?
? !

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

2.6

10 reviews
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (9)
  • Transparency
    3.0 (8)
  • Customer Service
    3.0 (9)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (1)
    • 1-2 weeks (2)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (10) · No
Previous
Next

Great value and great products

published

Great premium and love being able to make my own changes on the web portal. Also, happy with the excess buster product meaning I don't pay an excess in the event of a claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelNissan Patrol Y62 Ti-L
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance

Thanks for the great review, we think our excess buster product is pretty good too, hopefully you will never need it though.

James

JamesSydney, NSW

My experience was quite positive

published

Don’t really understand the bad reviews my experience was quite positive found them easy to deal with, claim process was easy and was resolved in just over a week. Considering the low cost and ease of setting up I’ve found them to be a good insurance company to deal with. The only negative would be that they were somewhat difficult to contact through phone they could definitely find room for improvement.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Prado J120
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance
Really

ReallySouth Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Claim experience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelNissan Navara NP300 / D23
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD Insurance PD Insurance

Thank you for the feedback, were so glad the process was simple and straightforward!

Kind Regards
PD Insurance

Fiona

FionaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance
Car Insurance

Find out how PD Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy

AndySydney, NSW

Happy Customer and i have to write this review

published

PD insurance offers very competitive price vs all other insurers and by reading some comments here I decided to take a massive risk to go with them however my experience proves that here is no risk at all.
A truck hit back of my car and refused to provide his insurance details as there was no damage to the truck, i then asked PD insruance to help me and they did it with no excess from my side. All claim was done within one week and they paid cash into my account and i paid to the smash repairer by myself. Very good experience and I will keep recommending to others.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance

Thanks for the great review, we are pleased we could help you in your time of need.

christina s.

christina s.Perth, WA

Save yourself !!!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Mustang FM Fastback GT
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Related Articles
Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
Abbey-marie S.

Abbey-marie S.Far North Queensland, QLD

Beware of these animals

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Adam S.

Adam S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Used to be with them, thought I’d perhaps give them another go

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 6
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes

The worst insurance company.

published

Took 2 months to completely settle a claim that I wasn't at fault for. Had to follow up multiple timed and got lied to everytime. Rubbish customer service were rude, and had no transparency in their process. They deleted all my honest reviews and comments on Facebook and ended up disabling reviews because of all the negative reviews.
Honestly would give them a minus star review if I could.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Greg Perry

Greg PerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My experience dealing with PD has been excellent.

published

PD's premiums have always been much lower than the competition, and I always compare at renewal time. But the real test of an insurance company is their performance when you need to make a claim. A few weeks ago I was tail-ended by an uninsured driver while waiting in traffic. The impact wrote off my car. I phoned PD from the crash scene and they organised a tow-truck immediately. My car was assessed, the claim paid out, and I was in a new car within two weeks. The consultants at PD were always polite and kept me informed at every stage. My experience with PD over the years has been excellent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX XB
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car Insurance

Find out how PD Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Saxon Poser

Saxon PoserMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Are you a young person or own an older car?

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Falcon AU 2001 XR6 VCT
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all PD Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Giles B.

Giles B.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Most of the reviews here are negative. The premiums are extremely competitive but does that come at a cost to the service should I need to make a claim?

1 answer
PD Insurance
PD InsurancePD Insurance

Hi Giles,

Thanks for reaching out. Our claims process is first class for 99% of claims lodged, the only ones that have issues are as a result of either non disclosure or failure to follow our process at claims time. Unfortunately its only the negative comments that seem to make review pages though :(
We hope to see you join us soon
Regards
PD

RKB

RKBasked

PD Insurance

Does PD advise when a comprehensive motor vehicle policy is due for renewal ?

1 answer
Gay
Gay

yes they send an email advising you that the renewal fee will automatically be deducted from your nominated acc/ c/card about two or three weeks beforehand and to check the details and make any changes if need be

jack W.

jack W.asked

PD Insurance

I have just paid for car insurance with your company and wanted to ask a question. I don't use twitter and I am concerned your company is a scam as I cannot speak to any one and if I ever have an insurance question how can I speak to anyone. If I don't get a reply quickly I will ring my visacard provider and cancel the transaction
Peter Hall

1 answer
Jack T.
Jack T.

Hi Peter, I can vouch for the legitimacy of the company having dealt with them. I’d encourage you to call them on 1800776473 when they open on Tuesday 27th after the public holiday.

See all PD Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and PD Insurance representatives

PD Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 PD Insurance
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Coverage TypeThird Party Property DamageComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterPacific International Insurance Pty LtdPacific International Insurance Pty LtdPacific International Insurance Pty Ltd
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedReduced Excess IncludedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Included

Optional extra, benefits stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle is returned to you or its owner;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of

Optional extra, benefits stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle is returned to you or its owner;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of
Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Towing Costs Not IncludedIncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot IncludedIncluded up to $500Not Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Included

Included, benefit stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle has been recovered and is returned to you or its owner undamaged;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced, if it is recovered damaged;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of

Included, benefit stop when any one of the following conditions is met:

  • The hire car benefit has been provided for 14 days;
  • Your vehicle has been recovered and is returned to you or its owner undamaged;
  • Your vehicle has been repaired or replaced, if it is recovered damaged;
  • 72 hours after an offer is made to settle the loss on a vehicle that is determine to be a write-of
Lock and Key ReplacementNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000Not Included
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Included

If your vehicle is deemed a Total Loss because of damage or theft within the first 12 months of its original new car registration, the replacement vehicle will be:

  • of the same make, model, and series as the damaged or stolen vehicle; and
  • fitted with the same insured modifications and standard accessories.

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Included up to $5,000Not ApplicableIncluded, up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
FireNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
CollisionNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Natural EventsNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftNot IncludedIncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 PD Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.