??!
17 photos
Nissan Navara NP300 / D23

Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 (2015-2021)

Also referred to as: Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 2020 and Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 2022. 4x4, 4x2
3.4 from 186 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (5)
  • Features
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
Old John

Old JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nissan fobbing off older NP300's

published

Vehicle returned from dealer, no fault found for worn rack mount bushes, but only 200 metres on odometer after drop off to pick up! Obviously no road test. Told they have had 3 NP300's in from my wheel aligner, same fault. Okay, truck 6 weeks out of warranty, but problem not picked up at final service, not at 60,000 k's either yet. Vehicle serviced at required intervals by dealers, I change the oil every 5,000 k's & filter every 10k.
If they give the series 2, 3, & 4 5 year warranty, are they making money from the early model in repairs?
Regards, Old John.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
patrick

patrick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nissan could do better

published

50 kms . Rust on chassie welds . Nissan says this is acceptable. Thats their view , i have my view and this is not acceptable.
200kms - diff whining between 90-100 km p/h . Lets see what nissan dose about this.
1000kms, major oil leak out of front timing cover . Major job to repair. Is being repaired under warranty. Not happy having half of my front end removed to repair. Poor for a new car.
Nissans new vehicle letter states" we care".
Not with my dealer. They are full of crap!
This car has done 1300kms. Poor quality.
I am a long term nissan owner. Pintara in 87 . 3 x maximas. A32 , j31 , j32 . 2 x patrols gq and gu. First navara. Not happy.

Purchased in July 2019 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great ute

published

Ute is used for Commuting, family transport, sports, off-roading, etc.
Ute is used every day.
Two issues with this ute is its too long and doesn't fit in standard car parks and Nissan didn't add the digital radio.

Purchased in February 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Traded the BT50 for a NP300 Navara...

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
cocosongo

cocosongoAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Average ute

published

The Ute drives good, does lag at times but does the job. Service is pricier than some & dealer does skim on oils though; my brake fluid had been left low for three services despite me reminding them (Essendon Fields Nissan). Lacks cabin storage space, no ISO baby seat connection, windscreen washer is barely sufficient, really lags power when towing. Wouldn’t recommend but is a good budget Ute.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Mike

Mike

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My third Navara; it's a curious experience..

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Drive4WD

Oil Leaks.

published

1st leak was the Transfer Case , end result was replace half of the Transfer Case.
2nd leak was found during a service , where one of the rear axles was leaking.
3rd leak which i have just found is coming from the top of the motor somewhere. I had the Nissan car assit come out ( which is the racv ) and he thought it maybe the turbo.
It has done 70000 klm and has been a good ute , but back to Nissan we go .

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveFWD

It's ok built quality

published

I own chassis #443 geater core has leak at 40000km.
Reverse camera steering controls also stop working.
Exhaust gas temp sensor had to be replaced at 19000km
Powered seats does not work sometimes
7 at is very strong.

BadgeVL
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Dagobert

DagobertZwijndrecht

Very strange issue.

published

To my in Holland the Ute is generally OK. However, the vehicle gives an uncertain feeling in steering on highways, you have to make slight corrections all the time, you get used to it eventually till you drive another car, then you realise the difference. Further, something very odd, the machine is 13mm mm lower on the left side, measured at the front as well as the back. I measured other NP300 vehicle's of the same age, all had the same deviation. The dealer said it doesn't cause problems and it is within acceptable tolerance. Hahaha

BadgeNo idea
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JP1

JP1

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Vibration issue and Oil leak

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
gannon

gannongannon.dass18@gmail.com

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Suspected turbo oil leak

published

I recently noticed oil spots on my driveway and occasionally smelled burning oil and smoke out of the engine bay. Booked my navara for check up with the dealer. Hope everything goes Okay. Would write the review later after the dealer inspection. The ute has only done 15000k. The car has been serviced by the same dealer just 3 weeks ago.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Drive4WD

nice drive but thats all!!

published

Fuel consumption is why i bought it and its at least three litres out!!. Cant see over silly front wheel arches so useless for four wheel driving!!. Had to replace suspension after 40 thousand klms.side view mirrors cause biggest blind spot ever. Nissan say fuel is good. do the math! 62 liters gets only 550 klms. what crap

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Oil leak

published

I’ve been generally happy with my Navara and consider it a good tow vehicle.
Recently I’ve been noticing oil patches on our driveway and asked my son to park his old 4wd on the street thinking it was from that. Turns out all these oil patches are actually from the Navara, which has only done 27,000km. Seems this is fairly common with this model.
The seat foam has also squashed right down on the side.
After having a 3 litre Patrol self destruct at 140,000km I think I’ll steer clear of Nissan in the future.

