1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (4)
  • Recording Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Software
    3.3 (4)
  • Reliability
    3.0 (4)
Previous
Clear all
Next
S Myers
S MyersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not reliable

published

Panasonic DMR BWT955GL i have has a few issues after about 2 months no sound when playing disc on 4 occasions 3 of these blu ray disc were new this is the main concern have been using another player for disc but has a few little problems like menu pops up at times settings also change randomly for some reason so it's a $750.00 machine best suited to record tv programs only

Purchased in February 2021 for $750.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen
Stephen Gippsland, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not reliable playing blu ray disc

published

This Panasonic DMR BWT955GL blu ray player on 5 occasions has played a disc but has no sound you only have sound if you play it on x1 speed 3 of the 5 disc have been new rang jb hi twice not helpful lot of money for something that's only good for recording tv

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $759.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Russell, Have you called our customer service team on 132600, if not please do as they will assist you and further look into this for you.

Thanks

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian A
Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lou Symonds
Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jessieinnewy51
jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tattz
TattzAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified

Three Tuners: the Way to Go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Sandipooh
SandipoohSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified

It works but overall disappointing for a premium priced product

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter K
Peter KTaree, NSW 2430
  • 20 reviews
  • 33 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger H
Roger HSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bumper
BumperMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Panasonic fantastic recorder.

published

This Panasonic DMR-BWT955 GL Blu-Ray Recorder is just great,it has 3 tuners which allows for more recording options, the editing feature is so good and easy to use, the up-scaling to 4K is also great, it produces a great 4K like picture. You can also set serial recording and so easy to setup from the TV guide feature.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter
PeterPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This machine is almost perfect

published

Fantastic quality recordings, huge amount of recording space (2GB), plays Blu-Rays and region free DVDs. Recording through the Guide is so easy even Mon-Fri recordings. Can record three programmes at once. Be sure to update the firmware immediately on purchase, this solves a few problems recording through the Guide. Haven't tried 4K as my TV is not capable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gazzasbees
GazzasbeesAnna Bay
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent unit and has not missed a beat so far

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Briany
BrianyPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can't live without it

published

Love the slick style and protection of the DVD player opening mechanism. Recording quality great with lots of options. Very reliable unit and it has NETFLIX

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Isaac
IsaacCairns
  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Value for money, easy to use, 4K upscale

published

Wow this one exceeds my old Panasonic by far (DMR-BW880). Triple HD Tuner, 2TB hard drive which I can record 1000+ hours, 4K upscale, blu-ray recorder and media player. Record up to 3 channels and watch a disc at same time. Programming is easy with preview box in EPG. A must have for an all one one device.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

John
Johnasked

How long does the please wait recovery typically take?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi John, Its best to give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you further.

Thanks

Gerard F.
Gerard F.asked

Hi
While watching live TV through my Panasonic DMR-BWT955 it sometimes turns itself off after 20 minutes or so.
It is around 9 months old and the problem about 6 weeks ago.
Thanks
Gerard

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Gerard, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will help you.

Thanks

Gerard F.
Gerard F.

Thank you

rover2427
rover2427asked

I have a new Panasonic DMR-BWT955 Blu-ray Disc Recorder. Within the TV Guide, I am unable to see any ABC, SBS or Channel 10 stations. I can see all Channels 7 & 9. I have re-tuned the recorder without any success. The recorder is connected to a late model smart Sony TV on which I can see channels. I can select Netflix on the recorder, no problems. Firmware is 1.27 which I assume, is up to date. How do I get the missing channels?

2 answers
Monty
Monty

if you have tried rescanning & have done so repeatedly, the only thing I can suggest is either resetting to factory default or unplugging the machine for at least thirty seconds and connect again (and rescan). Obviously if your are getting all the digital TV channels through the Sony TV, then this is not the problem. How good is your antenna cable to the machine? Have you checked this? I can't think of any other solution apart from seeking professional assistance. All the best

rover2427
rover2427

Hello Monty. Why didn't I think of this: unplug the machine for 30 seconds. It generally works on anything electronic, including mobile phones. And guess what, it worked with the recorder. Now have all channels including music channels, listed. Many thanks for your help.

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.