10 photos
Nexgard Spectra

Nexgard Spectra

Large (15.1-30kg), Medium (7.6-15kg), Small (3.6-7.5kg), etc... (See All)
2.2 from 80 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nexgard? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.2
17 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(16)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
bosstag
bosstagSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Review it first

published

Our dog had the product and the next day was bleeding from his rectum. He is still very ill and it has been so hard on all concerned especially him. If you love your dog then review the product in the USA where it is off market.

Purchased for $100.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don't risk your dogs life !!!!

published

One week after dosing my Vizsla dog had unexplained seizures. Didn't use again for a couple of years. This time 10 days after dosing dog in ICU suffering Addisonian crisis. Lucky to be alive but now on life-long medication. Do not take the risk with your dog

Purchased in April 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Do not buy, gives dogs bad skin

published

Purchased at Petbarn.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maddie
MaddieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Do not take the risk. Do not use this product.

published

One of my dogs had severe seizures from this product and the other passed away. If you have given this to your pets in the past and they were fine, that does not indicate that this is a good product, you were just lucky. This is not a good product and the majority of reviews show this, even my vet agrees and does not know how this product is still for sale.

Purchased in June 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gina
GinaKingscliff

My Havanese now has liver issues after 3 doses (within 3 months)

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Terrible product. My dog , a healthy 15 months old Labrador, had a bad reaction

published

He had extreme diarrhoea where we passed stool all night. In the morning he looked sick, was whimpering and wasn’t eating anything. This was not the first time it happened but definitely the worst reaction he’s had. We are not using this product anymore as it doesn’t seem like a safe option

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Personality change
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dean Fordham
Dean FordhamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Google before giving to your dog

published

Adverse reaction resulting in death. Google other people’s stories before you give this to your dog. Binning it is the best thing you could do. I gave this to my healthy pug & she was dead within 2 days. Your dog can have an adverse reaction & suffer an illness which could be fatal. My pug suffered severe vomiting & liver shut down & it could happen to your dog too. I now use another brand on my other pug & no problem at all. Nexgard could kill your pet. Google other stories like mine..

Purchased at Petbarn Physical store.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Sally
SallySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Danger

published

Boxer suddenly developed severe seizures and died, now our other dog is having exactly the same like for like seizures, read facebook Canada and American civil actions against this product, all having exactly the same symptoms

Purchased in April 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for $85.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Nexgard spectra killed my dog and made my others extremely ill

published

Purchased in September 2020 at PetStock Online store.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolutely Toxic. Almost killed by little dog.

published

Please, I absolutely urge you to not even chance using this product on your dog. The neurological effects it had, my dog almost lost the function of his back legs. Besides blood in his vomit and diarrhoea. I am blessed to still have him. The product is absolutely toxic and dangerous. Milk Thistle and prescription pain relief got him back to himself. Although some days he still requires medication over a year later.

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam Jhon
Sam JhonMid North Coast, NSW

One Tablet And Done!

published

Nexgard Spectra chewables act rapidly Kills fleas and ticks, but also provides protection for a month. It is also useful in preventing other issues such as tapeworm infestations, sarcoptic mange, mite infestation, and also aids in eliminating worms in the gut. One Tablet performs many task.

Purchased in July 2020 at Pet Care Club for $50.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Narelle
NarellePerth, WA

This product is toxic & should be not be on the shelves.

published

Our 2 year old Labrador has had 2 seizures since being given this product. He is now on medication for Epilepsy. He has also become more anxious since his seizures and has to have blood tests to make sure medication isn't harming his vital organs. Will be using natural remedies from now on.

Purchased in December 2019 for $120.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Old timer
Old timerSouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Danger this is poison

published

My blue heeler had this product for 2years,he had seizures from the age of 8 months, the vet said he was epileptic,he was getting worse and we nearly lost him my wife did her home work,on this poison,we STOPPED it straight away, he has not had a seizure,for 12 months, DONT give this drug to your pet it can KiLL , we now use one that goes on his coat, no more problems look around talk to your vet

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian B.
Brian B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Killed my 10-month-old GSP.

published

This product killed my 10-month-old GSP 6 hours after I gave it to her, which their customer service line advise is the time of maximum absorption. I didn't know it at the time, but many dogs get seizures from this product. Google it, it's horrible. Lesson learned: there is no point dumping a whole lot of high powered chemicals into your dog at once - do your research carefully on what the key parasite is and give a product specific to that, if it's really needed. A few worms or flea will not kill your dog - Nextguard Spectra killed mine. I am not staying it will kill your dog, but enough dogs get problems from it for me to never use it again.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Dogs haven’t been good since taking this

published

Always worm my dogs twice a year, unfortunately the vets recommended that we use this product this time round. Both dogs have now been battling sickness off and on for 2 months (stomach and intestinal issues), I am absolutely furious about it. Both now at a new vet who wouldn’t be drawn on the product but just said they don’t stock it, or use it commercially or privately, enough for me.

Purchased for $20.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Robyn White
Robyn Whiteasked
Spectra

Does Nexgard Spectra guard against or kill tapeworm?

1 answer
Rhino
Rhino

I'm not sure if it kills tapeworm Robyn but I can assure you it nearly killed my dog.

Nicole C
Nicole Casked
Spectra

Hi, our puppy bordoodle is now 10 months old and he has been taking this product since we bought he when he was 2 months old and we took him to check up, the vet recommended this product Nesgard-spectra to us. I have been looking for the alternative brand for him before. I was shocked and saw this product only 2 stars here. I read all the comments and it's scared me now. Could anyone give me another suggestion? Thanks

1 answer
bosstag
bosstag

Hi Nicole.
We too have been giving it to our 2 dogs since it was on the market. However it appears to build up in their systems and we almost lost both our fur babies the last time. Our larger poodle was bleeding from the bowel. If you check on the American site you can see that it has been removed from sale as it kills the dogs. As far as alternatives go I think the drop behind the neck seems to work for most dogs. I believe the problem comes in when the drug contains everything ..ticks, flees and worms. You may just cut back to the tick and flees then 2 weeks later give them a separate wormer. But check out the American reviews first. You can also give them a probiotic for dogs for good stomach health. We do now.
David.

Lee M.
Lee M.asked
Spectra

My dog is 18 kg and then exhaust spectra I have is 7.6-15kg. Should I give her 2 chewable tablets?

No answers
See all Nexgard Spectra questions

Get an answer from our members

Nexgard Spectra

Details

Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
CategoryTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeChewableChewableChewableChewable
Pet TypeDogDogDogDog
Reapplication PeriodEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 months
Minimum Pet Age8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.