1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (8)
  • Recording Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Software
    2.8 (8)
  • Reliability
    2.8 (8)
Previous
Clear all
Next

DMR-BWT955GL versus DMR-UBT1GL-K — a re-evaluation (updated 6 April 2022)

published

Purchased in April 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $643.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Thanks for the Great Review ConK

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
S Myers
S MyersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not reliable

published

Panasonic DMR BWT955GL i have has a few issues after about 2 months no sound when playing disc on 4 occasions 3 of these blu ray disc were new this is the main concern have been using another player for disc but has a few little problems like menu pops up at times settings also change randomly for some reason so it's a $750.00 machine best suited to record tv programs only

Purchased in February 2021 for $750.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stephen
Stephen Gippsland, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not reliable playing blu ray disc

published

This Panasonic DMR BWT955GL blu ray player on 5 occasions has played a disc but has no sound you only have sound if you play it on x1 speed 3 of the 5 disc have been new rang jb hi twice not helpful lot of money for something that's only good for recording tv

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $759.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Russell, Have you called our customer service team on 132600, if not please do as they will assist you and further look into this for you.

Thanks

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian A
Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard Ulkowski
Richard UlkowskiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!! DO NOY BUY PANASONIC!!!

published

Useless piece of crap and no answers from Panasonic technicians having reached out several times...avoid all all costs!!! Save time, money and your personal mental well-being and buy a different “reputable” brand with aftercare!!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M P.
M P.
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

I'd give a negative score if I could

published

Panasonic still sell this quite expensive and seemingly high featured dvr, but they have not updated its now very old network apps. The browser does not support the https protocols used almost exclusively now on the internet. This means you can not even update to a different browser using play store as play store will not accept login from an insecure, ie http, browser. So I can't get any of the catch up tv channels that want a user login because they too want https . This expensive pvr has other bad features. I regret ever buying this pvr and will never buy another Panasonic product again, and I'm happy to tell everyone what I think of Panasonic's contempt for its customers. The are many cheaper, better pvrs.

Purchased in July 2018 for $750.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mz1
mz1melbourne
  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Way overpriced

published

Sometimes when I set it to record programs it just flashes the red "rec1" constantly rather than actually records but the really annoying thing is the blu-ray player will not put out any volume on blu-ray series. No problem on blu-ray movies but nothing for the series. Picture, no sound. I've called Panasonic about this and they "helpfully" got me to turn the unit off and on about a dozen times and then suggested I take it to a Panasonic tech who is miles away from me. Useless! So, yeah, one of the main reasons I bought this unit and it doesn't even work. Won't be buying Panasonic again.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay for $549.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi MZ, sorry we couldn't assist you but it does sound like the product has developed a fault. If you aren't able to take the unit into the service agent, perhaps you can post it to them.

mz1
mz1

You must see how redundant that is. It's done this since I bought it. When did it have its chance to "develop a fault"? And who's going to pay for the postage etc...?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Lou Symonds
Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jessieinnewy51
jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tattz
TattzAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sandipooh
SandipoohSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified

It works but overall disappointing for a premium priced product

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter K
Peter KTaree, NSW 2430
  • 20 reviews
  • 35 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger H
Roger HSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bumper
BumperMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Panasonic fantastic recorder.

published

This Panasonic DMR-BWT955 GL Blu-Ray Recorder is just great,it has 3 tuners which allows for more recording options, the editing feature is so good and easy to use, the up-scaling to 4K is also great, it produces a great 4K like picture. You can also set serial recording and so easy to setup from the TV guide feature.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter
PeterPerth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This machine is almost perfect

published

Fantastic quality recordings, huge amount of recording space (2GB), plays Blu-Rays and region free DVDs. Recording through the Guide is so easy even Mon-Fri recordings. Can record three programmes at once. Be sure to update the firmware immediately on purchase, this solves a few problems recording through the Guide. Haven't tried 4K as my TV is not capable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Christine
Christineasked

The original remote for our DMR BWT 955 is not working well, bought an universal remote and want to know the code.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Christine, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist your further and help you.

Thanks

Helen
Helenasked

Have just bought a Panasonic DMR-BWT955 recorder. When prerecording, it the preceding program is recorded. Is this a fault of the recorder & should it be replaced as it was bought only 3 days ago?

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Helen, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they can assist you.

Thanks

Helen
Helen

Thank for getting back to me. We have sorted out the problem.

John
Johnasked

How long does the please wait recovery typically take?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi John, Its best to give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you further.

Thanks

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.