??!
2 photos
Nissan Navara D22

Nissan Navara D22 (1997-2014) (page 2 of 4)

3.7 from 75 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.0 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (7)
  • Handling
    3.7 (7)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (4)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (7)
  • Features
    3.4 (5)
Previous
Next

Good car nut gone through 3 gear boxes

published

Hey i got a navara str 2006 with 186000km on it been through 3 gear boxes.1st one at 120000km the next 1 did bout 30000km then blew 4th and 5th gear put a brand new 1 in it then bang only did 22700km just out of warranty mechanic said it had no oil in it but transfer case was over flowing with oil how does that happen

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2006
Drive4WD
Moj

MojNsw, 2027

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great truck

published

I've got a 2009 STR with 150k stock except for suspension. This is the best car I've ever owned. Apart from tyres and oil, the car is original. The Nissan service department told me to think about brake change at 30k service, I said I'll wait. It's now past 150k and brakes are still fine! I do oil change myself now and have never had an issue. The only hiccups I've had is with limp mode, was about to change scv but instead have added fuel additive that's fixed issue.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2009
Drive4WD

Great all round ute

published

Awesome truck. Owned since new 2012 on and off road very reliable. Get about 750-800km a tank on the highway. The turning circle is not great but it's not supposed to be a Barina. The buttons on the radio have broken off and are hard to replace as Nissan don't sell them, also I was told it's common. The cup holders are in an awkward position but you get used to it, but these are minor factors overall.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Swanny

published

Had my 3.0 ltr 2005 duel cab since new. Put a clutch in 12 months ago. Other than that normal servicing did 375000 and was still going strong until i hit a giant skippy at 120k. That wrote him off. Cant fault it was best vehicle i ever owned. Did central aust 4 times sand driving and half a dozen tripes to tassy. Towed sunken barges out of waterways. And boats etc. i luckily fount another one with only 160 k on it so be good for another 300k

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2006
Johno

JohnoParkes nsw 2870

At top of ute build

published

My 98 navara 3.2 non turbo. has 325000 on it. 1 replaced starter. 2 tailshaft Centre mounts. 2sets front brake pads. 2nd the other day. Used for work in an underground mine for 8 years. No rust . Still has the best clutch gearbox etc out of any, and many, utes I've driven in 40 years. Made by nissan before the cut costs sacrifice quality all makers were forced into. 100 out of 100 in my book.

BadgeDX
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.2L Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2003
Drive4WD

Massive Injector Issues!!!

published

Nissan's customer service is absolutely appalling! About 2 months ago our car started making a funny noise, after having to get our car (which has done 40,000kms) towed and looked at with Westpoint at our expense they came back saying it was injector issues and possibly even more.

To this day I have still not heard back from Nissan Australia themselves after they denied to assist with good will! What does it say about their cars if at 40,000kms you have injector issues and what does it say about their customer service they don't even respond!!!

Never again will I buy a Nissan and I encourage everyone to do their research on Nissan 4WD before purchasing.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013

Love my Nissan Navara

published

My 2005 D22 has done 409,000kms so far and still going strong. About 250,000 of these were towing 2 tonne! It's done off-road snow and beach. Never skipped a beat. The only thing other than normal glow plugs, suspension etc that has been replaced was a starter motor at 280,000 and a radiator at 380,000 ! That's it. It's tough and reliable and I'm really not looking forward to replacing it. Purchased new so I'm quite attached. I hope it goes past 500,000 km ! Ive owned all types of vehicles and this is by far the best car I've ever owned.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2005

D22 Nissan Navara 2005

published

It's not a bad car to drive except for no leg room in the back for anyone over 15 yrs old and the creek in the front end doing u turns or hard left or right hand down.the air conditioner is cold. But it's got no room under the car to change the oil

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.3L V6 Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
David chinchilla

David chinchillaChinchilla qld 4413

Unsafe vehicle only 2 and 1/2 years old

published

This vehicle is off the road as found cracking around tub and fuel filler at 95000kms cracking on 2 body mounts and now cracking in chassis near front front suspension at 130000kms bitumen and graded dirt roads now put 10 yr old over 300 000km rodeo back on the job more reliable was used on same roads for over 8 years!!!!

