1 photo
Pennytel
4.4 from 1,196 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mobile Phone Service Providers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Pennytel

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Brian J.
Brian J.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

I give you 4 stars, because 5 would be perfection. no one or any entity is perfect. Pennytel however come damn close,

published

I have found/had no problems with the network. No problems with download either. In fact all is well with the service. Cheap efficient and reliable. One can't ask for anything more,

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks so much for your positive review, Brian!
We're so glad to hear that you are enjoying your Pennytel Mobile Plan.

- The Pennytel Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

satisfied with Pennytel

published

I recently purchased a Pennytel account. The price was very competitive compared to other carriers. The phone operator was very helpful in setting it up. Also comes with voicemail ( previous carrier did not ) a bonus for small business. Quite happy with whole outcome.

Incentivised Review No
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks for sharing your experience!
- Pennytel

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
rohloffp
rohloffpSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Pennytel use only a PART of the Telstra network.

published

Bought a Pennytel plan for travelling Australia based on them using the Telstra network. What a MAJOR disappointment! VERY poor coverage away from the east coast of Australia. They claim to cover most Telstra service locations but we found very, very little coverage, and they are not transparent about it! My partner has a plan direct with Telstra and she gets coverage when my Pennytel plan most ties doesn't. DO NOT rely on a Pennytel plan for travel around Australia. Based on experience, they only service the east coast. Am searching for an alternate provider.

Value for Money
2/5
Customer Service
3/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
rohloffp
rohloffp
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graham
Graham
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed

published

Unfortunately I had a issue with the sim card. Kept cutting out during calls and sim kept on resetting. Was told to clean sim card which I did but didn't change the outcome. Switched providers to Felix which I've had a awesome outcome with. In switching I was only a couple of days into a new month. Still getting charged the whole $30 which is poor form.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phone Service Providers

Find out how Pennytel compares to other Mobile Phone Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter
PeterSouthern and Hills, SA

You asked for it.

published

Its ok so far for me on Kangaroo Island. I dont use my smart phone very much for calls, only sometimes txts. I use it for Skype when its turned on and I am away from my PC at home. I doubt very much that I am using so many MB at all per month, but it would be nice for you to let me, and your other customers know how many MB we use monthly. I'm 79 yrs young, quite deaf, and hate voice mails, so I delete them when they appear on my phone. I would like them stopped to enter my phone if possible. Thank you.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Reasonable reception in poor areas

published

Only one bar of reception at home. Have to rely on wifi calling. Otherwise very hapy with the service. Can reception be improved? I asmit the tevious carrier was no better

Value for Money
5/5
Local Reception
2/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Happy I changed over to you.

published

Happy with all aspects so far.
Coverage OK, download speed fine by me.
I chose pennyroyal as it offered me best price for the limited way I use my mobile .
I don't have a Landline.

.

Value for Money
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Regards,
The Pennytel Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider
Top Internet & Mobile Phone Service Providers in 2020!

Internet and mobile phone service are necessities of modern life, so it's important we have the best coverage and service at the best price possible. Here are our Award Winners for the Internet Service Providers (ISPs) and Mobile Phone Service Providers (MPSPs) categories in 2020. View specific ratings such as Customer Service, Adequate Speeds for ISPs and Local Reception for MSPs.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.22 Nov 2019
top-internet-mobile-phone-service-providers-in-2020
Next
Mark Bibby
Mark BibbyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Very poor reception.

published

Using the Telstra network you would expect the same coverage but no because Telstra only sell a portion of their signal, not 100%.
Had to change back to Telstra to get a signal strong enough in Alfredton to be able hold a conversation with out drop outs. Same with data we had to use WiFi from the house to get data.

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
3/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alicia
AliciaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great personal service

published

Fab that this is an Aussie company with Aussie staff. Easy to switch. Good price.
Very efficient, friendly staff without waiting ages.
Due to Melbourne's lockdown, haven't tested further afield.
Website ok.

Incentivised Review No
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

- The Pennytel Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phone Service Providers

Find out how Pennytel compares to other Mobile Phone Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zahra A.
Zahra A.
  • 2 reviews

I don’t recommend it at all!

published

Low signal everywhere! struggling play a video! Awful around CBD and really slow when you go further! I switched to another provider they charged me for another month for nothing!! I complained they said it’s our policy! Don’t recommend this rubbish at all

Value for Money
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

good service

published

overall good service with a good price , meets my needs. Occasional loss of signal, or slow response when checking in, other people go in front and they have faster check in .

Value for Money
4/5
Local Reception
3/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mary
MarySydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A bit slow

published

I found that when I am out and about, the data speed can be quite slow. However, the phone connections are good. I've experienced dropouts, but usually when driving hands-free.

Value for Money
3/5
Customer Service
3/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phone Service Providers

Find out how Pennytel compares to other Mobile Phone Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
none
none
  • 2 reviews

So far so good.

published

No problems to date, have noticed strength of signal is often lower to what it was prior to switching. With Covid lockdown I've been unable to check reception far from home.

Value for Money
5/5
Customer Service
5/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thank you for giving us a go!
Regards,
The Pennytel Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Del
DelMid North Coast, NSW

Good service, no problems.

published

No problems so far, all running smoothly in my area. Can’t comment on Network coverage in country areas yet. Did recommend Pennytel to family and received reward promptly thank you.

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
5/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks for sharing your experience!
Regards,
The Pennytel Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Edward
EdwardLogan City
  • 30 reviews
  • 27 likes

Service OK

published

The hassle is if you have to make phone contact with PennyTel, the response to my query was, the next day call, from PennyTel. A call back is better than none! However had I known about that to start with, I wouldn't have joined PennyTel

Value for Money
4/5
Customer Service
3/5
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Hi Edward, we’re sorry to hear about your experience. We have reached out to our Client Experience Manager to get a little more insight into what happened here. We would like to discuss your experience further, we have sent you a message.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

lee c.
lee c.asked

does Pennytel allow for 19 numbers for text.
with respect

3 answers
Oz Travellers
Oz Travellers

I don't know, suggest you contact Pennytel, real easy to talk to.

DLVR2U
DLVR2U

When u say "allow for 19 numbers for text" do u mean can u send the same text msg to 19 different numbers all at once ?

Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Hi Lee,

19 numbers are considered Premium Service numbers, the person dialling or sms’ing the number pays for the call / sms itself and is at a premium rate for that service. The rate is not set by Pennytel as it is a third party number and service. Pennytel barr the ability to access these numbers due to the premium charges and to avoid bill shock for customers.

Regards,
Pennytel

Jennifer S.
Jennifer S.asked

We have had no ph service for 2 weeks , and had no satisfaction from the numerous calls we've put into pennytell?

1 answer
Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Hi Jennifer, thanks for reaching out. We're here to help! We have sent you a message to assist.
- Pennytel.

Not happy customer
Not happy customerasked

Why can’t I send pictures using my iphone 8

2 answers
Peter
Peter

I know very little about smart phones, but my Nokia does send photo's.

Pennytel
Pennytel Pennytel

Thanks for reaching out. This may be a setting on your phone, we can assist with troubleshooting this for you.
We have sent you a message to get your Pennytel mobile details.

- The Pennytel Team

See all Pennytel questions

Get an answer from our members and Pennytel representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phone Service Providers
Network UsedTelstra
International Roaming Offered Yes
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.