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Goldy

Goldy

  • 2 reviews

Plenty of aftermarket Parts

published

So many aftermarket parts for np300 to choose from... pity the steering on the car and shortness of 1st gear (manual) in the D23 let it down. Nice ride in suspension though. Bit basic inside compared with other utes in the market. Thats probably why their are so many aftermarket options ! Capable 4wd though

BadgeST
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Drive4WD
Norm

NormMorisset

Right Hand Rear Axle seal leak

published

I have had my NP300 STX since December 2015. Great car but sagy rear end when towing my caravan.I fitted air bags which fixed this problem. In June 2017 the car went in to my Nissan dealer to get the RH rear axle seal fixed & the brakes replaced due to the oil on the brake shoes, then again 1 month in July then once again in November. The car is again leaking for the 4th time and is going back to Nissan on 30th of Janurary 2018 for the 4th time??? I don't understand how Nissan can let this continually happen, what do I have to do just to get my car fixed they just seem to not give rats.I find it very disappointing concidering they make such a nice car.
Anyone got the answer
Cheers Norm

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 / D23 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rs2000

rs2000

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

This ticking noise is intolerable .

published
BadgeSL
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Drive4WD
2 comments
rs2000
rs2000
rs2000
rs2000
Cmac

Cmac

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A reasonable car. But feeling dated

published

I've done 20,000 ks in 7 months in my STX. And I gave come to the conclusions of.
. Great on fuel. Averaging around 8.3 lph
. Mines a 7 speed auto, and the Transmision is nice for a big car.
. The engine lacks torque compared to the Colorado ltz I had, but it is alittle more refined. Although I'd still rather the Colorados engine.
. The entertainment system including the Satnav is absolutely rubbish in todays day and age.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Alan

AlanVictoria, 3677

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Fuel Economy.

published

Great fuel economy as long as you are not towing
Great interior features every thing you need
Rides well drives well
Tyres are not good yokohama done 46000km and they are shot
Over all pretty happy with suv
Compare to my old Colorado the nissan is much much better suv

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

reliable

published
BadgeRX
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.5L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Drive4WD

Noise in back end

published

Hi,got my np300 ST man in February and just had its 10000 km service.it has a noise in the rear end in gear shifts which to me sounds like excess diff back lash.Dealer said its normal ! Has anyone had the same in their manual ?my be normal in a model T,but not in a 2017 built

BadgeST
CabKing Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all Nissan Navara reviews

Questions & Answers

Greg

Gregasked

Navara NP300 / D23 (2015-2021)

Hi. I have a new 2020 Navara ST D23 series 4. There is no battery sense module on the negative terminal and I am wondering if the vehicle has a smart or variable voltage alternator. I am fitting a dc2dc charger to a hybrid camper I’ll be towing and it will make a difference when installing an Anderson plug

No answers
Cozza

Cozzaasked

Navara NP300 / D23 (2015-2021)

2017 np300 cruise control not working ?
also shutting left back door and had a water like sound is this normal thinking it was fuel tank

No answers
Simone H.

Simone H.asked

Navara NP300 / D23 (2015-2021)

Will a tub and canopy off a 2015 np300 fit on a 2016 body

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 12 Nissan Navara
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $40,490$39,990$39,390$47,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel16" Alloy16" Steel18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 5444
Seats 2 to 44 to 554 to 5
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km7 L/100km7 L/100km7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3L Turbo-Diesel4 Cylinder 2.3L Twin Turbo-Diesel4 Cylinder 2.3L Twin Turbo-Diesel4 Cylinder 2.3L Twin Turbo-Diesel
Max Power120kW @ 3750rpm140kW @ 3750rpm140kW @ 3750rpm140kW @ 3750rpm
Max Torque403Nm @ 1500-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Tray TypeCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpPick UpPick Up
Cab Options Dual, Extra and SingleDual and ExtraDualDual and Extra
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Payload1,279 kg995 kg979 kg971 kg
Ground Clearance219 mm226 mm226 mm228 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2015May 2015May 2015May 2015
Compare all 12 Nissan Navara

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.