2 photos
Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X

Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X (2015-2021) (page 2 of 3)

Also referred to as: Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X 2020 and Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X 2022.
3.3 from 63 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Utes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Nissan? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Michael
Michael
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never buy another Nissan period. Oil leak after 1000 km service ...Ticking sound when accelerating

published

Owe Nissan D40 before beautiful car doing 230000 km not a lot of problems.
Decide to upgrade to Np 300, beautiful interior but the drive is terrible.. Ticking sound when accelerating in gear 1 and 2 with loss of power. Oil started leaking after 1000km services. Took it back but oil leak again after 2 days then they change a holes and that fix the problems. Mention to them about the Ticking sound and a drumming noise from the back, was told no fault and normal Diesel engine sound. Very disappointed with Nissan.
Will never buy another Nissan period.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Drive4WD
Norm
NormMorisset

Right Hand Rear Axle seal leak

published

I have had my NP300 STX since December 2015. Great car but sagy rear end when towing my caravan.I fitted air bags which fixed this problem. In June 2017 the car went in to my Nissan dealer to get the RH rear axle seal fixed & the brakes replaced due to the oil on the brake shoes, then again 1 month in July then once again in November. The car is again leaking for the 4th time and is going back to Nissan on 30th of Janurary 2018 for the 4th time??? I don't understand how Nissan can let this continually happen, what do I have to do just to get my car fixed they just seem to not give rats.I find it very disappointing concidering they make such a nice car.
Anyone got the answer
Cheers Norm

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Cmac
Cmac
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

A reasonable car. But feeling dated

published

I've done 20,000 ks in 7 months in my STX. And I gave come to the conclusions of.
. Great on fuel. Averaging around 8.3 lph
. Mines a 7 speed auto, and the Transmision is nice for a big car.
. The engine lacks torque compared to the Colorado ltz I had, but it is alittle more refined. Although I'd still rather the Colorados engine.
. The entertainment system including the Satnav is absolutely rubbish in todays day and age.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jez
JezMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

The right ute for me

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
milan
milan
  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

Absolute rubbish.

published

Have have had so many problems starting with rear Main seal.. navigator and cluster turning of and freezing up and nissan will not help me after taking it back to a dealer suttons chullora which has the worst service department. Wouldnt ever buy a nissan again.. ford service is no1 compared to nissan.. Shame on you nissan and you don't give a crap.. Class action needs to start.

BadgeST-X
CabKing Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Drive4WD

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Alan
AlanVictoria, 3677
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Fuel Economy.

published

Great fuel economy as long as you are not towing
Great interior features every thing you need
Rides well drives well
Tyres are not good yokohama done 46000km and they are shot
Over all pretty happy with suv
Compare to my old Colorado the nissan is much much better suv

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Wont ever buy another nissan!

published

The interior is nice and comfortable and looks like a nice ute, but that is where it stops. Rear main seal went at 19000km. fuel economy isnt as great as advertised. Driver seat back keeps dropping back. 2 12v plugs have not been working. Head unit screen sometimes doesnt come on and the nav is all out of whack. I wouldnt recommend this car to anyone.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size3.0L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Drive4WD
Mike
MikeMalanda
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

16 months on

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Drive4WD
Daniel
DanielBrisbane
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car and great service

published

I tested all the competing utes and drive a new Hilux ute for work. This is a great car - and super convenient for carrying the kids stuff around.
During my first 6 months I had some minor gremlins - including the fuel filler nozzle and the lining on the drop down tailgate. Both times - easily and quickly repaired by Nissan

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Practical car, has had some floors and MAJOR dealer issues

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Rebecca B
Rebecca B
  • 5 reviews

Great Car

published

My Partner has had issues with cars previously and we did a lot of research into what car we would get him to prevent this from happening in the future!

after all out research we decided that we would go with the Nissans Nav, and we would never look back !! we both love how it drives. the car is extremely easy to drive and smooth not only for the driver but for the passenger aswell.

it is a very spacious cab and great inclusions, best we could find in a ute! it has all the nice inclusions of a luxury car. Leather and heated seats, sun roof, electric windows and push start.

Great fuel economy aswell!!

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Same faults as it seems everyone with an NP300 has

published

The same as most I love the drive of the NP300, however I can't understand why the same faults keep appearing, If a fault occurs fix it and make changes to the next batch of cars. It seems Nissan do not give a toss and keep sending out with faults. I have had the oil leak on inter-cooler pipe, now I have the leak in the tub coming from underneath, the lack of inner guard and the lack of proper sealing. This is the fault that I find inexcusable as these vehicles are sold as a lifestyle vehicle which means most will fit canopies, myself an ARB Tango hard lid. What you don't expect is to get water in from underneath. This is my first Nissan and will be my one and only.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Drive4WD
Rich
Rich
Vorna
VornaJeparit
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

With a bit more grunt-perfection

published

Love the Ute and more so the feel of the interior. Mine is an stx bought new tapped with how the Ute drives and travels however could use a bit more oomph from standing start. Nissan fuel consumption is complete and utter crap. I live in the country and all my ks are country me where I set cruise at 100 and leave it. I get 9.5 ltrs per hundred. Not the 6.5 claimed by Nissan. with 7 gears that could be better. Other than that when the vehicle is parked it makes a what sounds like a fuel pump noise that lasts for about 5 sec. But does this roughly every 15-20 minutes for the duration of it being parked. Both locked and unlocked. Otherwise very happy with the Ute. I actually love it so far. And I can be pretty picky...

