??!
1 photo
Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series (page 2 of 8)

CS/CU-Z9RKR (2.5kW), CS/CU-Z12RKR (3.5kW), CS/CU-Z24RKR (7kW), etc...
4.2 from 148 reviews

Reviews

(82)
(41)
(10)
(4)
(11)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.3 (9)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (30%) · No (70%)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (9)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (5)
    • Small Bedroom (4)
    • Large Bedroom (1)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (10)

ehsan

ehsanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid Panasonic Air Condition - Very noisy

published

The indoor unit makes cracking noises when operating in heat mode even when the unit is switched off! it seems like it is caused by expansion/contraction and due to low quality parts inside the unit it makes the sound as long as 20minutes after the unit is switched off!

I even asked for Panasonic service to check it out and they acknowledged that there isn't any thing they can do with that kind of sound.

I wouldn't suggest Panasonic air condition units to anybody.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Bala

BalaDarwin

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Aircon

published

Made a right choice by choosing this aircon. It is quick in cooling with excellent energy saving ratings. Cooling is super fast as well as very comfortable and easy to use. The sleek design and beautiful make adds to the beauty of the house. Easy to clean, with many option on remote control to choose from.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
M4711

M4711Northern Rivers

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Outdoor unit far too noisy

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Alan

AlanVIC, 3029

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Panasonic air con from Harvey Norman

published

The air con was relatively good priced and packed with technology and noise level is also very low. The installation was smooth by Harvey Norman contractor and his apprentice. Professional work done especially with difficult installation at second level. The air con got our baby through the Melbourne summer last year and looking forward to another year with Panasonic.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Yi111

Yi111Hornsby

  • 5 reviews

Fast cooling for bedroom

published

Affordable price - bought at binglee when it was on special $870. The installation costed me $600 - of course it has nothing to do with review, just FYI give other buyer price guide :-)

Our bedroom is around 14, 15 Sqm, pretty fast cooling and its not noisy at all.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Meg

MegGold Coast

  • 6 reviews

AMAZING !!

published

I am super happy and impressed with the unit's cooling and heating functions! It fills a large room quickly and really lasts however it is not at all cheap to run. It is fairly quiet and very easy to use in regards to settings, temp control etc. The installation was brilliant.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Nori

Nori

  • 7 reviews

Large one and small one, both good

published

We bought 2.5kw and 7kw model, a small one for our bedroom and a larger one for open living/dining space. Initially, I thought we would need 8kw model but my installer said 7kw is enough and he was right. We haven't try heating option yet but both works efficiently and cooling down spaces quickly. I sometimes feels the small lights on the unit seems bright at night.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Laura

LauraMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Split system

published

Bought this from goodguys taylors lakes not knowing what to expect even though they were so helpful,i only jave a small home and was thrilled that it kept the entire house cool was powerful cool and it was easy to set up and program and it had allergic button yay

Date PurchasedNov 2006
Anand

AnandCranbourne West

  • 4 reviews

Good performance

published

Wanted to purchase a Mitsubishi but the guy in the store said this would be better than that. Tried and never regretted. Good performance in cooling. Heating is not that good during most winter days. Power usage also not that bad as i didn't end up receiving huge energy bills so far. Overall good performance

Date PurchasedApr 2017
BoscoJack

BoscoJackIpswich

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great air con for a large space

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

bloomer

bloomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good, quiet.

published

I bought two units (this one and the smaller one) based on energy ratings and Choice reviews. I've been very happy with how well they work and how quiet they are. There are some fancy functions that supposedly react to movement and daylight, but to be honest I've preferred to keep things simple and use the basic functions - I run them at relatively mild temps (25C in summer, 18C in winter), so the energy usage isn't bad at all. Note that I'm in Melbourne, so the unit isn't used constantly.

I'm pretty noise sensitive at night and these aren't really silent, but they are among the quietest I've come across at this price point.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good But has issues.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Kevin Wong

Kevin WongSydney

  • 4 reviews

Works like a charm

published

The AC has worked consistent since its installation. It was quick and easy to install and cause no problems for the installer. It also has the option to be silent, which is very beneficial to my studies, as it does not disturb me. The instructions for the AC is also very clear, and easy to use.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Clare A

Clare AAU

  • 4 reviews

Great Bedroom A/C

published

This Air conditioner was purchased for a bedroom. We have found it quiet to operate with an easy remote control. We purchased to replace and older unit and have noticed a great reduction in power bill. It keeps a regular sized room nice and cool in summer. It was easily installed in around an hour.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dean Farrelly

