1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (7)
  • Recording Quality
    3.5 (4)
  • Software
    2.0 (5)
  • Reliability
    2.2 (5)
Previous
Next

I found it a good machine ( I would have added a half a star, if I could)

published
Incentivised Review No
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Monty, Thank you for your great feedback regrading our DVD-recorders and i will certainly pass on your feedback around the lack In/out puts to our engineering department for feature consideration.

Thank you

Richard Ulkowski
Richard UlkowskiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!! DO NOY BUY PANASONIC!!!

published

Useless piece of crap and no answers from Panasonic technicians having reached out several times...avoid all all costs!!! Save time, money and your personal mental well-being and buy a different “reputable” brand with aftercare!!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
lou
lousydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

DMRBWT955GL - transfer of data

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
org8
org8-
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Depends on what you want it for!

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
M P.
M P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'd give a negative score if I could

published

Panasonic still sell this quite expensive and seemingly high featured dvr, but they have not updated its now very old network apps. The browser does not support the https protocols used almost exclusively now on the internet. This means you can not even update to a different browser using play store as play store will not accept login from an insecure, ie http, browser. So I can't get any of the catch up tv channels that want a user login because they too want https . This expensive pvr has other bad features. I regret ever buying this pvr and will never buy another Panasonic product again, and I'm happy to tell everyone what I think of Panasonic's contempt for its customers. The are many cheaper, better pvrs.

Purchased in July 2018 for $750.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
mz1
mz1melbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Way overpriced

published

Sometimes when I set it to record programs it just flashes the red "rec1" constantly rather than actually records but the really annoying thing is the blu-ray player will not put out any volume on blu-ray series. No problem on blu-ray movies but nothing for the series. Picture, no sound. I've called Panasonic about this and they "helpfully" got me to turn the unit off and on about a dozen times and then suggested I take it to a Panasonic tech who is miles away from me. Useless! So, yeah, one of the main reasons I bought this unit and it doesn't even work. Won't be buying Panasonic again.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay for $549.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi MZ, sorry we couldn't assist you but it does sound like the product has developed a fault. If you aren't able to take the unit into the service agent, perhaps you can post it to them.

mz1
mz1

You must see how redundant that is. It's done this since I bought it. When did it have its chance to "develop a fault"? And who's going to pay for the postage etc...?

Ian Anderson .
Ian Anderson .Florey 2615, ACT
  • 4 reviews

Disappointed in this unit especially as it cost so much and it's only two weeks old.

published

The most annoying feature on this unit, (apart from the cost) is that when you are using YouTube, ABC iView and other internet streams the picture appears to be shrunken or cropped with a surrounding black border of 2-3 cm depending on the size of TV screen. Mine is 40"/100cm. My $50 Roku box works so much better and I'll probably keep using it.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $669.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Graeme B.
Graeme B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless for managing a video library

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Incentivised Review No
mrpatto
mrpattoSydney
  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great when it works

published

I love this recorder when it works. With 3 HD tuners I never miss a show and can watch all my catch up without adds. I don't know if it's just my one but every few months I've had to reset it as it's stopped recording. As I said I love it but could work better.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thad
ThadRyde
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

If only it worked the way it should

published

The recorder does not always record the TV program from the TV guide. Selecting a TV program to record every week the unit will not record the TV programme if it does not obtain the information from the TV guide, which is often. The recorder has a problem obtaining (reading) current TV guide from the various TV channels. Also beware the recorder only up-scales to 4k which means it will not play 4k dvd's

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Unable to do basic things

published

NOT a TIVO alternative. Can not pause live tv unless you are recording it. Can not pause a recording and watch another channel. Very bad control. To many basic hic ups to list. I believe that all the great reviews are submitted by Panasonic staff. Third Panasonic purchase. Tv is ok. Home theatre product the worst I have ever bought.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Gavin17
Gavin17Noosa Heads Qld
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

BEWARE - DOES NOT PLAY 4K DVD/VIDEOS - Despite 4K Badge!

published

Bought this unit and 4K OLED TV to watch 4K Videos as the clear BOLD 4K badging on the unit and tech data showed that it was 4K ...but it will not actually play 4K Videos as expected.....".cannot read this..."
I feel quite unimpressed by this deception and feel mislead by the Panasonic presentation and marketing information. Accordingly I cannot recommend it as a 4K device.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
emalee
emaleeSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified

Disappointed

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
twitch
twitchsydney
  • Verified

Bells & whistles

published

Looks pretty, does what it does within it's capabilities.
Has an on/off switch.
Records programmes.
Tells the time & connects to the Internet.
I like the dvd tray, it goes in and out at command.
You can watch stuff anytime you like.

Questions & Answers

Di J
Di Jasked

I have a Panasonic 3D Blu- ray/ disc recorder DMR-BWT700 recording turning green during playback of recorded programs.

1 answer
Di J
Di J

Yes

Macdonald
Macdonaldasked

Can the DMR-BWT955GL recorder be changed to multi region?

No answers
Steve
Steveasked

My TV keeps displaying "LOADING". If I press the Exit button, it disappears for a few seconds. How do I remove it permanently.

3 answers
Ian A
Ian A

I'm experiencing the same anomaly, started to investigate then noticed it's not there on 'Playback'...I'll pursue again since you've attracted my attention...

Steve
Steve

Thanks, I would really like to get rid of it. Mine only appears when watching live.

Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Steve, Maybe give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you.

Thanks

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.