1 photo
Norton Anti-Virus

Norton Anti-Virus

1.3 from 132 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Norton Anti-Virus? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Changed my Auto-Renew settings without my consent.

published

Watch out guys - long time Norton customer here. They changed my auto-renew settings from 'never renew' to automatically renew and they also removed the setting to turn it off without telling me. What's more, they also upgraded my account from 'Premium' to 'Delux' without my consent. Now I need to wait 64 minutes for live online support to get to my ticket.

Purchased in January 2014 for $149.99.

Incentivised Review No
Joseph
JosephSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Norton is rubbish I wont recommended to anyone

published

So hard to deal no customer service nearly impossible to download or renew new product keys In few words is a NIGHTMARE!!! It used to be good years ago when had a friendly interface with customer was easy to renew licenses U buy new licence and renew easy as that now you need to go around bushes need to put credit card details for auto renewal if not you cant do anything so annoying.

Purchased in August 2021 at Amazon for $60.00.

Incentivised Review No
Adam
AdamSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Norton forces enter credit card entry and was not easy to upgrade

published

My experience with norton was when I had a software key, it forced me to enter my credit card details. When removing my credit card details afterwards, it placed blockers and alerts to discourage this.

Also. I've spend countless hours on lifelock support since the system could not handle one expiring license and one new licence added to my account. Could not be resolved

Purchased in April 2021 at Amazon.

Incentivised Review No
Rajeshni P.
Rajeshni P.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Worst Customer Service

published

They are still able to get past expired credit cards to charge for auto renewals and they don't want to refund.

Very hard to contact. When contacted, the online chat guy says call this number because I cannot help, called, again the guy on the phone said my manager will call in 48 hours, but no response. Also I couldn't cancel my auto renewal because they website just does not allow - as soon as you click - it comes up with other things with no option to go past. The guy on the phone said he will do it for me but I logged into check after few days- it still was not cancelled.

Do not setup auto renewals. They certainly have deceptive & dodgy practices.

Purchased in June 2013 for $135.00.

Incentivised Review No
Products

Find out how Norton Anti-Virus compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fahd R.
Fahd R.New South Wales

This is the worst company you ever deal with

published

This is the worst company you ever deal with, they have ripped me off twice, first time when I linked my master card second time is when I bought download key and would not work, when chatting online the tech just hacked to my laptop and try to sell membership yearly to me instead of solving problem, when I said I think about it he just hanged up. Worst experience.

Purchased in August 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $69.00.

Incentivised Review No
Nicole
Nicole
  • 2 reviews

Kept charging my deceased husband and refuse to refund

published

My husband sadly died of cancer 3 years ago. I have just found out that NORTON has been auto deducting from a cancelled credit card for 3 years, and won't refund. Now I apparently owe the credit card bill because it was in my name as the primary card holder. NORTON are happy to charge deceased people and widows who are left as single mums. they wont refund me, even though the account is in his name

Purchased in August 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Sunny
SunnySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Norton set up their website in a way no one can contact them

published

I have purchased Norton's Lifelock (5 device, 2 years) in January. It came with $30 cashback promotion. I lodged the claim. They confirmed the claim with lodgement number and I haven't heard from them ever since. I tried to contact them in March but there's no contact I could find after searching for nearly an hour. I tried to contact them in separate occasions but never succeeded to contact them. I finally found an email contact today. I'm interested if they will reply. Time-waster for $30 but I just don't like dishonesty and how they make it difficult to contact them. I'm now looking how to NOT renew because Norton set it up with auto renew at the activation.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics.

Incentivised Review No
Linda
LindaGippsland, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Slows your computer down

published

Slows your computer down and corrupted some of my software from working properly. Be aware if cancelling your subscription 2 months into your 12 month subscription you will not receive any refund at all. Most dissatisfied!

Incentivised Review No
Michael
MichaelWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Failed to protect my pc

published

My pc was hacked yesterday and now I cannot access data on the drive. The hackers managed to turn off windows defender and Norton 360 was no protection. Do yourself a favour and consider any other security system.

Purchased in March 2021 for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
Products

Find out how Norton Anti-Virus compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mackay
MackayCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I have been with Norton Now I have changed

published

This is why I have changed I want the right to be able to pay when I want to Quote By subscribing, you are purchasing a recurring subscription which will automatically renew after the first term.

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for $49.00.

Incentivised Review No
Wm333
Wm333
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

don't waste your money

published

I have subscribed to Nortons for many, many years. I read a NY Times Wirecutter article stating that the Windows 10 Defender product is better and free and already on PCs and to save your money. I had recently renewed my Nortons subscription and rang and asked for a pro rata refund. They advised that their policy is they don't give refunds outside their grace period. I asked to speak to a supervisor. Not available.

Purchased in May 2021 for $79.99.

Incentivised Review No
Ben W
Ben WSouthwest, VIC
  • 4 reviews

Deceptive company

published

Self installed on my pc without permission. Must have piggybacked the install file on an update or something. Underhanded business practice, if their ethical compass says this is ok I'd hate to think what else theyre doing and I 100% would not trust their program to protect my computer.

Incentivised Review No
Products

Find out how Norton Anti-Virus compares to other Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pollster
PollsterSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

The worst customer service experience I have ever had!

published
Incentivised Review No

Fear mongering and constant upsell popups have gone spammy beyond imagination.

published

Paid for a full year's licence yet it pesters me with daily upsell advertising and slows my system down into the stone age. Intrusive fear mongering pop-ups like "Are you online? Your personal information could be exposed?" Really? Why did I buy Norton then? Oh, right, you want me to buy Norton VPN. Can't wait for my current subscription to end.

Purchased in August 2020 for $239.00.

Incentivised Review No

Worst customer support I have ever encountered.

published

Spoke to a technical support worker who wasted an hour of my time. Then assured me that I'd get a phone call in 24-48 hours from someone who can help. Phone call never came. I continued to have serious breaches to my computer's security. I called back after 3 days of not hearing anything. Spoke to same person who said there were no notes on my case file (her fault) and refused to transfer me to her supervisor. Said she'd arrange a 'callback' again for the manager and whoever can help me with my major security issues. Just pathetic. Waste of money.

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Marew
Marewasked

IS there a physical Australian postal address where I can send a complaint to Norton? A post office box would do.

No answers
Barko67
Barko67asked

I have recently installed Norton 360 Premier on an older laptop which previously had Trend micro (with no problems), but now every time I shut down or sleep the laptop on restarting or resuming the clock has reset to when the computer was initially set up in 2008. Does this happen to anyone else and how do I fix it?

1 answer
gerry161
gerry161

Most likely you CMOS battery is dead, that keeps your date and time and trickle charges when the PC/Laptop is switched on. However they do have a shelf life, 5 to 10 years. They can be bought on the internet but some are not easy to locate as they can be tucked away.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.