??!
2 photos
Pentair Rebel
3.6 from 69 reviews

See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
37
4 star
2
3 star
6
2 star
13
1 star
11

Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 21 reviews
  • 14 likes

Massive regret

published

Pentair Rebel 2 owner. Whoever designed the connector to the pressure plate should be shot. Still unable to clean a small pool correctly. Also preventing all shops from advertising a price online is a dick move. Don't pay more than 500 for one.

Purchased in September 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Small
See all answers

3 months needs tires

published

The first clue should have been the original tires wouldn’t make it over the drain covers. The guy at Leslie’s kicked in an upgraded tire gratis. Now less than 3 months it is getting caught on the drains. A quick inspection, the tires show excessive ware. I gave up my Hayward for this because I was tired of replacing the shoes every 2 years. I wish I had my Hayward back!

Purchased in July 2019 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
TC80

TC80Gold Coast

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Useless tile tyre - class action required

published

You can still see the ads on YouTube saying it works on tiled pool. The fact that they released a "tile tyre" means it won't work on tiled pools. I bought the new tiled tyres. Useless after 2 weeks. If there is a class action on this pool cleaner, sign me up.

Purchased in November 2017 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Faulty after 5 months and waiting over a month for warranty repair / replacement

published

Worked well for 5 months then one wheel stopped turning so it just cleaned a small circle in the deep end. Returned under warranty and still waiting after a month.

Purchased in February 2019 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Scott

ScottNortheast, VIC

Not for TILED POOLS

published

Purchased for us as a gift. The supplier claimed you could watch it all day waiting for it to clean a certain spot. I’ve tried everything and I cannot get it to leave the deep end of the pool. Lacks weight, grip and quality!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
See all answers

Cleaner fail

published

My cleaner started going around in circles i was told to replace the tyres and did so, still no good. They sent me another cleaner that broke down after only 8 months. Won't cover under it warranty and the only explanation is that it is a water problem !!! OH DEAR DID IT GET WET !

Purchased in July 2016 for $680.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Jen

JenMurray Region, NSW

Not Good

published

Bought the Pentair Rebel over 12 months ago, first one had to be replaced due to a bearing issue with the wheels. Replacement worked great for a few months, now it just cleans in one area of the pool. I've adjusted flow, backwashed, just done everything to get it to work properly. Won't climb walls as it shows in the promotional video, clearly not good for tiled pools, this should be stated on the product packaging, so that consumers are aware before outlaying hundreds of dollars on a product that is not fit for purpose. Very disappointed.

Purchased in December 2017 for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

John

JohnSydney, NSW

Disappointing.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Pool Size Small
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Polly P

Polly PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This product is useless in lap pools.

published

Useless in lap pools. Only cleans one end, then swirls and stays down that end. My pool shop said there may be a swivel device to stop the twirling and twisting. Expensive and useless.

Purchased in January 2019 for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
bill

billSouth East Queensland, QLD

useless

published

the rebel pool cleaner is absolutely useless on tiled pools. even with the heavier rubber tyres. it has absolutely no traction . it is impossible to get any suggestions on what to do

Purchased in November 2018.


Dissapointed

DissapointedSydney, NSW

worked well in first year but now experiencing problems

published

first year had no issues Worked quietly and reliable. Won't climb tiled pool wall or steps although did do the floor perfectly. after about 1 year stopped covering whole pool and stayed around the deep end only. had a new unit sent out under warranty and cleaner worked well however 3 months later having the same issue with cleaner only doing deeper half of pool.

Purchased in October 2017.

Pool Size Average

Duke

DukeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

2 years on and still loving it.

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

no good on tile pool

published

will work OK for awhile but gets stuck while trying to climb walls of pool the advert for the vac says that it is good in tile pools but all the experts say that it is not it is very misleading to advertise and it should be addressed to stop people spending money on something that that the makers know won't work As I understand it know they are sticky tyres available now at about $80 surely by bringing them out it's an admission that people who bought these vacs were ripped off In my opinion

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Awesome pool cleaner

published

I have had this for over 12 months and it’s the best cleaner ever on concrete pool with pebble finish
Amazing results and never stops
Just had to increase flow to climb walls
Too many words too many words too many words too many words too many words too many words

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dave R

Dave RLakeland

I recently switched to a Pentair Rebel and have absolutely no regrets.... it was easy to setup

published

My pool is enclosed by a lanai so most of the debri is small but it goes over the raised drain with ease. It sometimes will tip on its side while cleaning the sides but it always rights itself fairly quickly. I am very pleased with the Rebel’s performance so far.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 32 likes

Set and Forget

published

I wanted a cleaner that does a better job on big leaves etc. than conventional suction side 'vacuum' cleaners - I've had a Zodiac, a Kreepy and a cheapo Bunnings (which actually wasn't bad). But I baulked at the price of a proper robotic cleaner (~$1500) and as a compromise I bought this Rebel at around $500. Despite having a fairly small looking orifice, it can pick up almost anything and has never 'stalled'. It's a set and forget deal, and my pool has never looked better.
It's silent and looks well built. I can't speak to its longevity, having had it less than a year, but I think I'd happily pay for any parts it does need in future, given that it does such a great job.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jethro5

Jethro5Sydney

Great cleaner BUT

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Snaggley

SnaggleyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

WARNING - WILL FAIL after 18 months - within 3yr. Warranty.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Brent

Brent

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Its ok

published

Had this cleaner for 2yrs now, it does a great job in my fiberglass pool. .... BUT..... Be prepared to buy replacement gears. Ive just had to order my second drive shaft. Seems to be a huge week point on the vacuum. Next time i will change to a somthing a little more robust.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Don't buy

published

Great pool cleaner to begin with untill you have to buy spare parts lasted only 12 months before cogs and tyres are worn out and need replacing....
Cost to replace these is ridiculous never will i buy another cheaper and easier to buy a cheaper pool cleaner every year if it lasts 12 months and a whole lot less hassle.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Chris J.

Chris J.asked

My Rebel frequently ends up on its side, one wheel laying flat against the pool bottom and the other touching nothing. Very frustrating. Any suggestions?

No answers

Roy M

Roy Masked

My Rebel suction pool cleaner was working perfectly from new (purchased in December 2018) but it has now decided to try and climb out of the pool which leads to it loudly sucking air and causing issues with the pump and filter. I have added water to the pool and adjusted the pressure gauge to lessen the suction pressure slightly and also moved the weight on the hose a little further up the hose away from the unit. Seems to have worked so far but just waiting longer to see if I have succeeded. Any other suggestions will be appreciated.
Roy.

1 answer
bill
bill

Mine was so useless in a tiled pool I got rid of it.


chris A

chris Aasked

I contacted the manufacturer as the barrel of the rebel pool cleaner was just doing tiny circles in the pool.They were really helpful and sent me a new replacement barrel.under warrenty.
My problem is now the climbing out of the pool by the barrel and at different times the screaming noise coming from the filter valve.No matter how many times I have adjusted it...works great for a couple of hours then starts to climb out or scream.I have always checked the troubleshoot page and correct water level in pool...its doing my head in...any suggestions greatly appreciated.
puchased November 2018.new barrel replaced May 2019.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Pentair representatives

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)799

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.