10 photos
Nexgard Spectra
2.2 from 80 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nexgard? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.3
28 reviews
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
kyle
kyleSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

never use this rubbish poison again

published

Purchased for $29.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wendy Gold Coast
Wendy Gold CoastSouth East Queensland, QLD

DOES NOT CONTROL TICKS !!

published

Purchased in February 2021 for $95.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rhino
RhinoThe Mallee, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Poison for your pet

published

At the advice of our local pet supplies we were told to try Nexgard Spectra. Not only did Nexgard Spectra induce vomiting and diarrhoea but a visit to the vet too. We are back to using Advocate which actually works. In my opinion Nexgard Spectra should be removed from shelves

Purchased in July 2020 at PetStock.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bosstag
bosstagSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Review it first

published

Our dog had the product and the next day was bleeding from his rectum. He is still very ill and it has been so hard on all concerned especially him. If you love your dog then review the product in the USA where it is off market.

Purchased for $100.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't risk your dogs life !!!!

published

One week after dosing my Vizsla dog had unexplained seizures. Didn't use again for a couple of years. This time 10 days after dosing dog in ICU suffering Addisonian crisis. Lucky to be alive but now on life-long medication. Do not take the risk with your dog

Purchased in April 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christine Y
Christine Y
  • 5 reviews

My dog had an allergic reaction

published

My dog had an allergic reaction to a sample of Nexguard spectra. She had no issues eating it, but later that day developed a strong itchy spot (no history of hot spots or fleas) on her back where she scratched until it was raw. Took a few days to settle down. My other dog had no issues.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bree
BreeHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Caution to people looking to use this

published

Gave it to my dog the 1st time thought the diarrhea was the result of her just having an off day however after the 2nd does she had bloody/mucus diarrhea it has currently been 5 days and she is still having it even after vet treatment. Please do not give this to your dogs it's not worth the risk

Purchased in May 2021 for $82.99.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Gave to my 9 month old lab - Big Mistake

published

Vet provided us three options not explaining the possible side effects. Thought the heart worm and tick combo would be best option. Our dog had diarrhea after two days which lasted for about a week overnight. Thought it was his food so changed it. Gave this medication on first of next month two days later same reaction. Our dog was salivating, hyper but the diarrhea at night time was out of control.

Do not use this product.

Purchased in May 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ashley M.
Ashley M.
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

NexGard Spectra

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not buy, gives dogs bad skin

published

Purchased at Petbarn.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Made my dog really sick

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $30.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gina
GinaKingscliff

My Havanese now has liver issues after 3 doses (within 3 months)

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awful won’t use again

published

Gave my German Wiredhaired Pointer a Nexgard last night and this morning she rushed out side to eat grass and was not right she stayed out and as I watch her she run to the undo growth shacking and been sick she could not stop shacking she seem to have a fit and could not know who I was will never use again

Purchased in December 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible product. My dog , a healthy 15 months old Labrador, had a bad reaction

published

He had extreme diarrhoea where we passed stool all night. In the morning he looked sick, was whimpering and wasn’t eating anything. This was not the first time it happened but definitely the worst reaction he’s had. We are not using this product anymore as it doesn’t seem like a safe option

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Personality change
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Diarrhea for a week

published

After a single pill, my 3 month years old dog had bloody diarrhea for a looonng week.
It seems to be better now, but, hey, don't give this to any dog, please !

Purchased in October 2020.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Robyn White
Robyn Whiteasked
Spectra

Does Nexgard Spectra guard against or kill tapeworm?

1 answer
Rhino
Rhino

I'm not sure if it kills tapeworm Robyn but I can assure you it nearly killed my dog.

Nicole C
Nicole Casked
Spectra

Hi, our puppy bordoodle is now 10 months old and he has been taking this product since we bought he when he was 2 months old and we took him to check up, the vet recommended this product Nesgard-spectra to us. I have been looking for the alternative brand for him before. I was shocked and saw this product only 2 stars here. I read all the comments and it's scared me now. Could anyone give me another suggestion? Thanks

1 answer
bosstag
bosstag

Hi Nicole.
We too have been giving it to our 2 dogs since it was on the market. However it appears to build up in their systems and we almost lost both our fur babies the last time. Our larger poodle was bleeding from the bowel. If you check on the American site you can see that it has been removed from sale as it kills the dogs. As far as alternatives go I think the drop behind the neck seems to work for most dogs. I believe the problem comes in when the drug contains everything ..ticks, flees and worms. You may just cut back to the tick and flees then 2 weeks later give them a separate wormer. But check out the American reviews first. You can also give them a probiotic for dogs for good stomach health. We do now.
David.

Lee M.
Lee M.asked
Spectra

My dog is 18 kg and then exhaust spectra I have is 7.6-15kg. Should I give her 2 chewable tablets?

No answers
See all Nexgard Spectra questions

Get an answer from our members

Nexgard Spectra

Details

Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
CategoryTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeChewableChewableChewableChewable
Pet TypeDogDogDogDog
Reapplication PeriodEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 months
Minimum Pet Age8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.