1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (9)
  • Recording Quality
    4.0 (6)
  • Software
    2.9 (7)
  • Reliability
    3.0 (7)
Previous
Next

I found it a good machine ( I would have added a half a star, if I could)

published
Incentivised Review No
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Monty, Thank you for your great feedback regrading our DVD-recorders and i will certainly pass on your feedback around the lack In/out puts to our engineering department for feature consideration.

Thank you

Ian A
Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Richard Ulkowski
Richard UlkowskiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!! DO NOY BUY PANASONIC!!!

published

Useless piece of crap and no answers from Panasonic technicians having reached out several times...avoid all all costs!!! Save time, money and your personal mental well-being and buy a different “reputable” brand with aftercare!!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
lou
lousydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

DMRBWT955GL - transfer of data

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
org8
org8-
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Depends on what you want it for!

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
M P.
M P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'd give a negative score if I could

published

Panasonic still sell this quite expensive and seemingly high featured dvr, but they have not updated its now very old network apps. The browser does not support the https protocols used almost exclusively now on the internet. This means you can not even update to a different browser using play store as play store will not accept login from an insecure, ie http, browser. So I can't get any of the catch up tv channels that want a user login because they too want https . This expensive pvr has other bad features. I regret ever buying this pvr and will never buy another Panasonic product again, and I'm happy to tell everyone what I think of Panasonic's contempt for its customers. The are many cheaper, better pvrs.

Purchased in July 2018 for $750.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
mz1
mz1melbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Way overpriced

published

Sometimes when I set it to record programs it just flashes the red "rec1" constantly rather than actually records but the really annoying thing is the blu-ray player will not put out any volume on blu-ray series. No problem on blu-ray movies but nothing for the series. Picture, no sound. I've called Panasonic about this and they "helpfully" got me to turn the unit off and on about a dozen times and then suggested I take it to a Panasonic tech who is miles away from me. Useless! So, yeah, one of the main reasons I bought this unit and it doesn't even work. Won't be buying Panasonic again.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay for $549.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi MZ, sorry we couldn't assist you but it does sound like the product has developed a fault. If you aren't able to take the unit into the service agent, perhaps you can post it to them.

mz1
mz1

You must see how redundant that is. It's done this since I bought it. When did it have its chance to "develop a fault"? And who's going to pay for the postage etc...?

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Ian Anderson .
Ian Anderson .Florey 2615, ACT
  • 4 reviews

Disappointed in this unit especially as it cost so much and it's only two weeks old.

published

The most annoying feature on this unit, (apart from the cost) is that when you are using YouTube, ABC iView and other internet streams the picture appears to be shrunken or cropped with a surrounding black border of 2-3 cm depending on the size of TV screen. Mine is 40"/100cm. My $50 Roku box works so much better and I'll probably keep using it.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $669.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Graeme B.
Graeme B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless for managing a video library

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lou Symonds
Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

jessieinnewy51
jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Tattz
TattzAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Three Tuners: the Way to Go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Peter K
Peter KTaree, NSW 2430
  • 18 reviews
  • 33 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Roger H
Roger HSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Marie
Marieasked

What is the difference between a BWT955 and a BTW955GL
THANK YOU ANYONE

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Marie, Same unit just extra coding :)

Thanks

Marie
Marie

Thank you.

Andrew M.
Andrew M.asked

Hello, I have a Panasonic media player DMR TW955. The unit says 'Cannot connect. Please try again later or confirm Network and settings' Yet under the Network setting it has found the network and says it is connected. I have tried restoring to factory settings and setting up again but am still getting the same message. The network in the house is working well as there are other devices connected. Please can you assist me in what to do. Thanks

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Andrew, Sorry to hear you are having issues, please give our Panasonic customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you.

Thanks

George Rusty R.
George Rusty R.asked

the lettering on the guide is very faint

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi George, Sorry to hear you are having issues, please give our Panasonic customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you.

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.