6 photos
Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg)

Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg)

2.5 from 22 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nexgard? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.5
22 reviews
Previous
Next
bosstag
bosstagSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Review it first

published

Our dog had the product and the next day was bleeding from his rectum. He is still very ill and it has been so hard on all concerned especially him. If you love your dog then review the product in the USA where it is off market.

Purchased for $100.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Christine Y
Christine Y
  • 5 reviews

My dog had an allergic reaction

published

My dog had an allergic reaction to a sample of Nexguard spectra. She had no issues eating it, but later that day developed a strong itchy spot (no history of hot spots or fleas) on her back where she scratched until it was raw. Took a few days to settle down. My other dog had no issues.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Glamour Queen
Glamour QueenGold Coast, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Works Perfectly!

published

My three-year-old dog has been taking Nexgard Spectra every month since he was a puppy. He has never had fleas, ticks, mites, or worms and we go to dog parks and dog friendly beaches every single week.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Maddie
MaddieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Do not take the risk. Do not use this product.

published

One of my dogs had severe seizures from this product and the other passed away. If you have given this to your pets in the past and they were fine, that does not indicate that this is a good product, you were just lucky. This is not a good product and the majority of reviews show this, even my vet agrees and does not know how this product is still for sale.

Purchased in June 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Made my dog really sick

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $30.00.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog

Awful product, my dog has been sick for 4 days

published

Severe vomiting and Diarrhea for 4 days at least after giving our puppy this medication. This is an awful product.

Do not use, do not recommend. This will make your dog very sick.

Purchased in October 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No

Thought my dog was dying

published

I gave my dachshund a Nexgard Spectra chew for his weight range. Not long after he wouldn’t move from his bed. My poor boy wouldn’t even lift his head and he usually follows me everywhere. When he did get up to wee he only just got out of his bed then went straight back to it. His urine was almost brown and crystallised when it dried. Never again.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Next
Sam Jhon
Sam JhonMid North Coast, NSW

One Tablet And Done!

published

Nexgard Spectra chewables act rapidly Kills fleas and ticks, but also provides protection for a month. It is also useful in preventing other issues such as tapeworm infestations, sarcoptic mange, mite infestation, and also aids in eliminating worms in the gut. One Tablet performs many task.

Purchased in July 2020 at Pet Care Club for $50.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dogs haven’t been good since taking this

published

Always worm my dogs twice a year, unfortunately the vets recommended that we use this product this time round. Both dogs have now been battling sickness off and on for 2 months (stomach and intestinal issues), I am absolutely furious about it. Both now at a new vet who wouldn’t be drawn on the product but just said they don’t stock it, or use it commercially or privately, enough for me.

Purchased for $20.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
gotamangina
gotamanginaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Made him sick, still unwell 4 days later.

published

We gave this to our dog on Saturday and he was vomiting and had diarrhea the next day. 4 days later and he still has diarrhea and is not himself.

This progressed to passing blood and mucus and losing weight. We stopped giving it to him, got a refund from the pet shop and two months later he is healthy and putting weight back on.

We had a few trips to the vet for stomach issues and blood in his stool over the months preceding this, but hadn't made the connection until the last time, when the problem escalated.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
oldchinaservice
oldchinaserviceSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Shonky advertising

published

My vet told me that Nexgard's inference it kills tapeworms is false. It does not kill tapeworms. On reading the small print on the pack, it says it controls tapeworms by killing the fleas that carry tapeworms.
So when, like me, you buy the stuff to kill existing tapeworms, it's useless, resulting in my trip to the vet.

Also, the advert says, "NEXGARD SPECTRA is a tasty beef-flavoured chew that dogs love. 100% of owners surveyed said it was well received by their dog!"
So, as my dog will not chew it unless I cover it with something tasty like peanut butter, I allege the opposite of their advert: In my experience, 100% of dogs in my personal survey did NOT receive it well.

I find this product's claims to be shonky from start to finish.

Purchased in October 2019 at Online for $49.99.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
1/5
RSaxton
RSaxtonBlackheath
  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Did NexGard Spectra kill my dog?

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg) compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nona   I go now
Nona I go nowAU
  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Unsure about side effects

published

I'm sure Nexgard does what it says at the "5 star" standard, it certainly fixed a puppy worm problem. But will be trying alternatives to Afoxolaner, with vets guidance, due to our dog having a side effect (blood in diarrhea for several days after each dosing - bull terrier 15kg).

Incentivised Review No
Megan C.
Megan C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Everything in one

published

This is perfect for my boy. It's everything in one. We go away a lot so it covers things that are generally not found in the suburbs. Like ticks, etc... So when we go away I know my boys covered. Great peace of mind

Purchased in January 2017 at Pet Circle for $100.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Concerned it caused pancreatitis

published

Less than a week after giving my dog her first ever dose of Nexgard Spectra (the vet receptionist sold me on it) my healthy 11 year old spaniel came down with severe diarrhoea and vomiting and after 24 hours was rushed to emergency vet hospital and put on IV fluids for 24 hours at great cost to us. Very distressing.
I am convinced that there is something about the combination of the two drugs that stresses the gastrointestinal and nervous system out as it’s being processed through the body.
I’m raising it with our vet as a potential toxin that kicked off my dog’s hospitalization.
Be very very careful when administering this drug!

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
5/5
See all Nexgard Spectra reviews

Questions & Answers

Beasfleas
Beasfleasasked
Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg)

I would like to know how many years this product was trialled for before being put on the market.... These designer 'chews' sound good in theory but I wonder how we humans would go chomping on similar every month. My last dog had Sentinel Spectrum every month of her 14+year life but developed, lots of Lipomas (fatty lumps) later in life and I often wondered if it was the pesticide product which had caused them. Anyone have the answer... don't want my new dog to end up the same way. Thanks

No answers
See all Nexgard Spectra questions

Get an answer from our members

Nexgard Spectra Medium (7.6-15kg)

Details

Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
CategoryTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeChewable
Pet TypeDog
Reapplication PeriodEvery 2-3 months
Minimum Pet Age8 weeks
Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.