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Drive4WD

Couple of glitches but overall Good car.

published

Driving and power of the twin turbo engine are amazing.
Handling is very good
Nice and comfortable ute.
Very dissapointed that Nissan missed putting ambient temperature sensor in the car, yet did not hear any excuses for that glitch.
Stoping and braking there is a noise coming from the back of the ute, nissan tells me it is gear box kicking in neutral and it is very noisy.
Very good on fuel but fuel gauge is not very accurate.
Overall its good reliable car with couple of glitches

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD

Not good

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Utes

Find out how Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hornet
HornetSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent But has backward steps . .

published

Excellent Drive, our upgrade from the ST to the ST-X spending almost $20,000 more only to find NISSAN have removed the exterior temp display, removed one of the glove boxes, shrunk the size of the sunglasses holder, removed most of the tie down strap points & channels in the tub, changed the split rear seat to a single fold up, removed the ability to type Lat and Longitude co ordinates directly into the GPS. No DVD player.

Paint finish appears better, a thicker layer, time will tell.

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Drive4WD
mick o
mick oScone n.s.w

not a tow ute at all

published

this is a nice ute to drive as a get about but the rear end is not up to or even close to a 3.5 ton tow ute it has had more problems than I wish to put down with the electrics had to be towed away today as the key fault stops it no back up to start manually and very little help from dealer we have our own tractor dealership and if we did this to our customers we would not have many we have Toyotas and VW utes with more KS and no problems as yet we would give it a 9 out of 10 for the options as std but no way will we buy a Nissan again

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Ed M
Ed Mclearview 5085

Sat Navigation useless

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Drive4WD
Johnny H
Johnny HCanberra
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent family dual cab with some minor faults

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Rocky 2228
Rocky 2228SYDNEY
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great quality and features for a ute

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Drive4WD

Oil leak

published

Hi just bought a brand new NP300 dual cab and it has 400kms on it. It's been back 3 times for an oil leak and Nissan are now pulling the turbo apart! Anyone else have the same problem ? We just spent a fortune on a new bull bar, lift kit , mag wheels ect

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
David
DavidCastlereagh

Lemon of a car

published

Have bad vibration thru the car at 80km/h and 100-110km/h replaced tires as they advised the toyo tires were claimed heavy and out still have vibration heavily took back to nissan they advised no streets around that can do over 80km and said the roads arent great dont buy a nissan i wont

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
David
David

I just replaced the Toyo tires with continental contact 6 and much of the vibrations have gone

Old John
Old JohnAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Bad taste

published
BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Drive4WD
Old John
Old John
Andy
Andy
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Massive upgrade from D40

published

Hello all, My purchase (NP 300 2016) STX.
Well this is my third Navara...Brilliant car to drive, very smooth ride compared to D40, Alot more bells/whistles.
My opinion on it...But superficial...
1. Still need to get onto keeping the power on after engine is off, to close elec windows.
2.Over head sunglass pocket to small...can not fit sunglass's in as fit easy in D40.
3. After lifting rear seat.. the floor is not flat like D40... this was very handy for tools etc.
4. Bad large horn area pad...as when turning you honk the horn!!...Bad design.
Things I love that they did...
1. Massive difference in the weight of the tailgate...Yeah...Easy loading everytime.
2. Black rims..as does not show brake dust.
3. Loving the car!

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Drive4WD
ben
benjilliby
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

oil weep

published

I love the car this np300 have a 22ft Jayco Heritage 2.5ton & it tows effortlessly, just had 10000 klm oil change don't iike 20000 klm to long I think, my guy at ultra tune tells me I have an oil weep from the rear main any one else come across this, other little issues seem to be common with fuel & so on but all in all I like this vehicle

BadgeST-X
CabDual Cab
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Drive4WD
ben
ben

suggest you have a look yourselves as it is just a weep if we ask the dealer might just wipe it clean & say nothing to worry about.
cheers Ben

Page 2 of 3
See all Nissan Navara reviews

Questions & Answers

Deb J.
Deb J.asked
Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X (2015-2021)

I have the series 2 STX but it has never done a burn that I know of and the has never been a light come on my dash. My daily drive consists of 20klm each mostly 80klm/hr zones

1 answer
TerryMac
TerryMac

Hi Deb J.
I'm not a mechanic simply an owner of a Nissan dual cab utility. I believe that if you're doing a daily commute of 20km there and 20 km back then that is enough to activate your diesel particulate filter into doing its controlled 'burn-off'(clean) routine when it is required or dictated rather by your engine computer module. I do a run on the highway for about 20-30 km one way then turn around and return for every tank fill which is about 560-600 km of suburban (short-hop) driving to the local shops and my DPF is fine - according to my service technician. You are quite right to pay close attention to that as DPF problems can be expensive to rectify. Your local mechanic/technician can plug in and look at your engine computer DPF stats and tell you if your DPF is clogged or not. When you next get your car serviced write down the things you would like to find out about and tape that to the dash (ie: Please check status of DPF). Cheers Terry Mac.

See all Nissan Navara questions

Get an answer from our members

Nissan Navara NP300 4x4 ST-X (2015-2021)

Details

Compare all 11 Nissan Navara
CategoryUtes
Starting Price $47,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors 4
Seats 4 to 5
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3L Twin Turbo-Diesel
Max Power140kW @ 3750rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Tray TypePick Up
Cab Options Dual and Extra
Maximum Payload971 kg
Ground Clearance228 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance228 mm
Release dateMay 2015
Compare all 11 Nissan Navara
Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next
See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.