1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.5 from 34 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Panasonic

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (8)
  • Recording Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Software
    4.0 (6)
  • Reliability
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Clear all
Next

DMR-BWT955GL versus DMR-UBT1GL-K — a re-evaluation (updated 6 April 2022)

published

Purchased in April 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $643.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Thanks for the Great Review ConK

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I found it a good machine ( I would have added a half a star, if I could)

published
Incentivised Review No
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Monty, Thank you for your great feedback regrading our DVD-recorders and i will certainly pass on your feedback around the lack In/out puts to our engineering department for feature consideration.

Thank you

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian A
Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lou
lousydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

DMRBWT955GL - transfer of data

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
org8
org8-
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Depends on what you want it for!

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian Anderson .
Ian Anderson .Florey 2615, ACT
  • 5 reviews

Disappointed in this unit especially as it cost so much and it's only two weeks old.

published

The most annoying feature on this unit, (apart from the cost) is that when you are using YouTube, ABC iView and other internet streams the picture appears to be shrunken or cropped with a surrounding black border of 2-3 cm depending on the size of TV screen. Mine is 40"/100cm. My $50 Roku box works so much better and I'll probably keep using it.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $669.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graeme B.
Graeme B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless for managing a video library

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Mefistofele
MefistofeleVictoria
  • 26 reviews
  • 32 likes
  • Verified

Steep Learning Curve!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Mefistofele, thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback, we appreciate the great features you mention and the way you would like to see improvements for the product.

Mefistofele
Mefistofele

I would have liked the DVD player to be multi-zoned out-of-the-box!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lou Symonds
Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jessieinnewy51
jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tattz
TattzAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bilnrobn
bilnrobnWestern Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

A great recorder, but some Manual info a bit sketchy

published

The straight forward stuff is well explained and easy to follow. I love it. However some instructions are a little hard to find or follow. Recording a programme on every Monday to Friday I know is possible, but have yet to discover how to set it. For the moment I'm working around that and my overall impression is favorable.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter K
Peter KTaree, NSW 2430
  • 20 reviews
  • 35 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Roger H
Roger HSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mrpatto
mrpattoSydney
  • 19 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great when it works

published

I love this recorder when it works. With 3 HD tuners I never miss a show and can watch all my catch up without adds. I don't know if it's just my one but every few months I've had to reset it as it's stopped recording. As I said I love it but could work better.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Christine
Christineasked

The original remote for our DMR BWT 955 is not working well, bought an universal remote and want to know the code.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Christine, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist your further and help you.

Thanks

Helen
Helenasked

Have just bought a Panasonic DMR-BWT955 recorder. When prerecording, it the preceding program is recorded. Is this a fault of the recorder & should it be replaced as it was bought only 3 days ago?

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi Helen, Please give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they can assist you.

Thanks

Helen
Helen

Thank for getting back to me. We have sorted out the problem.

John
Johnasked

How long does the please wait recovery typically take?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.PanasonicSend a private message

Hi John, Its best to give our customer service team a call on 132600 and they will assist you further.

Thanks

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.