?
? !
1 photo
NIB Health Insurance

NIB Health Insurance

2.3 from 559 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.1

36 reviews
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (25)
  • Transparency
    1.1 (24)
  • Customer Service
    1.1 (26)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (2)
    • 1-2 weeks (3)
    • 2-4 weeks (5)
    • 1-2 months (3)
    • 3+ months (8)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (32)
Previous
Next
Bader

BaderSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible Terrible Terrible, It takes ages to payback claims

published

the policy looks great and cover many extras but what they do with the extras claims they would decline your claim after waiting for few months so that you don't remember what the claim was for, and then you have to call them to solve this issue which would take another decade to solve. I've been with NIB from 2015!! and its getting worse to worse.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
nib
nibnib
Bader
Bader
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

509 reviews
Ad
Philip C

Philip CCanberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don’t Hold Your Breath When Claiming

published

Made a legitimate claim on February 15 and nib is still prevaricating on March 2. I have never experienced a system which appears so blatantly to delay paying claims. They aren’t the slightest bit apologetic. Avoid nib - there are better alternatives.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hi Philip, I have sent you a private message requesting more information to assist with a follow up. Thanks, Amanda.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Annoyed !

published

I had a baby birth at private hospital.
I received an invoice of $1200 seperate which made a claim and was rejected. I called them and they told me to provide hopital documents. I did and again rejected claim. I called them back and they said my insurance doesn't cover the claim. I had to tell them the whole history of my insurance upgrades. Then they agreed to pay but didn't received. I called them again and they still asked hopital documents. Then i called the hopital to send documents to my insurance but they had already send it long ago.
Everytime i called the insurance, they would put me in hold for around 30mins.
I'm so annoyed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Health Insurance

Find out how NIB Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Unpaid claim for the last 10months!!

published

Unpaid claim for the past 10months and still following up.everytime i ring am told it will get sorted as soon as possible.i dont feel my policy was a good value.i have been getting endless emails from the hospital regarding the unpaid invoices and its driving me nuts.horrible service and wouldnt recommend it to anyone!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Koala B.

Koala B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Absolutely shocking customer service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Megs

Megs

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely Disgraceful

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
9 comments
nib
nibnib

Hi Megs,
Thanks for reaching out. If you'd like us to look into this for you, could you kindly send us a private message with your full name, customer number, address & date of birth for privacy.
Vicki

Megs
Megs

I’ve already done this and received no help.

nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

509 reviews
Ad
Karen

KarenPerth, WA

Total rip off and don’t call back when they say they will

published

Had a $250 excess but was told it had gone up to $500 unless a letter from dr confirming not a pre existing condition. Got this plus phoned nib & was assured was $250. On day of surgery hosp was advised by nib $500. Had tp pay up. I called next day to sort out plus the next 2 days only to be told they will call back.......ha waiting 3 days so far.
They don’t care.....all this stress when you are having surgery not good or helpful in any way.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30No
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan

Dan

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crappy Eye Care center and poor claim service.

published

Attended eye care center and got told by a staff to use Specsaver instead as NIB Eye Care charges many services Specsaver doesn't. Also old equipments and poor ranges of glasses.
Submitted multiple claims but got rejected and they asked for many more supporting documents for a tiny claim amount.
Expensive premium and uncompetitive products.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Liz

Liz

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waste of money

published

4 years of paying top cover for my children, required 1 specialist appointment and it was declined. Because, NiB appears to have a clause for everything to ensure they dont actually have to pay anything out to anyone. Dishonest, money grabbing thieves.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeChildren Only
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Health Insurance

Find out how NIB Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pat

PatSouth East Queensland, QLD

absolutely terrible

published

NIB is all about profits and not a personal service at all. On attempting to claim for my partners breast surgery (which we are covered for) we keep getting automated email replies saying it has been rejected without any reason or phone call as to why, then we have to call hotline to find out why then start the whole process again we are now going on to the third month of trying to get this claim across the board. as soon as this is done i will be changing private health insurance providers for myself and family. To be paying so much per year for a company that doesn't provide a streamlined service is ridiculous.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hi Pat, Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear about your claiming experience with us. I have sent you a private message with further details.
Kind regards, Richard

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Disgraceful NIB - GO ELSEWHERE for insurance (tell everyone you know)

published

NIB will gladly accept premiums, if you try making a claim they will very efficiently and effectively refuse that claim and then invest a great deal of time and resources to defend their decision.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
5 comments
nib
nibnib

Hi Martin, I am sorry to hear you have had some problems with a claim. I have messaged you directly so I can assist you further with this. Thanks, Kayleigh

Martin
Martin

Thanks for yet another ‘standard’ personal acknowledgement. I will respond to your message shortly though expect you will simply trot out the same ‘standard’ reply as several of your colleagues already have.

