6 photos
Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg)

Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg)

2.7 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nexgard? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.7
23 reviews
Previous
Next
Rhino
RhinoThe Mallee, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Poison for your pet

published

At the advice of our local pet supplies we were told to try Nexgard Spectra. Not only did Nexgard Spectra induce vomiting and diarrhoea but a visit to the vet too. We are back to using Advocate which actually works. In my opinion Nexgard Spectra should be removed from shelves

Purchased in July 2020 at PetStock.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Don't risk your dogs life !!!!

published

One week after dosing my Vizsla dog had unexplained seizures. Didn't use again for a couple of years. This time 10 days after dosing dog in ICU suffering Addisonian crisis. Lucky to be alive but now on life-long medication. Do not take the risk with your dog

Purchased in April 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Jon TW
Jon TWSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great product does exactly what it states

published

Purchased in June 2021 at Petbarn Physical store for $97.00.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cyndi E.
Cyndi E.Queensland
  • 4 reviews

Does everything that is describes

published

I've used different treatments before but found this was the only thing that really works. My pup loves it to the point she eats it right out my hand without having to mix it with other food. After seeing the previous reviews its definitely concerning but I've never had any bad experiences with this brand for seven months straight. When I was searching for a new product for my one I was actually recommended by vets, pet store employees and people that use it for their pets too that they love it. Will definitely be doing bit more research before our next round.

Purchased in July 2020 for $98.99.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not buy, gives dogs bad skin

published

Purchased at Petbarn.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog

Awful won’t use again

published

Gave my German Wiredhaired Pointer a Nexgard last night and this morning she rushed out side to eat grass and was not right she stayed out and as I watch her she run to the undo growth shacking and been sick she could not stop shacking she seem to have a fit and could not know who I was will never use again

Purchased in December 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5

Terrible product. My dog , a healthy 15 months old Labrador, had a bad reaction

published

He had extreme diarrhoea where we passed stool all night. In the morning he looked sick, was whimpering and wasn’t eating anything. This was not the first time it happened but definitely the worst reaction he’s had. We are not using this product anymore as it doesn’t seem like a safe option

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Personality change
Pet Type Dog
Brit
BritAyr
  • 7 reviews

Dog got heartworm

published

Dog had been taking this for 2 years and has just tested positive for heartworm and has had it for a long time.
So i have been paying this for many years and now have to pay $4,000 as my dog has heartworm.
Never missed a chewy.
Would not recommend.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5

If I could rate it ZERO I would

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Direct Vet Supplies.

Incentivised Review No
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SummerSkye
SummerSkyeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

No fleas or ticks in a tasty chew!

published

Purchased at Pet Circle.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Sally
SallySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Danger

published

Boxer suddenly developed severe seizures and died, now our other dog is having exactly the same like for like seizures, read facebook Canada and American civil actions against this product, all having exactly the same symptoms

Purchased in April 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for $85.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Old timer
Old timerSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Danger this is poison

published

My blue heeler had this product for 2years,he had seizures from the age of 8 months, the vet said he was epileptic,he was getting worse and we nearly lost him my wife did her home work,on this poison,we STOPPED it straight away, he has not had a seizure,for 12 months, DONT give this drug to your pet it can KiLL , we now use one that goes on his coat, no more problems look around talk to your vet

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brian B.
Brian B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Killed my 10-month-old GSP.

published

This product killed my 10-month-old GSP 6 hours after I gave it to her, which their customer service line advise is the time of maximum absorption. I didn't know it at the time, but many dogs get seizures from this product. Google it, it's horrible. Lesson learned: there is no point dumping a whole lot of high powered chemicals into your dog at once - do your research carefully on what the key parasite is and give a product specific to that, if it's really needed. A few worms or flea will not kill your dog - Nextguard Spectra killed mine. I am not staying it will kill your dog, but enough dogs get problems from it for me to never use it again.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Bon
BonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Has been working for us.

published

First treatment for my 2yr old AmStaff was at 3mths. She’ll eat them straight out of the packet so ok there. I find it’s best to give them with food as it does upset her bowels but only for the day. She’s also a little more placid for the day. I find no fleas, no sign of worms and the odd tick she can pick up has been dead by the time I find it and she gets daily inspections. I am concerned about all the chemicals I put into the little body so during the cooler months, I treat her every 2nd month. I’ll keep using it this way.

Purchased in January 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for $82.00.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
scandalicious
scandaliciousRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great product

published

My pup loves these so much so that she eats these tablets straight out of my hands. No need to deceive her with hiding them in other products. No issues at all.

Purchased in August 2019.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
See all Nexgard Spectra reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg) but you can read 23 questions about Nexgard Spectra.

Get an answer from our members

Nexgard Spectra Large (15.1-30kg)

Details

Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
CategoryTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeChewable
Pet TypeDog
Reapplication PeriodEvery 2-3 months
Minimum Pet Age8 weeks
Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.