2 photos
Oppo Reno Z

Oppo Reno Z (2019)

MPN: CPH1979
4.1 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mobile Phones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Oppo? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.7 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (23)
  • Software
    4.4 (24)
  • Battery Life
    4.5 (24)
  • Camera Quality
    4.7 (24)
  • Hardware
    4.6 (24)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Vish R
Vish RGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Great Phone for its price!

published

This phones a great value for money. Given its specs 8 GB RAM and 128 GB storage with dual LTE Sim and great front & back cameras, awesome screen quality, dual speakers, battery lasts easily more than a day, endless list, nothing ever went wrong, and it's a very reliable model. Also the ColorOS 11 with Android 11 update makes it feel like any other latest phone in the market. Worth the buy!

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for $430.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Emma F.
Emma F.Wimmera, VIC

In love

published

Wow just wow I can't believe just how amazing this phone is compared to the big brand phones I have had in the past. Not only is the screen quality amazing it is super fast with my numerous apps that I have. And the quality of photos is just as amazing.

Purchased in January 2020 at Optus.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jaspreet
JaspreetSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

I had to replace the phone twice as the wifi kept on dropping off. Oppo refused to take ownership.

published

Wifi was intermittent so replaced phone twice at Campbelltown store

Oppo advised to send phone in for repair which is not practical as I would be without a phone for applied 2 week's.

The purchase was no more than a month old.

Purchased in December 2020 for $500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Performance
2/5
Software
4/5
Battery Life
4/5
Camera Quality
2/5
Hardware
Law
LawSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Bang For Your Buck!

published

Had this phone for 19 months now and it's still just as snappy as when I first purchased it. Never heard of the brand before coming from previous iPhone and Samsung Galaxy generations.

The camera takes very nice photos and the colors are better than my previous phones. I'm also able to do some occasional reading on the phone due to the large screen. The battery life is great as I'm able to stream videos from it for prolonged periods of time.

This is the best value phone I've bought and will definitely be looking at Oppo for my next phone purchase.

Purchased in September 2019 for $401.59.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo Reno Z compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CamelGamer123
CamelGamer123South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Incredible Value

published

Purchased for $350.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Veronika
VeronikaCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 50 reviews
  • 6 likes

It does it’s job

published

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $499.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Tanya
TanyaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Great Phone at a Great Price

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $449.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider
Is OPPO a good brand? We compared the top rated OPPO phones to competitors to find out

If you’re in the market for a new smartphone, OPPO is a budget brand offering handsets with a sleek appearance and low price tag. But are OPPO phones good quality, compared to an Apple iPhone or Samsung Galaxy? We set out to answer the question by looking at the best Oppo handsets under $800.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.12 June 2020
is-oppo-a-good-brand-we-compared-the-best-rated-oppo-phones-to-competitors-to-find-out
Top-rated personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the top wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose great personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
top-rated-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next

Love everything about it except a few minor issues

published

Purchased in March 2020 at eBay for $357.50.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Daniel Ruben
Daniel RubenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Excellent value for a mid-range smart phone

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at Kogan.com for $499.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo Reno Z compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Varuna
Varuna
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Excellent value for money !

published

Fantastic phone with all the new high-end features, this is my 2nd OPPO branded phone. Very reliable product that you can always depend on. Long battery life with great quality camera.

Incentivised Review No
never_again12
never_again12Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value phone

published

I bought this phone on an Optus plan to replace my aging Samsung. I was supprised how good the specs were for the price. I'd say better than an iPhone 10 but just under iPhone 11. Plays games with high graphics and battery lasts for ages. The camera is great even in low light

Purchased in January 2020 at Optus.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sanjeev
SanjeevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified

Good for price

published

8GB RAM phone appears to be a good deal under $400. No problems so far. No hanging. Handles multi windows very well. Happy with my decision for not to spend over a grand for same technology. My wife has galaxy s10 but she loves my phone camera.

Purchased in March 2020 for $399.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo Reno Z compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wish lasted
Wish lastedQueensland
  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

Went from iPhone living on charge to a oppos best change I have done camera is good fast and the battery last way longer than. iPhone wish I changed long ago

Purchased in March 2020 for $399.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Performance
5/5
Software
5/5
Battery Life
4/5
Camera Quality
5/5
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

David
DavidMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

What's not to like

published

Just love the facial recognition - means you have that layer of protection but can immediately start using the phone when it sees your face. Sync setup gets better over time. Lots of features for the geeks, or simple operation if preferred. Great cameras. Great battery. Fast (8GB RAM!!). Comes with fitted screen protector and cover..can't argue with that. 128GB memory, Dual SIM, but no SD card slot. Not good that the cover obscures the beautiful purple case colour! But love it.

Purchased in March 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $399.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Gavin H.
Gavin H.Queensland

Great Phone, Great Price - Ripper Samsung Alternative

published

Purchased at Mobileciti Online store.

Incentivised Review No
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

goldcoastlady
goldcoastladyasked

Good morning how does this phone compare to the S9? Does it take a Nano Sim? thank you

2 answers
Paul H
Paul H

I didn’t have to get a special sim. It takes the regular standard sim. It also will take a second sim, which is ideal when travelling. I don’t know anything about the S9.

Joseph
Joseph

I have an S9 currently and am planning to get a Reno Z. S9 is a good phone, has waterproof, wireless charging and stunning screen. However, Reno Z has larger storage space (8GB/128GB), bigger screen and battery. And yes, it takes dual nano sim cards

Wamuyu G.
Wamuyu G.asked

Hey I have recently installed a new software update at the beginning of August 2020. Unfortunately the phone doesn't seem to pick up the correct time zone for my location. Is this a common issue and how can I get back to the previous version of the software? Thanks

No answers
Mann
Mannasked

Hi, I had this Oppo Reno Z for 10 months. It worked well except a few freezing here and there . After update to colorOS 7, it keeps on lagging like hell and can't change ringtone to ringtone from Files... Have contacted Oppo but they asked to go Factory reset. Not keen to do it. Any other solution please?

No answers
See all Oppo Reno Z (2019) questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $499.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight186 g
Colour / FinishAurora Purple/Jet Black
Dimensions 157.3 x 74.9 x 74.9 mm
Body MaterialGlass
Display
Pixel Density402 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution2340 x 1080 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetMediatek MT6779 Helio P90
Battery Size4,035 mAh
Internal Storage128 GB
Memory (RAM)8 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)48 MP (Wide), 5 MP Depth Sensor
Front Camera(s)32 MP Standard
Release dateMay 2019
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 6944284645288, 6944284645295 and 6944284645301
  • MPN: CPH1979

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.