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love this vehicle !!!

published

My 2006 d22 3ltr turbo diesel has been in the same family since new ( I bought it off my brother 8 yrs ago ) now has 200,000 plus kms on it and never missed a beat. The only time it has had a problem was because of fuel filter. Considering the price difference between my str and a hilux....I'd chose a str any day....hilux-overpriced-overrated. I get 750km per tank easy. It is I bit slow on the take off....but as long as I know it's gonna take me where I want to go...I can't complain... Love this vehicle.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2008
Drive4WD

Very happy with my str

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Nissan Rust Bucket

published

I have no problems with my D22 it's exactly as I thought it would be BUT I am 6 weeks out of warranty and found a decent rust bubble just above the drivers side front door. The hole is all the way through and there is a little more bubbling happening just below. The Nissan dealer put through a good will claim but Nissan Australia declined the next day and will not come into any claim for paintwork or rust.
It's my first Nissan in 40 years of driving and my last. I have never had a car rust like this.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Bjw

BjwFrankston

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Flawed 3ltr turbo diesel

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Can't fault the d22

published

I had a 2007 3.3 litre v6 and would not have got rid if it wasn't for rising petrol costs, had it until 2015 and it never missed a beat. Traded that for a 2014 turbo diesel Str, apart from a slow pick up I can't fault it, it does everything as well as the high price ticket Utes, without leaving me financially wounded, great value for money, I will keep it for many years to come!

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

1999 17 years, still going at 467,000 ks on clock

published

Original motor, original clutch, original gas in air conditioning, still icey cold, original alternator , starter motor, water pump and power steering, has towed heavy weights on trayback and towed heavy loads on tandem trailers 90% of its life all around NSW, only had to replace hanger bearing, glow plugs and rebuild injectors and fuel pump, apart from usual shockies, still driving it, retiring to paddock use, on websites looking for another one, awesome 4x4 trayback

BadgeDX
CabSingle Cab
Engine Size3.2L Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara D22 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt

MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2012 Navara STR Outlaw

published

There is good and bad in every car. The amount built you could get a lemon. As for me, I didn't. Love this car. 4X4 that is hard to break. Will run it into the ground. But i can tell you biggest faults as a proud owner. Recommended tyre size puts your speedo out 10km/h at 100km/h. Step up a size. Yes for a tradie ute the suspension is way to soft. Drive across a bridge it bounces. That I upgraded. No child seat anchor points. Can get them fitted with a mod plate. Not much leg room in the back for adults. Three of the four faults can be fixed. Opinions on what car is better will go on and on. You decide.

BadgeST-R Special Edition
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

2005 Navara decision to keep

published

I have had my Navara for 7 years and it has been fantastic. I have replaced the clutch and upgraded the suspension. It's now needing another upgrade of both as I work out of it and carry heavy loads all day every day. On the weekends if I'm not camping with it I am towing my boat to Yorke Peninsula. I was going to upgrade to a new 4wd, but like many other people see better value in spending a bit on it to keep the old truck going strong. I'm even going to add an intercooler to give it a bit more power & torque.
Looking forward to another 150000 kms

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Love it.. Never ever gets bogged in sand

published
BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD

Turbo

published

I have a 04 d22 turbo diesel. Have had it in the family since 40,000ks now has 260,000 ks, never had a single problem with it. Serviced every 5000ks. Just like to know if anyone had any problems with there turbo and if I should update the turbo before it blows. Thanks

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
Pteropus

PteropusAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

I love my 2002 STR Navara

published

I bought this car new in 2002 and have never had a major problem. The only problem with the car in general is the turning circle is ridiculous. Difficult in shopping centre car parks. 250,000k and the only hiccup was the neutral position switch which I disconnected. If they made this car again with 2015 tech gear, I'd buy it again.

BadgeST-R
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Page 2 of 4
See all Nissan Navara reviews

Questions & Answers

Reg knee

Reg kneeasked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

Problems shifting gears between 2nd and 3rd gets stuck

No answers
MissyC

MissyCasked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

2005 D22 diesel nav indicators keep shorting out have checked and replaced fuses but keeps blowing them what else could it be?

No answers
Darren C

Darren Casked

Navara D22 (1997-2014)

Will a Holden Rodeo 1998 bench seat fit a Nissan Navarra 1998 D22? Or do you know of other seats that will bolt straight in?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 12 Nissan Navara
CategoryUtes
Starting Price A$33,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L
Max Power98kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque304Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateApr 1997
Discontinuation dateDec 2014
Replaced byNissan Navara NP300 / D23
Compare all 12 Nissan Navara

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.