2 photos
Pentair Rebel
3.2 from 116 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Pentair? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.1
16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (16)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (15)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Ash F
Ash FSydney, NSW

Best Pool cleaner owned, when it was working

published

Was the best pool cleaner that I have owned. It picks up debris, keeps algae off surfaces, most leaves, but gum leaf stems can jam gears as the gears wear.
also large twigs can get stick in entry of cleaner (tell-tale sign is cleaner going round in circles or hose tangling on itself). I echo other reviews the parts wear out but are at least straightforward to replace with basic mechanical knowledge.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
2/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annette G
Annette GAU
  • 2 reviews

it is not the same as the austral S6 although it claims to be the same.

published

From the day i put it in my pool, it just keeps stopping all the time and cannot seem to cope with any small leaves. My Austral S6 cleaner never had this problem. There is nothing wrong with my pump or filter. No matter how many times i take it out and put it back in, it will run for a short time and keep stopping.

Purchased in November 2021 for $445.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
1/5
Small Debris Cleaning
1/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
maria
mariaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great pool cleaner

published

I purchased a rebel pool cleaner and it was doing an amazing job of cleaning my pool but then just over 2 years or so it stopped working properly. I emailed Pentair and requested they replace it and they dropped off a brand new pool cleaner to my home. Pentair offered me great service and im really happy with my pool cleaner. I had tried many pool cleaners before and the Rebel is by far the best in cleaning the pool, it climbs the walls, picks up leaves and works its way around the whole pool.

Purchased in October 2019 for $579.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Seawater
SeawaterSydney, NSW
  • Verified

Expensive and doesn't last long

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $649.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter L.
Peter L.South East Queensland, QLD

Do not buy this

published

We bought this in August 2017. We have had it replaced twice under warranty already. Today I went out to the pool to find it is broken again. Now it’s out of warranty. Every time the gearing has broken, now it just goes in circles. The last time they replaced it, they upgraded our rebel 1 to version 2. This one has lasted the shortest amount of time.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kathleen
KathleenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Replacing wheels and gears does not work.

published

Just spent $150 on a refurbish kit as the unit slowed down and doing donuts. Wasted $150.00 as was provided with an old kit with smooth wheels. Unit is now just sitting there with wheels moving very slowly. Reset suction, back washed and removed skimmer basket, suction is at Max. But doesn't work at all.

Purchased in February 2018 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $599.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
2/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian
BrianSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rebel 2 not what it is made out to be

published

We required a new pool cleaner, Rebel 2 was recommended to do the job required, leafy pool clean and a cleaner that could climb walls, to start with it did not work, we did a back wash, measured flow and checked all instructions and we have a cleaner that works.
Further comment from above, after running the cleaner for a while now, we have had to replace the pump and chlorination cell, with new improved water flow the cleaner work as it should, it does the job as intended and our has not looked this good since it was built 13 years ago.

Purchased in January 2021 for $550.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
KJW
KJWSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Two years on, still going strong

published

Has been by far the best I've owned. We have an oval-shaped pebblecrete pool, surrounded by trees. Plenty of leaves of all shapes and sizes go in, but it deals with them no problem. Finally stopped covering the whole pool recently after two years of solid daily use. Drive shaft was worn. Replaced using tune-up kit. Away she goes again, good as new. Couldn't recommend more.

Purchased in September 2018 for $599.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poorly designed plastic drive - don't buy.

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $525.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
2/5
Small Debris Cleaning
2/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julian M.
Julian M.Perth, WA

not for me

published

I purchased a Rebel 2 approximately four weeks ago and find it moves around the pool ok but has no brushes and doesn't scrub the surface of the pool so algae forms on the side walls. This never happened with the old creepy crawly. I was also disappointed to read in the instructions only after I has purchased it that it was only meant to run for two hours a day which is a bit annoying as the filter runs for at least double that as I am sure most pool filtration systems do. For me this cleaner is a waste of money and I have taken it out of the pool and gone back to my old creepy crawly.

Purchased in November 2020 at Best Price Pool Equipment for $599.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John
JohnRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Happy with Rebel 2

published

I originally had all sorts of issues with the Rebel 2 not working but realised I was missing the hose float, I went back to the store & once I put on the hose float it works great. It has great suction & climbs the walls. It’s a really good quality built product & easy to access the internal components if you need to change any worn parts in the future. Lots of spare parts available also in case anything needs replacing.
The service from Pentair was really good also. They pointed me on the right direction to fix the issue I was having with the set up. Who knew the hose float was so important.

Purchased in September 2020 for $600.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
5/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Keith
KeithSouth East Queensland, QLD

Working beautifully

published

This cleaner is a new one, replacing an old creepy crawly. It is actually the second one, the first one failed after about 6 months, but Pantair simply replaced it, which was excellent. Since it's been replaced, it's performed perfectly, way better than our old one.

Purchased in September 2019 for $699.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adso
AdsoSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Least Worst of all the Pool Cleaners!

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $550.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
5/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve
SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Update at 2 years old. Worked really well for a while, but has died now and no parts are available.

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $499.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
2/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett
BrettSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Works really well for us

published

We have a 9m x 4m pool. Never really happy with the other type of creepy suction cleaner, never did a good job. Finally purchased the Rebel 2 and this has answered all our questions and concerns. Drone photo

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019 at Mr Pool Man for $500.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Large
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Allison H.
Allison H.asked

Hi, My Rebel is getting stuck at the bottom of the wall where ever i put it in my pool. We have recently had the pump replaced and it worked fine before that. I have tried changing the section level and have checked for derbies. Any suggestions?

No answers
Silly
Sillyasked

the filters are clean, great suction, no blockages, the cogs are all good, the valve in the skimmer box is fully closed to fast BUT the wheels are only turning 5 times per minute . Any advice please!

No answers
Persian
Persianasked

Cleaner constantly spins in circles; wheels turning in opposite direction. Remedial action ?

1 answer
Alisa S.
Alisa S.

I’m having the same problem! What did you do?

See all Pentair Rebel questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)799
Replaced byPentair Rebel 2 Automatic Vacuum Pool Cleaner
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.