??!
5 photos
Optimum for Adult Dogs

Optimum for Adult Dogs

1.6 from 60 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.6 (22)
  • Pet's Life StageAdult (23) and Senior (6)
  • Side Effects Yes (25) · No (4)
  • Smell
    1.8 (14)
Previous
Next
Raylene B.

Raylene B.South West, QLD

Never again.

published

After giving my lil dog 3x feeds over 3 days of the wet food optimum ..lamb and rice, all she did was vommit severly , and had bad runny bowels.
She has just come good on boiled chicken, never evet again will i buy this dog food.

Purchased in February 2021 for $125.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Alexis A.

Alexis A.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Taste like crap but you can live on it should be the company moto

published

Bought a big bag from Aldi thinking I was making a better choice for my border collie by far a good eater well he avoided this like cancer only barely finished a bowl after it stood there for a day it just shows you no matter the instrument (Chris Brown) for sale it's still a pour choice minus fifty bucks but thank god I made a search and found I'm not the only one

Purchased in December 2020 at ALDI for $50.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Stacey S.

Stacey S.Eyre Peninsula, SA

  • 3 reviews

Used optimum for yrs

published

I had fed optimum for yrs recently the bags of food I swore smelt like dog poo. My local shop stopped stocking the regular bags and only had the grain free so I decided to try it. After almost 1 wk on the food one of my dog was so so sick. Vomiting, diarea, shaking, crying and could hardly stand we thought he was going to die. My other dog was eating the same food and was completely fine. Once he recovered i ran out of the other food so thought I would try the optimum grain free again and he got sick again it was at that point that I figured out it was the food.
My kelpie is still completely fine eating the grain free tho. So just be careful some dogs are sensitive to changes

Purchased in October 2020 at Woolworths for $26.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Dog Foods

Find out how Optimum for Adult Dogs compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awful product

published

Changed to this dry food recently and my Kelpie X has been vomiting and squirting diarrhea for the past two nights. Found this review and thankfully found the reason before anything worse happened. He has fully recovered since stopping. Clearly not just a once off, bad reviews all over the internet. Good job Chris Brown for putting your name to such a crap product. The power of money.

Purchased in November 2020 at Coles.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Loren J.

Loren J.South East Queensland, QLD

Dog vomitted and diarrhea hours after first trying the wet food

published

Dog vomitted and diarrhea hours after first trying the wet food, she's now very sick and is a mother with puppys to feed. Very dissapointed Chris Brown would put his name on this rubbish.

Purchased in October 2020 at Coles for $20.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
thepersonwho

thepersonwhoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 41 reviews
  • 22 likes

Dog was throwing up

published

My dog doesn’t have a weak stomach but after eating the dried Optimum Adult Small-Breeds in Chicken, Rice and Vegetables threw up.
I didn’t realise after the first time but after the second day of throwing up I googled Optimum and see it’s a common issue.
It’s going straight in the bin.
I'm sure not every dog gets sick while eating this but it sure didn't agree with my fur baby and therefore can not recommend it.

Purchased in August 2020 at Coles.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 47 reviews
  • 25 likes

Optimum grain free blend!

published

My dog needs a good grain free product so we paid much more and bought this. Even my dog cant stand the smell. If it smells like poo dont feed it to your dog.
I've lost my receipt but will track through bank account.

Purchased in June 2020 at FoodWorks for $28.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
James D.

James D.Sydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Bad smell

published

I sent back my dog biscuts over 1 month ago as there was a very foul smell and still dont have a reply from them they got it 3 weeks ago..

Purchased in June 2020 at Woolworths for $15.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Janelle

Janelle

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

My dog was very sick after eating the dog biscuit

published

Both my dogs did not like the biscuit and ate only some of it. One of them had serious vomitting and diarrhea for more than 2 days and cost me a vet visit for an injection and antibiotics. Biscuit thrown in the bin. Poison for your dogs. Don’t buy it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Woolworths for $17.00.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Dog Foods

Find out how Optimum for Adult Dogs compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

LABRADOR GOT REALLY SICK

published

Causes nothing but Vomiting and Diarrhoea. My Dog is very unwell now, Decided to try Optimum because it's available everywhere and looks like a good brand, Wont ever buy this product again.

Purchased at Coles.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Charlie

CharlieSouth East Queensland, QLD

German Shepherd had severe diarrhea.

published

I fed this to my German Shepherd and she had bad, bad diarrhea for a couple of days. While she didn't mind the taste of it and actually liked eating it, it just made her so sick! It took me a while to realise, but as soon as I did, I stopped feeding it to her, and her runs stopped.

