2 photos
Nissan Maxima

Nissan Maxima

J32, J31, A33 (See All)
4.3 from 55 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Nissan

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (6)
  • Braking
    4.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (6)
  • Handling
    4.0 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (6)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (6)
  • Features
    4.3 (6)
Previous
Next
Raymond
RaymondSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Everlasting

published

Purchased in May 2011 at Nissan Moorooka for $30,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rodney
Rodney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable

published

Major power steering issues, both pump and high pressure hose replaced multiple times.
1 tank of E10 (91 octane) the engine started knocking, continues to knock to this day. Unreliable.

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

My first car! It's been a privilege driving this.

published

Purchased for $39,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aussie Khan
Aussie KhanCanberra Central 2601, ACT
  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best under rated car in australia .......Wish they can bring them back :(

published

Simply in love with this beast looking car ....
Owed it for almost 3 years and she never miss any beat .............
3.5 sts has all the bells and whistle that you will never find in camry or any of its contender ................
I just only wish they can bring them back x

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Nissan Maxima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best car I have ever owned!!!

published

Purchased in December 2014 for $16,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Danny H
Danny HAmaroo 2914, ACT
  • 19 reviews
  • 17 likes

Seems to go well on Shell 98

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Lennock Motors for $10,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
WryCuda
WryCudaCairns

Best car that l've owned.

published
Badge250 ST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Sam S
Sam SAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect

published

That's an amazing car, very smooth and reliable, leather interior made it very luxury and comfortable, the weakness point is dosen't have LCD and GPS, I have been using this car for less than 1 year and i never had any issues with that, in average I am really happy with this car

Badge250 ST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark1
Mark1Perth
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

What a pleasant surprise!

published
Badge250 ST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Nissan Maxima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nerd
NerdMid North Coast, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great car - but high cost serviicing

published
Badge250 ST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worthless warranty

published

I bought a new Patrol and after 30K the clutch gave up the ghost. Even though under warranty with a perfect service record, Nissan would not honour the warranty and quoted some small print in the warranty document. The clutch supposedly was a "spinning part". So yes, Nissan has a very bad record when it comes to honouring warranties!

BadgeST
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthew39
Matthew39AU
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Super reliable, bulletproof engine & transmission. Recommended!

published
BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sedans

Find out how Nissan Maxima compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

3.5 ST-S Best car. Very reliable and sturdy

published

I can't stress enough how reliable this car is. I have been having it for almost 7 years. I have never had a drama with this car.
It's a pitty Nissan has discontinued it.
I have only changed oil, filter and tyres in this car and till today it's costed me nothing more.

Badge350 ST-S
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Super reliable......up to 220,000 klm

published
BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2006
cim
cim

Heads-up,
The electrical issues are fixed........one day, they all started to work.
Since reading all the other problems or repairs people have had with their cars and still giving 4 stars, I now should upgrade my to 4.5\5.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hendo900
Hendo900Canberra
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

A very competent vehicle with some quirky feature choices

published
Badge350 Ti
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

dh641980
dh641980asked
Maxima J32 (2009-2013)

2009 maxima TI J32 Console illumination problem. Lights come & go off & on

No answers
dh641980
dh641980asked
Maxima J32 (2009-2013)

J32 cosole ilumination problem

No answers
Jeff
Jeffasked
Maxima J31 (2003-2009)

Where do you find the compliance plate for a 2006/7 maxima

1 answer
Rodney
Rodney

My 05 Maxima has two compliance plates. The one with all the main info is under the carpet underneath the front of the driver's seat. There is another one in the boot on the floor left of the tyre well.

See all Nissan Maxima questions

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

Nissan Maxima

Details

Compare all 3 Nissan Maxima
CategorySedansSedansSedans
Starting Price $47,290.00$40,990.00$47,990.00
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Automatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption10.2 L/100km10.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 70 L70 L70 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power185kW @ 6000rpm170kW @ 5600rpm157kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque326Nm @ 4400rpm333Nm @ 2800rpm291Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2009Jan 2003Jan 1999
Discontinuation dateDec 2013Dec 2009Dec 2003
Compare all 3 Nissan Maxima

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.