??!
3 photos
Nikon D3400

Nikon D3400

MPN: KHNIKD340018300TW
4.3 from 13 reviews

See the Best DSLR Cameras in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

Manny

MannyTin Can Bay

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Click perfection

published

Small and compact DSLR with the power of a full sized unit, fairly easy to use and an affordable accessory range that won't break the budget. The Nikon D3400 has everything you need to make good pictures amazing. High res movie and pictures, quick and simple lens changes, a wide range of settings and easily programmable. A perfect entry lever DSLR.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Not a good camera...already failing

published

No backup service..bought from Joyce Mayne, Townsville on the 4 february 2017..after a few uses tried to tell the sales person how bad it was, didn't like my review..already has failures...bad focus with 50-200mm lens..less features than the old nikon..won't be a 3rd nikon...doesn't do well in snow conditions..was kept safe in camera bag...hard to download..not worth what I paid for it

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Jim

JimWarranwood

  • 2 reviews

Excellent purchase

published

Bought this with 18-55mm lens kit at Good Guys over a year ago. Great all round camera. Bought it because I am an amateur astronomer and it was recommended on astro-photography websites. I have a 127mm Maksutov Cassegrain telescope and attach the camera via a T-ring Nikon adapter for prime-focus DSLR photos. Ie the telescope is actually the camera lens. Excellent photos of moon including recent lunar eclipse.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Kanwal Purewal

Kanwal PurewalGOLD Coast

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Bought it in February, quite a decent nikon camera at decent price. Good battery life, 2 different lenses comes with it. Better than canon for sure. Potrait lense is remarkably well. Easy to use, connect via wifi or Bluetooth to android devices or ios devices. Deep focused lenses. 4 star in my view.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Jagu06

Jagu06Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for Beginners - Highly Recommended

published

Bought this camera in October at Jbhifi. (Got a $100 store credit as Bonus).
A great camera for beginners. Excellent quality images. Light weight. Good Battery.
Happy with the product and yes I recommend this product for the starters.
In my opinion Nikon D3400 is pretty good when compared with other mirror less cameras at this price point.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

RWA

RWAPerth

  • Verified purchase

Great image quality. Super lightweight.

published

My new favourite dslr. As good as my D7200 and nearly half the weight. Perfect for travelling, no compromise on iq. Full control over imaging and basic in camera RAW manipulation. Purchased at JB hifi. Incredible vfm and 100 buck store card with purchase. There is no need to go mirror less with cameras like this around and at considerably less cost.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Dave F

Dave FSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good lightweight camera

published

This is my third dslr.
I love the feel of this thing. It's not too heavy. The processor seems quick enough. I spoke with a photography guru that advised this is really the highest camera I need. Spend more money and the more expensive cameras are too high in resolution. Plus the weigh heaps more.
The snap dragon sending photos to my phone actually works really well.
Love it

Date PurchasedOct 2017

AmieJK

AmieJKSouth Australia

  • 8 reviews

The perfect Nikon for the beginner or advanced

published

I'd been wanting a Nikon since I was a young photographer with a black and white film camera. I bought this Nikon with the 18-55mm lens kit from JB HiFI and I've been so impressed with the functionality, ease of use and high quality photos. You can sync the camera with SnapBridge, which downloads your photos automatically to the app, then allows editing. The menu functions are clear and you can choose to be walked through steps or go it alone. I absolutely love this camera, so glad I took the plunge!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
christine_e

christine_e

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good value camera for beginners

published

I bought this 24 megapixel camera with a 18-55mm lens kit included at a very good price on sale at Good Guys, it is very easy to use and produces great quality photos. I have since purchased a 55-200mm lens which allows me to zoom in and take great pics. There is an app (SnapBridge) which you can install on your smartphone and the camera can send pics to your phone via bluetooth, this is great if you want to upload a photo to facebook right away. I am very happy with my purchase.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Shah

Shahmelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Good for beginners

published

It's a very good DSLR for starters. I have got it almost brand new (in the sealed pack) and using since 4 months. Pretty reliable had no issue so far. Shutter speed is fairly enough. The really high range of iso. Guide section is really easy to use and helpful. Battery lasts for days (at least for me) Night shots are ok, not good.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Trisha

TrishaSydney

  • 3 reviews

Wonderful camera

published

I love this camera. The picture quality is outstanding and it is just so easy to use.
It makes me feel like a professional. The two lenses give me so much scope for all kinds of scenarios. I am looking forward to buying some filters and really experiment. I couldn't be happier.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Elz

ElzTweed heads

  • 9 reviews

Great for Newy With Dslr

published

It's my new camera Dslr Nikon 3400 its pixel is 20 its lens is 55mm beautiful piece with a very reasonable price at Jb-hifi bought Christmas 2016. Still the price today did not gone down which means the quality is good...I have that its not the body if camera thats its important it's the lense so this baby can be upgraded to next lense available. Just keep practising if love photography. Cheers!

Date PurchasedDec 2016

teo

teoBundoora

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good For starters

published

Its a very good Dslr for starters. I have got it almost brand new (in sealed pack) and using since 4 months. Pretty reliable had no issue so far. Shutter speed is fairly enough. Really high range of iso. Guide section is really easy to use and helpful. Battery lasts for days (at least for me) Night shots are ok not good. If you buy it for snapbridge.. dont! its horrible to connect. you cant view what you are capturing or use remote control via your smart device like in gopro.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Questions & Answers

Anne H

Anne Hasked

Does this have a sensor cleaning action and does it need a special lens for it to work?

2 answers
Jim
Jim

The D3400 does not have automatic sensor cleaning like the more expensive Nikon DSLR models. But sensors can be cleaned manually using an air bulb or lens brush using the 'lock up mirror for cleaning' option. You actually clean the protective film which covers the sensor, not the sensor itself, so you cannot damage the sensor. You can check for sensor dust by taking a hi-res photo of a completely white background ( eg a sheet of paper). Sensor dust is indicated by spots in the photo. Don't waste time cleaning if you don't see any spots. Of course prevention is better than cure so always ensure you have a lens or lens cover in place to prevent dust from entering, and avoid changing lenses in a dusty environment,

No it's not having these facilities.


Get an answer from our members and Nikon representatives

Details

CategoryDSLR Cameras
Price (RRP) $909
NFCNo
GPSNo
Megapixels24.2
Video QualityFull HD
Built-In FlashYes
Height98mm
Width124mm
Depth75mm
Weight0.445g
Wi-FiNo

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 9322250007679
  • MPN: KHNIKD340018300TW

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.