??!
1 photo
NRMA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

NRMA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

1.5 from 173 reviews

Reviews

(15)
(5)
(4)
(9)
(140)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (32) · 1-2 months (30) · 2-4 weeks (20) · <1 week (7) · 1-2 weeks (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (73) · No (33)
  • Transparency
    1.8 (98)
  • Customer Service
    1.7 (138)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (131)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Adeoye a.

Adeoye a.Moncrieff 2914, ACT

I will advice my friends and family to stay away from NRMA, poor service.

published

My car was damaged on Monday and till today which is Friday, nothing has been done, no response from the repairer, I kept calling everyday and nothing was done by both NRMA, instant windscreen and the so called repairer called Bears.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers

JE A.

JE A.Sydney, NSW

Never ever with NRMA again

published

My car was damaged the other day by a severe hail storm; I eventually logged a claim online as I waited for hours on hold trying to contact them by phone and even went to a branch and it has now been three days but no one has contacted me about my claim or to arrange an inspection to have my car fixed!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelHyundai Accent
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Geoff

Geoff

  • 3 reviews

Crooks

published

Every year my car goes down significantly in value and every year my premiums rise. I am also led to believe that my so called loyalty/multi policy discount is worth a third of the value of my car! Upon asking for an explanation was given the usual crap spiel about formulas being complicated implying the average public won’t understand. We do understand and know full well when we are being taken advantage of. NRMA has treated us terribly over the 12 years of our policies with them (including a nightmare process when our car was stolen). These guys are a disgrace and I urge all people seeking insurance to look elsewhere.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelFord Escape
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Utterly Disgusting

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

kezza

kezzaBrisbane

  • 11 reviews

Cannot contract them to make a claim

published

I have been trying to help my elderly mother make a claim for two days now. Online Service does not work. Have to wait for hours to contact them by phone. Rubbish service. Her house is exposed to the elements, her car has no windows and I cannot make contract to rectify the situation. Just crap NRMA!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMazda 2 DE
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
kezza
kezza

All good and well however your online services were all down as well. So people had no chance to lodge claims. You system failed and could not cope when it was needed the most.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

We are aware but unfortunately the system couldn't handle it. ~Natalie


Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Overpriced, so many options these days

published

Like every business in the industry the intent to help along with good services gets you in, however once they've made the money everything starts to drop, premiums are overpriced compared to others covering same thing. did a quick switch to another provider and saved 50 bux on my CTP and 200 bux on my comprehensive. NRMA has been good once upon a time but just too many options these days which are more affordable and if not better.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHonda Civic 9th Gen Ser II
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Tony, thanks for your feedback and review. We know we aren't the cheapest but we do pride ourselves on being a premium insurer with premium coverage. I do hope your new insurer is able to meet your needs. ~Natalie


Loyal NRMA customer but their service has dropped massively!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Camry
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Frank X.

Frank X.Sydney, NSW

NRMA claim is the worst service.

published

I had an accidence in August 2019 and made a claim. I have tried to call them for a few times. Everytime, they just lie to me and try to pursuade me to accept 50% responsibility with the other side of driver. I said no and they have left my case for 3months with no contact or investigation. I have drawn the photo, I have uploaded CCTV as evidence. I have another driver as my witness to support me. NRMA outsourced the claim department to Philippine , which has poor service quality and the staff doesn't understand Australian laws. Guys , don't use NRMA, they just charge us more with worse service .

Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Shane

ShaneSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Used to be good but not anymore

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMitsubishi Lancer CJ
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Liz

Liz

  • 2 reviews

Quality, trustworthy, efficient.

published

Never have an issue. Had two not at fault minor accidents thought out my 5 years. Never a drama with them, pass on my infomation and they handle it very well and no stress on my part with claim. Had an issue where my driver side door glass smashed. Made a claim amd it was dealt with within the hour. Always helpful and friendly, never had to pay excess, reduced my cost no drama when I move cities. Really enjoy NRMA for their quality and trust

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Liz, thanks for the positive review! It's great to hear we were there for you when you needed us the most. Stay safe on the roads. :) ~Natalie


LAKE

LAKERichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

NRMA - deliberately choose to ignore people to save a dollar

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Rodeo RA (2003-2008)
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Anne T

Anne TTasmania

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

I can't believe this process

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Corolla ZWE211R (Hatchback) Ascent Sport
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
See all answers
2 comments
Anne T
Anne T
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Jamie

JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Car Insurance: Doesn't contact you - dashcam footage the works no information.... hands you a bill!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Kluger GSU55R
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Jessica

Jessica

  • 11 reviews

Will take whatever they can from you

published

I claimed stating I wasn't sure who was at fault. I do not believe my claim was even reviewed before being chased for my excess. I was belittled for being in financial difficulty and eventually had to contact AFCA for assistance. IAG (parent company) stepped in and refunded my excess due to the mistakes made by the NRMA.
When I cancelled my policy because another insurer offered cover for nearly half the price, I was charged an extra month that I won't use due to having other cover plus cancellation fees.
So I had to pay over $100 for the privilege of leaving an insurer that can't process a claim properly.
Don't put yourself through the degradation my family experienced after making a claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMazda 3 BK
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Tom N

Tom NHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

NRMA Premium price for terrible service.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton ML (2006-2009)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
TShaw

TShawSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Loyalty Does Not Exist With This Company - Shop Around

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Worst insurer

published

I have car insurance with NRMA. After getting a police report, witness statement for my car's hit and run where I was not at fault NRMA still charging me the $850 excess when I tried to pick up the car today? I spent 30mins+ on waiting on your phone line today only to be hung up on by an employee of yours AND after multiple requests to speak to a manager I still wasn't put through to one.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Ruby

RubySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Not at fault claim

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHyundai Elantra
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
3 comments
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance
Ruby
Ruby

Hi Jono. That link is for a Facebook page so where do I put my claim details.

NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hey Ruby. There should be a button to message us using facebook messenger ~ Lizzy


Great. Except the authorised repairer broke my transmission and charged Extra

published

Policy seems to be good value. Did get a few request letters from the insurance co. of the person I crashed in to. NRMA should have dealt with that directly. It forced me to make extra phone calls when I had done everything on my end.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

AdrianW

AdrianWSydney, NSW

Lazy tax - big time

published

Just got renewals for my two vehicles, a 2010 Honda CRV and a 2012 Kia Grand Carnival. I am a good driver with a very limited claims history and no recent claims history. I live in a good suburb. One car is garaged and the other kept in the driveway. Both vehicles probably worth less than $10k. In each case the premium was over $1,000, even with "loyalty discounts". Very disappointing. Curiously, one of the vehicles, the older, has a higher premium than last year, the other a lower premium. I feel that I am being screwed for loyalty. I am not willing to pay over 10% of the value of an old vehicle for comprehensive insurance. I will be looking elsewhere. I will when renewals arrive be taking all my other insurances away from them too.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHonda CR-V
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Page 1 of 9

See all NRMA Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

MONTROSE

MONTROSEasked

We have had car insurance with NRMA Insurance for close to 40 years and only had one claim about 20 years ago when a car was stolen. We received full payment of the insurance valuation of the car within a week.

We currently have friends who are checking around different companies for car insurance renewal and they have asked the following question:
* Would they be covered for mice damage to a car?

As we have never had this problem, we are wondering if anyone can respond to this question.
Thanks.

2 answers
NRMA Insurance
Care TeamNRMA Insurance

Hi Montrose, thanks for the question! Genreally it is covered but it is a case by case scenario depending on how the damage was caused. Reckless damage to the vehicle which then results in mice damage may be an example of when we won't cover it or general wear and tear or maintenance issue. Hope this helps. ~Natalie

MONTROSE
MONTROSE

Thanks for the response.
Will pass this information on.


Get an answer from our members and NRMA Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.