?
? !

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

1.0

11 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(11)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (9)
  • Transparency
    1.3 (6)
  • Customer Service
    1.3 (9)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 1-2 months (5)
    • 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (11)
Previous
Next

Great value and great products

published

Great premium and love being able to make my own changes on the web portal. Also, happy with the excess buster product meaning I don't pay an excess in the event of a claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelNissan Patrol Y62 Ti-L
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance

Thanks for the great review, we think our excess buster product is pretty good too, hopefully you will never need it though.

PD stands for pure disaster

published

I have comprehensive insurance with these guys. Recently was taken out by a truck and driver of the truck taken full responsibility for the accident. PD decided that they will write the car off but hang on wont pay me out as i have had a suspension 5 years ago. Well PD is i come to your house and break your leg because your a moron is it your fault or mine. DO NOT insure your car, home or anything with these freaking morons.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Extremely disappointed

Extremely disappointedSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ripped off

published

If you insure with this company then expect to do all the running around on their behalf, providing a comprehensive incident report with photos, pay up front, provide a licence history check despite filling out and supplying the legal forms for them to obtain it themselves, and wait indefinitely to finalise claims.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Do not trust them

Do not trust themSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don’t ever use this insurance company

published

This company is not helpful at all in the event of you their client needing to make a claim. Received notification from another company of a small fender bender ( not my fault). No damage to my vehicle even but damage to theirs. Had to pay insurance excess up front obtain and provide license history and claims information up front or they won’t action anything. Still waiting on outcome but indications are won’t get my excess money back. Frustrating time consuming and treated like a criminal for stopping and rendering assistance on a not at fault bump.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how PD Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gay

GayCentral, SA

Policy cancelled

published

Policy was cancelled after making a claim when we hit a kangaroo
At first they said ok get windscreen repaired which we did then they told us that they were not informed of a provisional licence and cancelled all policies on 4 cars we had insured with them
Had to pay for winscreen repair ourselves and didnt bother to repair other panels
They did refund the policy value which had only just been renewed
Then they totally stuffed up and reimbursed us for the previous years policy too
Ah you win some and lose some

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Rodeo RA (2003-2008)
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Never again

Never againSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst organisation experience ever

published

Claim made against me in I am not at fault accident. Spent 5 hours so far dealing with processing and I have to pay excess up front for claim from a third party to be processed. No damage to my vehicle at all. I am supposed to be their customer/ client and they should be representing me. Probably won’t be my excess back now they have money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Bloh

Bloh

  • 2 reviews

Lacks customer service and support

published

Was sideswiped by a truck and so the accident wasn't my fault. Called PD to help push the process along with the third party insurer (other person had put forward a claim) and to be honest - the woman who answered couldn't have been less interested or nonchalent in the situation. Responded later than the stated 48hrs return time and just overall unhelpful. I've ended up just directly dealing with the 3rd party because PD just don't seem to think it's worth their time.

Anyway, I switched to PD on price so the faults really on me. If you're looking for customer support or help, this is not the insurance company for you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Mark S

Mark SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

not happy JAN

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Worst insurance agent ever

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

If you like your car..... insure it with someone else!

published

I lodged a claim after hitting a kangaroo, after over a month waiting for PD Insurance to approve the assessment from the smash repairers, and after lots of calls following up from me, they denied the claim based on a previous claim I didn't tell them about...…. a no excess payable windscreen repair (I didn't even know this counted as a claim on my history) from my previous insurer. End of the day if you want to have your car covered go with someone else...… this looks to be over a $20 000 mistake on my behalf.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how PD Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Just hopeless!

published

Slow response, didn’t want to offer any help being a not at fault claim they were always passing the buck to the someone else, another department or the other insurer

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Christopher

ChristopherSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Crappy insurance company, stay away. They are cheap for a reason.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Camry XV40
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all PD Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Giles B.

Giles B.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Most of the reviews here are negative. The premiums are extremely competitive but does that come at a cost to the service should I need to make a claim?

1 answer
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance

Hi Giles,

Thanks for reaching out. Our claims process is first class for 99% of claims lodged, the only ones that have issues are as a result of either non disclosure or failure to follow our process at claims time. Unfortunately its only the negative comments that seem to make review pages though :(
We hope to see you join us soon
Regards
PD

RKB

RKBasked

PD Insurance

Does PD advise when a comprehensive motor vehicle policy is due for renewal ?

1 answer
Gay
Gay

yes they send an email advising you that the renewal fee will automatically be deducted from your nominated acc/ c/card about two or three weeks beforehand and to check the details and make any changes if need be

jack W.

jack W.asked

PD Insurance

I have just paid for car insurance with your company and wanted to ask a question. I don't use twitter and I am concerned your company is a scam as I cannot speak to any one and if I ever have an insurance question how can I speak to anyone. If I don't get a reply quickly I will ring my visacard provider and cancel the transaction
Peter Hall

1 answer
Jack T.
Jack T.

Hi Peter, I can vouch for the legitimacy of the company having dealt with them. I’d encourage you to call them on 1800776473 when they open on Tuesday 27th after the public holiday.

See all PD Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and PD Insurance representatives

PD Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 PD Insurance
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Coverage TypeThird Party Property DamageComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterPacific International Insurance Pty LtdPacific International Insurance Pty LtdPacific International Insurance Pty Ltd
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedReduced Excess IncludedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Included

Optional extra, benefits stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle is returned to you or its owner;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of

Optional extra, benefits stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle is returned to you or its owner;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of
Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Towing Costs Not IncludedIncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot IncludedIncluded up to $500Not Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Included

Included, benefit stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle has been recovered and is returned to you or its owner undamaged;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced, if it is recovered damaged;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of

Included, benefit stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle has been recovered and is returned to you or its owner undamaged;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced, if it is recovered damaged;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of
Lock and Key ReplacementNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000Not Included
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Included

If your vehicle is deemed a Total Loss because of damage or theft within the first 12 months of its original new car registration, the replacement vehicle will be:

  • of the same make, model, and series as the damaged or stolen vehicle; and
  • fitted with the same insured modifications and standard accessories.

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Included up to $5,000Not ApplicableIncluded, up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
FireNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
CollisionNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Natural EventsNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 PD Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.