Martin
Martin

And now another message from NIB trying to up sell more insurance.
Disgraceful company purely interested in making a profit.
BE WARNED. Share this review and TELL YOUR FRIENDS.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AG1986

AG1986Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

The worst insurance i have ever had

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hello, Thanks for contacting nib.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent experience with nib.
Just letting you know that I have sent you a Private Message that you can reply to.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

509 reviews
Ad
Rebecca

Rebecca

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Misleading and bad customer service

published

Customer service was so slow and had no idea the info to give me when i asked. They mislead and make you wait 3 months for the gift card worth 400 dollars

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter

PeterSouthwest, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Avoid this company

published

They never pay you claim with the same criteria.
Same doctor, same bill paid, different amount received back!
I Always had to chase them to pay the claim.
Not a good customer service over the phone, they hire people that can not speak English or understand 100% what you saying!
Cheap company, cheap service, they do not pay you more then 25 %of your claim, don’t trust them, hopefully this company will be shut down!
Note for NIB, don’t even try to contact me to discuss this feedback. Hopefully people will choose other company after my feedback.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
loss

lossSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Simple surgery

published

NIB would not give me a decision on a simple operation. When I paid for said operation, The bunch of crooks refused to pay. disgusted, disgusted and you have to write a letter before you can send yor enraged post.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2016
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib

Hi, I am sorry to hear about your experience with nib. I would like to take this opportunity to look into this for you.
I have sent you a private message regarding your post if you can please reply to.
Kind regards,
Michelle

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Health Insurance

Find out how NIB Health Insurance compares to other Health Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rau

RauSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

CLAIM

published

My daughter had to make a hospital claim and NIB, 1st said that she had a pre exisiting condition of Asthma. As I got all the paper work back to them, they changed the pre exisiting condition to a chest infection. Didn’t cover her hospital stay. Expensive, not helpful or understanding. I will be changing health funds & not recommending NIB to anyone.
For anyone looking at getting private health cover NIB is NOT the one to pick. Also reading a few other reviews I can see I made the wrong choice.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suneil Kulkarni

Suneil KulkarniPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Service - AVOID USING THEM

published

NIB (IMAN) health insurance service has been the worst service. They promised me a refund for which I was entitled to after I got my PR & Citizenship. I had to make several calls to claim this money. They initially promised that they will. However after months they declined the refund. Please don't trust them. I have documented all the conversations

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital Only
Coverage TypeSingle
Under 30No
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barry

BarrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't Trust NIB

published

I changed from mbp on promise of same cover for lower cost.
I now realise they reduced my cover and excluded hearing aids.
The deal was not what it stated and costly in the long run

Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeCouple
Under 30Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank Health Insurance

Looking for Health Insurance?

Read the reviews for Frank Health Insurance

509 reviews
Ad
  • Verified

Scam Artists

published

Had my wisdoms teeth removed, on their website there was a 1 year wait period which is what most other providers go with. Upon getting my surgery done they then proceeded to say the policy is actually different to that advertised and is actually a 2 year stand down period. Absolute snake oil salesmen. Stay away from these people!. The worst!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
nib
nibnib
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Araumo

AraumoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Just after your money!

published

I had been with NIB since 2012 and paid more than $18k up until March this year when I needed surgery running in the $5k mark but they wouldn't pay. Their black and white hard copy policy clearly states that...Hospital treatment, including accomodation as a private patient in a private or public hospital & doctor's bill in hospital....will be covered. But they turned around and said I had to have medicare! Where was that written next to the policy! Meanwhile they don't care, business as usual and just keep taking your money on a monthly basis until you get sick or need surgery but too late!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Plan CoverageHospital and extras
Coverage TypeFamily
Under 30No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
nib
nibnib

Hello Araumo,
We endeavour to provide excellent customer service and I'm sorry to hear that this has not occurred.
Could you please inbox us with your customer number, date of birth, home address so we can look into this.
Many thanks, Shane

Araumo
Araumo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all NIB Health Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Customer

Customerasked

?

1 answer
Frances
Frances

I have never had a problem give them a call and sort it out that way they are very helpful

Paul

Paul asked

I’m on work Visa, I've been with nib for 4 years. Does NIB cover surgical or liposuction lipoma removal.

1 answer
nib
nibnib

Hello Paul,
Thank you for your question Paul, We have sent a response to your inbox.

Please contact our nib International Working & Visitors Cover team (OVHC) to discuss your cover on Phone: 1800 775 204, Email: nibovhc@nib.com.au, webpage: www.nib.com.au/overseas-working-visitors. Our International Businesses teams are available 8:30am to 6pm weekdays (AEST).

Kind Regards, Richard.

Andrea K.

Andrea K.asked

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in July this year and underwent a double mastectomy and reconstruction through the private system  as we had health insurance through your fund and were of the understanding that we were covered for this.   That was until we tried to make a claim. Did you not only decline this claim for the surgery you also declined the hospital stay.
This has put additional stress on my family and myself for which we do not and did not need. Thanks to you we have been left out of pocket by $30 000.  We always knew there would be out of pocket expenses but for your company to simply decline everything is just callous and wrong. We always paid our premiums on time and you did not seem to have a problem taking our money for that, but once we tried to claim fo something that was life saving we come up against a big red stop sign from you.
You have left us broken and struggling when we were once just a normal family living a good life. This year has already been tough enough due to COVID19.
Let me tell you about myself, I was 49, no direct family history of breast cancer, i have 2 teenage children and a husband who would do anything for our family.  This diagnosis turned myself and my family upside down.
I have been staying behind the scenes while my husband has been trying to get you to reconsider your decision but the time has come that I can no longer keep silent about this as it is tearing us apart. I am also embarrassed to be put in this situation.
A company such as yours who made a huge profit this financial year and sprout that health insurance should be easy to claim and good value really need to reconsider this statement because there has been nothing easy about this.
I just hope that there are not other people out (your members) there that are facing the same situation as us.
I would welcome you to contact me but I doubt that will happen and I know this post will probably be deleted.  I feel people need to know how you treat your members while your CEO pays himself a nice tidy bonus while we are left struggling to now make ends meet.
All we ask for is a fair go, not too much to ask for .

No answers
See all NIB Health Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and nib representatives

Details

CategoryHealth Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Income, Life and Travel

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.