2 photos
Oppo Reno Z

Oppo Reno Z (2019)

MPN: CPH1979
4.1 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mobile Phones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Oppo? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (5)
  • Software
    1.5 (6)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (7)
  • Camera Quality
    3.7 (7)
  • Hardware
    2.6 (7)
Previous
Next
Yak Ngi
Yak Ngi
  • 4 reviews

The first ever phone that was worst than the previous one!

published

Firstly, it really wants to be an iPhone, with it's ColorOS system, which I found to be extremely annoying. Then there's the ringer which keeps going to silent because you pick the phone and gently press the volume up and camera buttons simultaneously. The accessibility settings which keep changing for no reason? I would not accept a gift of an oppo phone!

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for $490.00.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Jaspreet
JaspreetSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

I had to replace the phone twice as the wifi kept on dropping off. Oppo refused to take ownership.

published

Wifi was intermittent so replaced phone twice at Campbelltown store

Oppo advised to send phone in for repair which is not practical as I would be without a phone for applied 2 week's.

The purchase was no more than a month old.

Purchased in December 2020 for $500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Performance
2/5
Software
4/5
Battery Life
4/5
Camera Quality
2/5
Hardware

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Leah R.
Leah R.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

7\10 being nice!!

published

beautiful vibrant shell that is instantly hidden by the dark coloured rubber protective cover provided with your phone. Hiding a big part of why I purchased the phone to begin with. It has a Few screen glitch's that often occur randomly, in the notification bar, e.G: over lapping of notifications making it impossible to read time at top or it shows icons as open when really shut, things like nfc, and headphones, ect...Great storage, easy to use generally speaking! Had a fantastic camera, for a short while, now takes a miserable one. My phone is about 4 months old never dropped or damaged but has more then it's share of faults.

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Performance
3/5
Software
4/5
Battery Life
2/5
Camera Quality
3/5
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ferrari1
Ferrari1Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Disappointed.

published

Only had phone for a few months and keeps freezing up on home screen..like 3 x before an app will open. Tried reboot but does not fix it. Very annoying.

Purchased in December 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Performance
1/5
Software
5/5
Battery Life
5/5
Camera Quality
1/5
Hardware
Mobile Phones

Find out how Oppo Reno Z compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil Aitch
Phil AitchMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews

Add a contact to the homepage? Can't be done!

published

Bought this phone after reading the great reviews. Tried to put my wife's phone as a contact on the homepage... shock horror, it can't be done. I contacted OPPO, and an embarrassed guy told me to install whatsapp to use a third party app to get around the inability to add contact to the homepage. I could do this on my 2015 Galaxy S5, but not on a 2020 'smartphone'? come on OPPO, try to join us in the 21st Century.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $449.00.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Elena
ElenaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Poor user interface and customisation on some basic features

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
1/5
sev01
sev01MELBOURNE
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Oppo is an absolute garbage and the worst service, if can be called service, out of all the phone companies

published

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $600.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
sev01
sev01

Related Articles

Previous
Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider
Is OPPO a good brand? We compared the top rated OPPO phones to competitors to find out

If you’re in the market for a new smartphone, OPPO is a budget brand offering handsets with a sleek appearance and low price tag. But are OPPO phones good quality, compared to an Apple iPhone or Samsung Galaxy? We set out to answer the question by looking at the best Oppo handsets under $800.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.12 June 2020
is-oppo-a-good-brand-we-compared-the-best-rated-oppo-phones-to-competitors-to-find-out
Top-rated personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the top wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose great personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
top-rated-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next

Questions & Answers

goldcoastlady
goldcoastladyasked

Good morning how does this phone compare to the S9? Does it take a Nano Sim? thank you

2 answers
Paul H
Paul H

I didn’t have to get a special sim. It takes the regular standard sim. It also will take a second sim, which is ideal when travelling. I don’t know anything about the S9.

Joseph
Joseph

I have an S9 currently and am planning to get a Reno Z. S9 is a good phone, has waterproof, wireless charging and stunning screen. However, Reno Z has larger storage space (8GB/128GB), bigger screen and battery. And yes, it takes dual nano sim cards

Wamuyu G.
Wamuyu G.asked

Hey I have recently installed a new software update at the beginning of August 2020. Unfortunately the phone doesn't seem to pick up the correct time zone for my location. Is this a common issue and how can I get back to the previous version of the software? Thanks

No answers
Mann
Mannasked

Hi, I had this Oppo Reno Z for 10 months. It worked well except a few freezing here and there . After update to colorOS 7, it keeps on lagging like hell and can't change ringtone to ringtone from Files... Have contacted Oppo but they asked to go Factory reset. Not keen to do it. Any other solution please?

No answers
See all Oppo Reno Z (2019) questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $499.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight186 g
Colour / FinishAurora Purple/Jet Black
Dimensions 157.3 x 74.9 x 74.9 mm
Body MaterialGlass
Display
Pixel Density402 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution2340 x 1080 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetMediatek MT6779 Helio P90
Battery Size4,035 mAh
Internal Storage128 GB
Memory (RAM)8 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)48 MP (Wide), 5 MP Depth Sensor
Front Camera(s)32 MP Standard
Release dateMay 2019
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 6944284645288, 6944284645295 and 6944284645301
  • MPN: CPH1979

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.