10 photos
Nexgard Spectra

Nexgard Spectra

Large (15.1-30kg), Medium (7.6-15kg), Small (3.6-7.5kg), etc... (See All)
2.2 from 80 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nexgard? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.1
21 reviews
Previous
Clear all
Next
Guinevere F.
Guinevere F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Does not treat worms.

published

My lab is scraping her bottom along the ground two weeks after given tge tablet. Nit sure about other pests as she only gets fleas in summer, and summer is just starting.

Purchased in December 2021 for $65.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jon TW
Jon TWSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great product does exactly what it states

published

Purchased in June 2021 at Petbarn Physical store for $97.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cyndi E.
Cyndi E.Queensland
  • 4 reviews

Does everything that is describes

published

I've used different treatments before but found this was the only thing that really works. My pup loves it to the point she eats it right out my hand without having to mix it with other food. After seeing the previous reviews its definitely concerning but I've never had any bad experiences with this brand for seven months straight. When I was searching for a new product for my one I was actually recommended by vets, pet store employees and people that use it for their pets too that they love it. Will definitely be doing bit more research before our next round.

Purchased in July 2020 for $98.99.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maddie
MaddieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Do not take the risk. Do not use this product.

published

One of my dogs had severe seizures from this product and the other passed away. If you have given this to your pets in the past and they were fine, that does not indicate that this is a good product, you were just lucky. This is not a good product and the majority of reviews show this, even my vet agrees and does not know how this product is still for sale.

Purchased in June 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible product. My dog , a healthy 15 months old Labrador, had a bad reaction

published

He had extreme diarrhoea where we passed stool all night. In the morning he looked sick, was whimpering and wasn’t eating anything. This was not the first time it happened but definitely the worst reaction he’s had. We are not using this product anymore as it doesn’t seem like a safe option

Purchased in November 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Personality change
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DeVilAus
DeVilAusSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Product does exactly what it says and works perfectly fine. Godsend for protection against fleas and ticks.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at My Pet Warehouse Online store for $103.49.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SummerSkye
SummerSkyeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

No fleas or ticks in a tasty chew!

published

Purchased at Pet Circle.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Dean Fordham
Dean FordhamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Google before giving to your dog

published

Adverse reaction resulting in death. Google other people’s stories before you give this to your dog. Binning it is the best thing you could do. I gave this to my healthy pug & she was dead within 2 days. Your dog can have an adverse reaction & suffer an illness which could be fatal. My pug suffered severe vomiting & liver shut down & it could happen to your dog too. I now use another brand on my other pug & no problem at all. Nexgard could kill your pet. Google other stories like mine..

Purchased at Petbarn Physical store.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sally
SallySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 17 reviews
  • 11 likes

Danger

published

Boxer suddenly developed severe seizures and died, now our other dog is having exactly the same like for like seizures, read facebook Canada and American civil actions against this product, all having exactly the same symptoms

Purchased in April 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for $85.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Nexgard spectra killed my dog and made my others extremely ill

published

Purchased in September 2020 at PetStock Online store.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian B.
Brian B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Killed my 10-month-old GSP.

published

This product killed my 10-month-old GSP 6 hours after I gave it to her, which their customer service line advise is the time of maximum absorption. I didn't know it at the time, but many dogs get seizures from this product. Google it, it's horrible. Lesson learned: there is no point dumping a whole lot of high powered chemicals into your dog at once - do your research carefully on what the key parasite is and give a product specific to that, if it's really needed. A few worms or flea will not kill your dog - Nextguard Spectra killed mine. I am not staying it will kill your dog, but enough dogs get problems from it for me to never use it again.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RSaxton
RSaxtonBlackheath
  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Did NexGard Spectra kill my dog?

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Nexgard Spectra compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tim E.
Tim E.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

No issues or reactions, never had a single tick since using. Very impressed as we live in a bad area for ticks. Highly recommend, don’t listen to herbalist nutters online listen to your vet or real people in dog parks.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Megan C.
Megan C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Everything in one

published

This is perfect for my boy. It's everything in one. We go away a lot so it covers things that are generally not found in the suburbs. Like ticks, etc... So when we go away I know my boys covered. Great peace of mind

Purchased in January 2017 at Pet Circle for $100.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amanda
Amanda
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best preventative for paralysis tick

published

This product is great for protecting dogs from paralysis tick in the tropics. I have used it on dogs of all sizes, ranging from 8 week old puppies to a 30kg German short haired pointer. I have used it on chihuahuas, basenjis, German shepherds, huskies, mareemas, border collies and more. I ensure that the first dose I give a new dog is smaller (one size class down) and if it is tolerated well I give the correct dose moving forward. The worst symptom that I have witnessed is diarrhea but I am sure to check if the dog has heart worm before I give it due to the risks. Some dogs do not like the smell and taste so it has to be hidden in cheese.

Purchased in January 2018 at Budget Pet Products for $110.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects None
Pet Type Dog
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Robyn White
Robyn Whiteasked
Spectra

Does Nexgard Spectra guard against or kill tapeworm?

1 answer
Rhino
Rhino

I'm not sure if it kills tapeworm Robyn but I can assure you it nearly killed my dog.

Nicole C
Nicole Casked
Spectra

Hi, our puppy bordoodle is now 10 months old and he has been taking this product since we bought he when he was 2 months old and we took him to check up, the vet recommended this product Nesgard-spectra to us. I have been looking for the alternative brand for him before. I was shocked and saw this product only 2 stars here. I read all the comments and it's scared me now. Could anyone give me another suggestion? Thanks

1 answer
bosstag
bosstag

Hi Nicole.
We too have been giving it to our 2 dogs since it was on the market. However it appears to build up in their systems and we almost lost both our fur babies the last time. Our larger poodle was bleeding from the bowel. If you check on the American site you can see that it has been removed from sale as it kills the dogs. As far as alternatives go I think the drop behind the neck seems to work for most dogs. I believe the problem comes in when the drug contains everything ..ticks, flees and worms. You may just cut back to the tick and flees then 2 weeks later give them a separate wormer. But check out the American reviews first. You can also give them a probiotic for dogs for good stomach health. We do now.
David.

Lee M.
Lee M.asked
Spectra

My dog is 18 kg and then exhaust spectra I have is 7.6-15kg. Should I give her 2 chewable tablets?

No answers
See all Nexgard Spectra questions

Get an answer from our members

Nexgard Spectra

Details

Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra
CategoryTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeChewableChewableChewableChewable
Pet TypeDogDogDogDog
Reapplication PeriodEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 monthsEvery 2-3 months
Minimum Pet Age8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Compare all 5 Nexgard Spectra

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.