Purchased in April 2020 at Coles.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Never again

Never again

  • 2 reviews

Dog sick after 2 meals

published

Our dog has had vomiting and diarrhea after only having 2 meals of the wet food. Glad we picked up on it early, cannot believe this can still be on the market with so many dogs having such adverse side effects.

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths for $3.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
JagC

JagCGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Causes allergies for dogs

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
r martin

r martin

  • 3 reviews

Instant stomach, digestive issues

published

Sorry to add to the negative creamy same expert. As soon as my 8 yr old pug had this he had vile gas, noisy stomach rumbles, vomiting, diarrhea and constipation. Worst of all, blood in stool. Stopped it today after checking reviews and feeding steamed chicken and rice. He's fine. Please withdraw this product!

Purchased in December 2019 at Coles for $12.00.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Maze007

Maze007Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Very sick German shepherd

published

Bought this as we were in between shipments of Blackhawk but $4,000 later, very much regret it. My big beautiful GSD is still at the vet hospital and has been there since Wednesday (its now Saturday). He was vomiting, listless, fatigued, had breathing issues, drinking heaps of water, not eating and couldnt poo so we went straight to vet. After many xrays, surgery (thinking he had an obstruction) due to intestines full of gas, hes now a lot better. Antibiotics have been amazing however his respiratory rate is still high. Hopefully pick him up tomorrow (Sunday) as we miss him terribly. Do not buy this dog food!

Purchased in October 2019 at Coles.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Dog Foods

Find out how Optimum for Adult Dogs compares to other Dog Foods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elizabeth B.

Elizabeth B.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Optimum dry dog food lite

published

I fed this dry dog food to my cattle dog and she was howling, pacing and then vomiting each time. After three days of this I realised that it was this disgusting dog food that was causing the problem. Dont buy Optimum for your dogs.

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths Physical store.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Unhappy  customer

Unhappy customer

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not worth the worry

published

Tried twice even smallest amount she ended up with shocking diarrhoea, sorry the penny didn't click earlier, not good food for my girl..cannot believe Dr.Chris Brown has put his name to it.

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths Physical store.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nat

Nat

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dog vomitted and had diarrhea

published

My dog consistently vomits and has diarrhea after eating food from Optimum. I'm sorry to my dog that it took me so long to connect the dots, but after trial and error we have decided definitely that his stomach upsets are caused by Optimum food. After reading the reviews, I cannot believe this product is still on the shelves. Please do not buy this for your dogs.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Sheila

Sheila

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

shocked to read the reviews, curious as to why my dog suddenly has itchy red skin and paws

published

I switched from Supercoat to Optimum as I thought it was better quality and my dog far prefers the taste.
My eight year old staff cross with a cast iron stomach and never ill started licking her belly a couple of weeks after the switch. It's very red and now her paws are itchy too.
No other apparent cause. After reading the reviews I will throw it out and switch back as it's getting worse by the week.
Will be interested to see if it goes away.

Purchased in July 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Rufus

RufusMurray Mallee, SA

Not the right formula for our dog.

published

Our dog has sensitive skin and also suffers from severe reflux. This brand of dog food has not abated her reflux, so we have stopped buying it. Wont buy again.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths for $30.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pet's Life StageAdult
Side EffectsYes
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Ashley

Ashleyasked

I have just recently changed my 9 year old American bulldogs diet from raw beef to optimum dry biscuits ever since been on the biscuits his drinking ridiculous amounts of water.
Is this normal?

1 answer
Janelle
Janelle

Hello, I would stop giving him those biscuits, my dog was very sick . Try another brand like royal canin etc from pet shop. Better quality but more expensive ( worth it ).

Annie d

Annie dasked

Anyone experienced cancerous lumps with this brand? Both of my parents dogs have/has lumps, one was confirmed cancerous. They only feed them this.

No answers
Emma Byrne

Emma Byrneasked

I feed my dogs Optimum (Small Terrier & Puppy). Nothing has happened yet but should I be worried? I thought it was good quality but reading these reviews it doesn't look like it. Does anyone have any recommendations about what food I should switch to or should I keep using Optimum?

1 answer
Maze007
Maze007

Hi, Blackhawk is fantastic as well as Science Diet. Any pet store will be able to help you as well as your vet.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryDog Foods
Release dateNov 2008

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.