??!
7 photos
Oricom Secure870 Touchscreen

Oricom Secure870 Touchscreen

MPNs: SC870 and SC870WH
3.0 from 157 reviews

Baby Monitors Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of baby monitor would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.0

157 reviews
5
(36)
4
(30)
3
(20)
2
(36)
1
(35)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (59)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (62)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (60)
  • Battery Life
    2.2 (63)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.4 (63)
  • Audio Quality
    3.3 (63)
  • Video Quality
    3.3 (62)
Previous
Next
theofficialdad.com

theofficialdad.comSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Mystery Alarm Clock Feature

published

Purchased in May 2017 at Baby Kingdom for A$440.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
reviewer39

reviewer39

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Works OK but has a few quirks

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Baby Bunting for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message and review. We appreciate all the feedback and if you would like to discuss, please give us a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST,as the team will be able to asisst you in this. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Agy RS

Agy RSGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best tool for Bubs Nursery and my 5 year still loves it too.

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Baby Bunting for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the support, and wish you all the very best with your future use. Thanks for taking the time to let others know of your experience with the unit. Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure870 Touchscreen compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Lousy wifi connection and in screen off, doesn’t come on when noise or movement

published

Bought cheaper one of Oricom and it had a background noise even when on low. Range was poor (another older brand has worked for 6 year - on 4th Oricom, should have learnt lesson. Exchanged for this top of range model, told longer distance. Wrong, still drops out easy and then the “beeping”. Also on screen off at night, doesn’t come on if noise or movement and volume useless. Not good when have two monitors for our grandkids.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$349.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Matthew

MatthewGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Oricom S870 link lost issues

published

Purchased the S870 and additional camera in October 2019, having set it up there is always the link lost message popping up on one of the two cameras consistently. The distance is about 12m, through two walls. Rather disappointing for 2.4Gzhz technology. Expected better for a communications company.

Purchased in October 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Matthew, thanks for the message. We would love to assist you in this, so please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist you in this. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Hayley_Taylor04

Hayley_Taylor04Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 28 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great baby monitor

published

Purchased in May 2018 at eBay for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback on the Secure870 and wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

melsa

melsaCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews

Good features, horrible signal/connection

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Baby Bunting Physical store for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Dani

DaniSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good monitor

published

We had some issues with this monitor not switching on at first, however with some troubleshooting help from their customer service, which was great, we were able to solve the issue. The camera itself has been great. We are able to see our little one and use the white noise function, check the temp in her room and use the light (amongst many other features) on the monitor when needed. The biggest issue has been the poor battery life, but that has been after 2 years of use.

Purchased in June 2017 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Dani, thanks for the review and feedback. We wish you all the very best with your future use. Oricom Baby Care.

JGD

JGDSydney, NSW

Consistent signal loss

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$359.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi there, thanks for the message. For this one, we would recommend that you give our locally based Oricom Support team a call and the team will be able to troubleshoot with you and work to provide you with a solution. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure870 Touchscreen compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Merria

MerriaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Terrible range and battery life

published

Unit drops out with (link lost) constantly. Audio and image quality good when it works.
Have replaced the battery 4 times in 3 years. most recent battery has died. Unit only works on its charger constantly.
Looking to buy new add on camera but after reading other Reviews about screen splits into x4 with only half screen available to view only x2 cameras. I’ll be looking elsewhere. If there is a revised model that aims to fix these minor issues I’d happily buy it again.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
KEF

KEF

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor battery life

published

Poor battery life even after battery replacement. Would not recommend based off this.
Stand easily broke.
Average image at night.
Music/sounds, night light and star projections are a nice feature that can help settle a baby.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Dani

DaniPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Would not recommend

published

Purchased in June 2018 at Baby Bunting for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Rebecca C.

Rebecca C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Recieved brand new monitor under warranty and this one has a loud buzzing sound when volume turned to 100%

published

First monitor - kept saying link lost, screen glitches out.
Second monitor - Static very loud when volume turned up to 100% but disappears when baby makes noise.
Maybe we just had bad luck

Purchased in March 2020 at Baby Bunting Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Rebecca, thanks for the message. Please give our locally based Oricom Support a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team will be able to assist you in this. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Katie

KatieCentral West, NSW

Horrible

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
3 comments
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Katie
Katie

Hi please send me the email to reply to. I have found some emails of correspondence with some communication about issues I’ve had.
Thanks

Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Katie, thanks for the message. Please email support@oricom.com.au and the team will be in touch. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Great warranty service!!!