Dean FarrellySydney

  • 5 reviews

Very powerful, quiet and attractive to look at

published

Good unit. Multiple settings to keep the house cool and has the power required whilst not being too loud. Very happy with the purchase and price. Great value for money. It looks good on the wall compared to some other units. Outside the unit has a quiet mode which I'm not sure how it works but doesn't seem to reduce the cooling capability.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
denonDJ

denonDJMelb

  • 6 reviews

Excellent air con, very quiet and efficient

published

My energy bill has not increased despite me using this on a regular basis during hot summer nights, it is very quiet and allows me to sleep in comfort. It is also easy to use and has timer on/off functions. The heating function is also very good although I haven't had much use of it yet. I am sure it will do just fine during winter.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Kim

KimAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Energy efficient and quiet

published

We bought this for our bedroom, and yes, the inverter is quiet, and yes, the quiet mode is so quiet we leave it on through the night and kids can sleep sound, and yes, it is energy efficient. It helps us beat through the nights at this heatwave, I believe it will serve us well during the cold winter season as well. It is expensive, but Panasonic's reliability and good electronic will ensure this is a very good investment.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

James

James

  • 11 reviews

Reliable at all times

published

This was in the house when we purchased it, but so thankull for it! The unit itself is used all winter (live in cold climate) and never skips a beat. We clean out the filters fairly regularly, but even then there isnt alot of build up. Cant really comment on the cold cycle since we rarely use. Would purchase a Panasonic again!

Date PurchasedMay 2016

ChocolatePudding

ChocolatePuddingSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Effective at heating and cooling

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Amy

AmyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great love it!

published

We got these installed in the bedrooms after a bit of a heatwave. We're so glad we did they're quiet and easy to use, the settings etc are very straightforward. The installation was pretty fast all done in a day, but as it is summer there was a bit of waiting to get an install date.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 2 of 8

See all Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Shotang

Shotangasked

Hello, I have the Z12RKR and the Z09RKR installed in the kids bedrooms 3 years ago. The first nights we used them they would not cool consistently. It would start off at a correct temp, then warm up over the night. We followed the instructions carefully. They were on cool mode, econavi off and fan on auto. After trying multiple combinations we were never able to get the rooms to stay at a constant temp. We rang the installer who advised that we shouldn't use auto, as it doesn't keep the room consistency cool, but to use a low fan setting. Which we have been successfully using since.

The other day I was cleaning the filters and noticed huge amounts of mould growing inside the unit. The last clean and service was conducted 15 months ago. I rang the installer who stated using low fan settings typically contributes to mould growing, and seemed to think it just needed a clean and service.

I feel like this is a no win situation if I follow what has been advised. What settings should I realistically be using to keep the unit clean and actually cooling at night? Has anyone else encountered this?
I feel auto at night should work when econovi is off?

I understand all units need regular servicing. However I cannot believe this amount of mould would grow in such a short amount of time unless something is wrong. None of our other brand of air conditioners we have purchased in our properties over the years have behaved like this. Thank-you.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Shotang, thank you for your query. Mould build up is due to the environment. Running the unit on any particular mode will not add to this or remove it. We would recommend frequent cleaning of the filters, but also of the whole unit.
Auto will detect the temperature and the unit will ramp down accordingly, and when the temperature rises, turn back on. This is why it would have been suggested to use the product in manual mode, to have the unit consistently running the whole night.

We would recommend at the end of each summer running the unit on a heating cycle (if it isn't used on heat in winter) to dry up any stored moisture within the unit.


Keith

Keithasked

Where to buy and price and who to install and how much?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Keith, thank you for your enquiry, the model you have mentioned is no longer available on the market, but we have a newer generation with many great functions and features. Please see all of the details here, including where you can purchase this unit. We also have a great app to ensure you are getting the right size air conditioner for the room, we highly recommend this prior to purchase of the unit. If you have any questions please reach out to our team on 132600 for further assistance.
https://www.panasonic.com/au/air-conditioning/residential/single-room-air-conditioning/premium-reverse-cycle-wall-mounted-split-system.html


mordster

mordsterasked

ASTG18KUCA

Can you please advise what is the highest possible level this unit may be installed on the the wall? ie. What is the necessary clearance from the top of the unit to the ceiling? As I've noticed the unit expands outwards (not so ,much upwards) during operation

thanks

2 answers
MonkeyBaby
MonkeyBaby

This is a question for the installer or electrician but mine is installed quite high up with about a open hand space to the ceiling. I was told this will be ok and I hope it doesn’t cause any issue down the track.

mordster
mordster

Thanks, is that for this same Fujitsu designer model? When it operates, the front panel extends forwards and up. Is your hand distance enough for this?


Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.