1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (6)
  • Recording Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Software
    2.8 (6)
  • Reliability
    3.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Ian A
Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Richard Ulkowski
Richard UlkowskiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!! DO NOY BUY PANASONIC!!!

published

Useless piece of crap and no answers from Panasonic technicians having reached out several times...avoid all all costs!!! Save time, money and your personal mental well-being and buy a different “reputable” brand with aftercare!!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
M P.
M P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'd give a negative score if I could

published

Panasonic still sell this quite expensive and seemingly high featured dvr, but they have not updated its now very old network apps. The browser does not support the https protocols used almost exclusively now on the internet. This means you can not even update to a different browser using play store as play store will not accept login from an insecure, ie http, browser. So I can't get any of the catch up tv channels that want a user login because they too want https . This expensive pvr has other bad features. I regret ever buying this pvr and will never buy another Panasonic product again, and I'm happy to tell everyone what I think of Panasonic's contempt for its customers. The are many cheaper, better pvrs.

Purchased in July 2018 for $750.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
mz1
mz1melbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Way overpriced

published

Sometimes when I set it to record programs it just flashes the red "rec1" constantly rather than actually records but the really annoying thing is the blu-ray player will not put out any volume on blu-ray series. No problem on blu-ray movies but nothing for the series. Picture, no sound. I've called Panasonic about this and they "helpfully" got me to turn the unit off and on about a dozen times and then suggested I take it to a Panasonic tech who is miles away from me. Useless! So, yeah, one of the main reasons I bought this unit and it doesn't even work. Won't be buying Panasonic again.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay for $549.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi MZ, sorry we couldn't assist you but it does sound like the product has developed a fault. If you aren't able to take the unit into the service agent, perhaps you can post it to them.

mz1
mz1

You must see how redundant that is. It's done this since I bought it. When did it have its chance to "develop a fault"? And who's going to pay for the postage etc...?

Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mefistofele
MefistofeleVictoria
  • 25 reviews
  • 31 likes
  • Verified

Steep Learning Curve!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Mefistofele, thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback, we appreciate the great features you mention and the way you would like to see improvements for the product.

Mefistofele
Mefistofele

I would have liked the DVD player to be multi-zoned out-of-the-box!

Lou Symonds
Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

jessieinnewy51
jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Tattz
TattzAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
bilnrobn
bilnrobnWestern Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

A great recorder, but some Manual info a bit sketchy

published

The straight forward stuff is well explained and easy to follow. I love it. However some instructions are a little hard to find or follow. Recording a programme on every Monday to Friday I know is possible, but have yet to discover how to set it. For the moment I'm working around that and my overall impression is favorable.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Three Tuners: the Way to Go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Peter K
Peter KTaree, NSW 2430
  • 18 reviews
  • 33 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Roger H
Roger HSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bumper
BumperMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Panasonic fantastic recorder.

published

This Panasonic DMR-BWT955 GL Blu-Ray Recorder is just great,it has 3 tuners which allows for more recording options, the editing feature is so good and easy to use, the up-scaling to 4K is also great, it produces a great 4K like picture. You can also set serial recording and so easy to setup from the TV guide feature.

Peter
PeterPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This machine is almost perfect

published

Fantastic quality recordings, huge amount of recording space (2GB), plays Blu-Rays and region free DVDs. Recording through the Guide is so easy even Mon-Fri recordings. Can record three programmes at once. Be sure to update the firmware immediately on purchase, this solves a few problems recording through the Guide. Haven't tried 4K as my TV is not capable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Gazzasbees
GazzasbeesAnna Bay
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent unit and has not missed a beat so far

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Marie
Marieasked

What is the difference between a BWT955 and a BTW955GL
THANK YOU ANYONE

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Marie, Same unit just extra coding :)

Thanks

Marie
Marie

Thank you.

Andrew M.
Andrew M.asked

Hello, I have a Panasonic media player DMR TW955. The unit says 'Cannot connect. Please try again later or confirm Network and settings' Yet under the Network setting it has found the network and says it is connected. I have tried restoring to factory settings and setting up again but am still getting the same message. The network in the house is working well as there are other devices connected. Please can you assist me in what to do. Thanks

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Andrew, Sorry to hear you are having issues, please give our Panasonic customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you.

Thanks

George Rusty R.
George Rusty R.asked

the lettering on the guide is very faint

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi George, Sorry to hear you are having issues, please give our Panasonic customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you.

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.