does clean deeply, and dries up break-outs but can be a little too drying sometimes. 4 out of 5 stars.
I used the Deep Clean Cream Cleanser and found it to be a very good cleanser, lathered up well so a little goes a long way. Skin feels VERY clean afterwards, good price ($10-15) and available at most supermarkets & chemists. Improves complexion, clears up break-outs and less im-perfections if used regularly.
Big tube, only available in the one big size...so not so good for travelling. Can over-dry the skin if used for too long.

Suzii

SuziiWA, 6056

  • 44 reviews

Excellent

published

I've tried many face scrubs, as I suffer many pimples. So I have to be careful what I use. At the moment I'm very happy with this one. I'm able to use it everyday without it drying out my skin. It does have a touch of Salicylic Acid in it, so it helps to fight off the dreaded pimples. My skin hasn't stayed this clear in a long long time. I'm now waking up in the morning without those tiny little white pimples. I'm so happy.
No dry skin, No inflamation afterwards, Able to use it everyday, has micro beads that exfoliate
Beads can sometime be a little painful if you scrub too hard

Cleansers and Exfoliators

Find out how Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser compares to other Cleansers and Exfoliators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
z3061328

z3061328AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible

published

I used the cream version and found is exceptionally drying. I have combination skin and bought it for my boyfriend to use also. He has normal skin and we both found after using the product, that our skin had a really dry/tight outcome. This left me to wonder about how much moisture it stripped away from our skin, rather than gently cleansing. We threw the product out right away.
Creamy consistency, low scent.
Strips skin of moisture. If you have skin in need of hydration, avoid this product.

Hutcher

Hutcher

  • 34 reviews

Good

published

This is a great simple cleanser for normal to combination skin (really oily skin types should look at the Acne Wash). I've been using it on and off for years and like other reviewers have said, always end up going back to it, because it works! It doesn't promise the world, but for clean, soft skin it delivers!
I use the gel version of this product when my skin is behaving itself. It instantly foams into a rich lather and rinses clean with no residue. It's easy to find and comparatively cheap.
The pump design makes travel difficult (and I don't like the other formulas so have to pump it into canisters if I'm going away). I've had a couple of bottles crack - the plastic isn't very strong.

bigfatpig

bigfatpig

  • 73 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

I have been using this face wash for the last 4 years. I have tried using other products during the 4 years, but I found myself keep going back to this one. It's a great product that works well for my skin. I would recommend to anyone having normal to oily skin.
This clenser does its job, and does it really well. My skin feels really clean after using this clenser, and feels that make-up is thoroughly removed. The gel becomes rich lather easily, and I like that the perfume isn't strong. It's easily & cheaply available too - there is nothing to dislike about this clenser!

jrg200

jrg200

  • 76 reviews
  • 15 likes

OK

published

It is a good affordable cleanser, that works well, but maybe too well! i found it way too drying for my skin, and i prefer their other cleanser - the 'fresh foaming cleanser'. unless you have particularly oily skin, i wouldn't recommend it.
it works well
i find it quite strong and drying for my skin.

tzelyn

tzelyn

  • 159 reviews
  • 25 likes

Excellent

published

I started using this face wash during my teenage years and I had stuck to it for a few years. I found it really good. I loved the feel of how refreshed my face feels after a wash and how it clean my face was. Really good face wash for removing facial oils and makeup! I high recommend this product.
My face feels REALLY clean after using this neutrogena wash. It contributes to keeping my T zone less oily, which is a really good thing!
There is nothing to dislike about this product.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tahmina

Tahminaasked

Hi is it good for dry skin?

1 answer
Cloe
Cloe

I would say definable not, I have very dehydrated skin and this product will dry you out even more because it contains salicylic acid - a peeling agent that works by chemically exfoliates skin. And extended use may thin skin layer and end up with drier skin. If you have dry skin I'd recommend to avoid 'salicylic acid' in the ingredients list altogether. Check out this article on salicylic acid.
https://www.annmariegianni.com/ingredient-watch-list-salicylic-acid-it-may-dry-and-thin-your-skin/
When I initially purchased this i was under the impression that a 'cream' cleanser is supposed to be more hydrating, and learnt that this is not necessarily the case after using this Neutrogena cream cleanser. All it means is that it comes in a cream form.

Try a gentle glycerin based cleanser to avoid stripping oil from the skin. At the moment, I am using La Roche-Posay Toleriane foaming gel cleanser to remove makeup, and on makeup free days I'm using Cetaphil RestoraDerm skin restoring body wash( which is appropriate for face according to my pharmacist and dermatologist). They are both very gentle and won't dry your skin out.

Neutrogena also has a gentle cleanser that is recommended by my dermatologist which I'm yet to try though.

Also try to buy fragrance free and alcohol free, those two ingredients dries out skin like nothing else!

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.