??!
2 photos
Nissan Pathfinder R51

Nissan Pathfinder R51 (2005-2012)

3.4 from 62 reviews

Reviews

3.4

62 reviews
5
(18)
4
(18)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Goodie

GoodieHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Poor build quality, rubbish engine

published

Purchased in January 2019 for A$7,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Teflon

TeflonManjimup

Still going the distance

published

I've had my 2005 since new, now close to 300,000km only problem was replace injectors at 140,000km due to poor fuel on Mitchell Plateau and a clutch at 200,000km , but then I tow 2.2tonne off road trailer. It's been everywhere around and across Australia with no other issues. Fitted 2" lift kit and Polyair bags in rear coils and heavy duty sump guards underneath. Motor still as sweet as new. Towing 17L/100 (remember 2.2 Tonne towing) and 9L/100km not towing. Only fault is it is starting to rust around rear door

BadgeST
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2005
Anthony

AnthonyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish they still made these..

published

Best car I've owned so far. Long trips, short trips and towing are nothing for this car. Bought new in 2010 the ST A/T. Now with almost 200,000kms on the clock, we have struggled to find any car as robust as this, at a reasonable price. We've really had a good experience with this 4x4 compared, to three others we've owned.

BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder R51 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shotang

ShotangSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great car and 4x4

published
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
FocusFan

FocusFanSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car overall

published
BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Lareina

Lareina

  • 5 reviews

My family love it

published

I used to have a Toyota Highlander 2 years ago and decided to trade it because my family is growing. I went to dealer and first thing they showed me was the Nissan Pathfinder I felt in love with it and decided to to buy it. I will recommend this to a big family like mine

Badge28000
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
mig

migGreat Southern, WA

  • 7 reviews

I only wish I knew

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2008
Colin

ColinPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2012 Nissan Pathfinder Ti Very immpressive , so confortable , lovely to drive very economical for qu

published

Driving experience excellent, handles well, very little engine and wind noise a pleasure to drive.
The only dislike is the gauges and speedo are hard to see during the day with sun glasses on, night time very good, Dash board excellent, plenty of leg room, love the reversing camera and Hi Fi Sound system
Reliability excellent, running costs 9 to 10 litres per 100 kilometers range 750 until warning light comes, very economical for such a large vehicle,
Plenty of power and torque to tow my 2 tonne boat

BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
ryan

ryan

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Under-rated car

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder R51 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ConsumerNo1

ConsumerNo1South East Queensland, QLD

Reliable Trusted Friend

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2008

Avoid

published
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
NissanDetractor

NissanDetractorBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nissan Pathfinder

published

Great car for functionality, poor aftermarket service. Clutch is weak/inherent fault and the head unit shows continual faults (bluetooth works intermittently, can take up to 20 seconds for radio to change, CD player not working in 3rd unit installed). Drives nicely on long distances but the faults within would make me consider more carefully when making next new car purchase in 2017.

BadgeST
TransmissionManual
Fang

Fang

  • 5 reviews

Rubbish do not buy

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011

nissan pathfinder 2006 not suitable as 4WD

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2006

Love It

published

I point my machine in any direction and it just goes. I have had it up bush doing hills that my wife would get out and walk up because they were to steep but the finder just chews them up and with the right tyres (A/T) in red mud just loves it, and towing power is unbelievable. I live in the snowy mountains and I can not fault it.

BadgeTi
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Pathfinder R51 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

DONT BUY IT!!!!!!!

published
BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
tuerto
tuerto
tuerto
tuerto

Thanks God, got rid of the lemon!

Total disappointment!

published

We purchased a 2005 Nissan pathfinder STL SUV auto second hand with 100k and have clocked up an additional 130k. This car is in getting a new gearbox as I write. We have had issues after issues, both rear door handles have been replaced, radiator replaced, endless oil leaks, cracking interior, broken clip in the sunglasses component, shuddering, rattling rubbish of a car. If anyone was considering to buy one of these cars....DONT DO IT! You only have to read all the reviews and the majority of pathfinder owners have or will end up replacing the gearbox. Never purchasing a Nissan again!

BadgeST-L
TransmissionAutomatic

Great workhorse. Fantastic reliability.

published
BadgeST-L
Mike

MikeBrisbane

2005 STL

published

Purchased 2005 STL 2.5 litre Diesel still under extended warranty a few years ago. the only drama we had was assuming they were automatically geared up for towing, for caravan they are not. clutch plates needed replacing costing 2k and advised to get rear air bags to support rear weight.
But apart from that what a great vehicle!, the diesel is averaging 800 to 850 k per 65 litre tank, also being a 4 cyl rego is a lot cheaper
.recently spoke with previous owner who purchased 2009 fuel injected 3litre diesel and is getting less than 600. Hate the new shape too, the xtrail looks better.

People keep ripping off front door lever lock covers hot item as expensive to colour match and replace

BadgeST-L
Shel

ShelTownsville

What a joke!!

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeST-L
3 comments
darren
darren

Hi Shel. Can ask what year the car is. Was looking at the Jeep Grand Cherokee however the terrible reviews of customer service particularly have done the trick and have started to look at the new pathfinder

cheeseslicer
cheeseslicer
Shel
Shel

Hi Darren, the car is a 2008.If you haven't already purchased, can I recommend anything Toyota, ie Landcruiser/Prado. Goodluck!

Page 1 of 4
See all Nissan Pathfinder reviews

Questions & Answers

Gavin B.

Gavin B.asked

Pathfinder R51 (2005-2012)

Looking at purchasing a 2006 petrol Pathfinder. Is there any dramas with the petrol motor? And any other problems I should know about.

1 answer
dishpan hands
dishpan hands

Sorry, can’t answer your question as my pathfinder is not that old and mine is a hybrid. My car is nearly 5 years old and the only problem I have had was when we returned from holidays and my battery was flat, that affected the electronics a bit but it was still drivable and Nissan reset the problem free of charge.

Toni O.

Toni O.asked

Pathfinder R51 (2005-2012)

hi anyone had a problem of water gushing out the over flow?? replaced radiator, rad caps and thermostat.. its not really over heating any more but still water gushing out.. thought it was over flow from over filling but had it running for a while and no difference.. could it be water pump?

1 answer
Goodie
Goodie

Yep. Nearly always a cracked head. You can get the coolant tested in your radiator for exhaust gases, they overpressurise the exhaust system. Heaps of stuff on the net about it, especially under D40 Navara or YD25

crob1822

crob1822asked

Pathfinder R51 (2005-2012)

So my 2008, for some reason its a little bipolar with motor temperature. It randomly likes to get hot and dump antifreeze out the top of the overflow res. Replaced thermostat, new caps on the radiator and overflow res, flushed system. Anyone encounter this issue?

2 answers
Goodie
Goodie

Yes. Unfortunately it's the symptoms of a cracked head, they are famous for it.
You can get your fluid sampled in your rad to confirm. A head is about $1300 plus labpr if that's your only issue but they can crack cylinders too.
You could try a liquid head repair then drain aftet a month and replace with evans waterless coolant to reduce system pressure then drive it til it goes bang. Search d40 yd25 issues.

crob1822
crob1822

Thanks for the info, I actually had the head replaced the first time I had this issue. I couldn’t imagine that would be the cause again right? Had the liquids tested and they’re good. I’m at a loss at this point unless there might be something else?

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.