??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband ADSL

Optus Broadband ADSL (page 2 of 47)

1.5 from 928 reviews

Reviews

1.5

928 reviews
5
(27)
4
(57)
3
(58)
2
(67)
1
(719)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (62)
  • Transparency
    1.4 (61)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (61)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (12%) · No (88%)
Previous
Next
Amy H.

Amy H.Sydney, NSW

Never again!

published

Was given 6 appointments for the technician to come, would call before the appointment, i would go home and no one would show up.
I was told they need to cancel and re-order the service, followed them up a week later and nothing had been done. Called to cancel the service, was given the run around. They need to call me back later to cancel..

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Eduardo S.

Eduardo S.Sydney, NSW

The worst! Don’t waste your money

published

I had optus for 2 years and I don’t recommend this provider for anyone. The connection is often very slow at peak hours, which is usually when I’m home. It’s not cheap compared to other providers and their customer service is really bad. It always take too long until someone pick up the phone, unless you’re contracting a service, in this very moment they are so fast. At this moment while I’m writing I’m calling to cancel my service but guess what? 23min on line and I still couldn’t talk to their special cancellation team.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateDecember 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Stay away from this customer, go with mates Australia

published

Seriously just stay away from this company. Your dealing with Indians across the ocean and takes 1.5hrs each time trying to get thru. Reason why I signed up coz optus gives 24/7 business service which is the biggest lie ever. Go with mates Australia, takes 2min to talk to someone with clear English and fast service. Optus can’t solve anything.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Extremely Slow. Very poor service. Frequent errors/problems.

published

Hmm. Where to start. Well, I had ADSL2+ for ages with optus. Typical speed somewhere around 4 Mbit/s in Sydney. Took a month to get working and 4 hours back and forth before optus decided to fix the lines. The my account service is horrendous. The internet frequently stops to a crawl (so slow the test your internet speed page just does not work, despite no-one else in the household being online). The direct debit option is a joke, requires a mailed form to signup. Just don't get optus, full stop.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
S Myers

S MyersMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Terrible Service

published

Speed of internet is a joke hovering between 2 and 3mps. Can’t even watch Netflix. Indian call centres are not helpful as they are just reading from a script. They sent out at technician 2 weeks ago who advised the Optus modem was faulty and Optus would replace it. Still waiting!!! Have been a customer for 14 years. Over it and going to move providers

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2005
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Lola D.

Lola D.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Best Provider I had to far

published

We switched to Optus from telstra which is much cheaper and we never have any problems in our area, the only improvement could be when you call them they should take your number and call back as it can take to long but most provider are the same. Connection is pretty good

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2019
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
June

JuneWeetangera 2614, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Optus is the worst internet provider. No service and they are still billing me

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
JD666

JD666

  • 2 reviews

Would give 0 stars if possible

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Dawnb

Dawnb

  • 7 reviews

Unlawful Direct Debit

published

Direct debited $743 illegally a week ago from account. Optus have admitted they direct debited in error and said they will refund money but no sign of it after a week. Customer Service appear to be overseas and said I would get refund in 1-2 days. They still illegally have money :(

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gigi

Gigi

  • 5 reviews

Poor internet

published

Ongoing Poor internet home and mobile especially peak times and weekends. But charge a late fee for half delivered service. And when you call the technical team same recording.. Internet issues in your area... 3rd world internet

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Sushil

SushilSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor throughput

published

My download speed drops to KBs at times. On calling support, I am asked to go through troubleshooting steps every time and that yields nothing. Momentary throughout test may show better throughout but average throughput remains bad. At once my modem was replaced but that doesn’t help. Earnest request to Optus to resolve my issue. Must mention that the support people are always cordial.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMay 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Nate

NateGold Coast, -Choose a state-

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible, stressful a company to avoid at all cost.

published

I'm adding this new comment in addition to comment I made 4 years ago. I am still getting stressed over this incompetent company 4 year later. They sent my account to baycorp for debt collection services without contacting me first although I had paid it only now I find out because of a letter from Baycorp debt collectors. What’s wrong with Optus, the debt collection services can contact me but optus can’t go figure. I had paid all bills too. Avoid optus at all costs.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateAugust 2014
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Terrible customer service

published

Still waiting for ADSL connection after 8weeks. Phone calls for update bounced from department to department, 1hr20min later I was informed there was an issue with order. Wait another 2weeks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
See all answers
Jon T

Jon T

  • 2 reviews

horrible speed, dropping connection, worst customer service

published

Why is Australia a 3rd world country - thanks to its "broadband" - worse than anywhere else I have seen.

Optus takes the cake - horrible speed, dropping connection, customer service just awful. Was passed over to 3 teams about to pass over the 4th one, before I had to hang Up. Aaaaargh!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateJuly 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Atman O.

Atman O.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worst Online and Customer Service Ever

published

Website doesn’t work at all. Online services don’t work at all. You can’t pay online payment. I wasted 3-4 hours each month to pay monthly bill. Customer service sucks as well. Waste of time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband ADSL compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susan M

Susan MGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

No internet nor home phone for 10 weeks - try to contact Optus every week - no one replies

published

Optus mistakenly disconnected phone and internet. No internet for 10 weeks! Our email address will probably never work again. Home phone number is lost forever? All contact with Optus failed.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
Duong N.

Duong N.

  • 3 reviews

Could be better!

published

Generally more reliable than other ISPs like Telstra. The speeds are alright but could be better - sometimes day during the late-arvos to mid-night period. Customer service could be better - they have a knack for being rude.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Simon P.

Simon P.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • ADSL
  • Verified customer

Internet never works, customer service is terrible

published

The internet drops out randomly everyday. Customer service is horrible, they just take up all your time. They are not sympathetic or friendly and just want all your money. Not recommended, go with another provider.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateMarch 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Ashley M.

Ashley M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Optus claim their service is acceptable, I disagree.

published

My internet at its highest speed was 2.3mps but it was consistently around 1mps. At its highest Optus just said that this was an acceptable speed and disregarded that majority of the time was performing well under. I can’t stream tv or Netflix without it stopping to buffer every minute. I called the company many times and was told that there was an issue with the line and they would lodge an inquiry, only later to be told that there wasn’t a problem and this was the most I can expect from optus adsl and any higher would be the nbn speed. I’ll be getting nbn with another company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateOctober 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Karen

KarenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Never go with Optus, never ever!!!

published

I wish I could give a negative rating as I am extremely disappointed with Optus. Connected with them since I have my own home and internet connection has never been stable. Constantly drop off and now I ven have no connection. Hopped on to livechat and the customer service keeps telling me it is an issue with couple of gaming websites. Then I said to them I am browsing any gaming website and I just cannot load a page of any website. Then he started saying its a regional issue and the thing is they Have no idea of how long this is gonna last!!! So basically I have to pay my bills on time for a service I cannot use. Optus shame on you!!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Start DateSeptember 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Page 2 of 47
See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Ananta N.

Ananta N.asked

ADSL

I am trying to cancel Optus service and calling them. But it is really hard to connect with them . I how can I cancel their service without making phone call to them?

1 answer
Mike P
Mike P

Hi Ananta. None that I know of. I tried using messaging - but then the message app says you need to call 1300343302. So - looks like a long wait on hold ahead of you...
Thanks,
Mike

Get an answer from our members

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(382)
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(283)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,128)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(997)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.1
(361)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(56)
DCSI

DCSI

4.6
(46)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.