published

My Parent unit stopped charging about 2.5 years after purchasing. I called and there were no questions and a replacement unit is being sent to me. Couldn't ask for a better result! Thanks Oricom.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kristy, thanks for the review and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know of your experience. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Baby Monitors

Find out how Oricom Secure870 Touchscreen compares to other Baby Monitors

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luisa

LuisaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Ongoing white noises through parent monitor which apparently is NORMAL

published

Worse camera ever. All you hear is a constant white noise. Called Oricom support had my camera replaced and the new one does the same thing. Rang them and sent them emails with video links so they could hear and see what I do only to get told that this is "normal ambiance of the room" the only time this annoying noise disappears is when the range drops out. WHAT A JOKE. I've had other monitors/cameras and never had any of these noises. I've attached a video for all you to see.
Now to see if Baby Bunting will return.

Purchased in January 2020 at Baby Bunting for A$359.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Battery Life

Worst monitor ever!

published

very dissapointed with this monitor! I’ve had to get it replace it twice. It cuts out and beep and says there is no range when it’s not very far away! The battery doesn’t last long on the monitor.

Purchased in January 2019 at Baby Bunting.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
SFH

SFHSydney, NSW

Hopeless. Don’t waste your money.

published

While this video monitor has some nice features like night light, lullabies/white noise and room temperature indicator, the range is just hopeless. The only place that the video monitor is able to pick up the signal from the nursery camera is within several short steps from the room. Which defeats the purpose of having a monitor - if I was so close to the nursery I wouldn’t need a monitor. The constant “link lost” beeping at us drives us crazy. Complete waste of money (and not a small amount at that). The battery life and picture quality is also pretty average.

Purchased in May 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Horrendous Range and Signal - Would NOT Purchase Again

published

This has all the features but horrendous range. We've had it for a few months and its become worse as time goes on. It doesn't even stretch 2 bedrooms before it cuts out. More of a hassle then help and would definitely not purchase this again

Purchased in August 2019 at Baby Bunting for A$380.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Kat

KatMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Oricom secure 870

published

The unit was great for the first child but I added a second camera and it is always out of range and beeping all the time and the battery on the parent unit does not last that long when off charge. I get annoyed that during the night it goes off to lost link trying to connect it does it a few times. The 2 camera is only 5 months old the unit is over a year old. I do like how it plays lullabies and has a night light. I don't like how small the picture is when you add the second camera it was easy to set up I just not happy how the 2 camera is always losing link. I have a premature baby and wanted to see him all the time but it just keep on losing link and it annoyed me. Would be good if you could record.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Audio Quality
Video Quality
Battery Life
See all answers
1 comment
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Joanne C.

Joanne C.asked

Can i turn off the link indicator on the baby monitor on the secure 870?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Joanne, thanks for the message. We would suggest that you give our local team a call and they will be able to assist. Call 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST. Oricom Baby Care.

Kristen T.

Kristen T.asked

My sc870 parent unit has all of a sudden won’t recognise touch on the screen. All buttons work but as soon as I try to press the menu button or arrows to move camera (the screen) nothing happens. And randomly will go into the menu it won’t go any further. Can I reset my unit without going into the menu?

1 answer
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Kristen, thanks for the message. We would love to assist you in this, so please give us a call on 02 4574 8888 Mon-Fri 8am-6pm AEST, as the team ill be able to assist. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Chloe I.

Chloe I.asked

Hi, we recently purchased the second camera to our oricom 870 monitor can you hear sound from both rooms at the same time? As that was our intention as we now have two young children under three in separate rooms and need to hear both of a night for us to wake to them.

4 answers
Oricom
Technical SupportOricom

Hi Chloe, thanks for the message. No, sound is received from one camera at a time, and you can cycle between cameras so that sound is received to the parent unit for a short time, one camera at a time. If both audio feeds came through simultaneously, it would be difficult to decipher where the audio was from. All the best, Oricom Baby Care.

Chloe I.
Chloe I.

It wouldn’t be difficult to decipher as there is the green sound bar that lights up on the side of each screen of which ever room the noise is coming from. Really disappointed with this purchase now as it now as no use for my family. It should be clearly advertised that sound doesn’t come from both cameras to the parent unit at the same time as this would be one of the main reasons consumers purchase the second camera because seeing your child doesn’t help if you can’t hear them to wake up to them during the night.

Simon
Simon

Tech support, can you advise how to change setting to cycle between the two as you mention?

Get an answer from our members and Oricom representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.