2 photos
Pentair Rebel
3.2 from 112 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Pentair? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (31)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (31)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (29)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (27)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

The Worst Pool Vacuum Cleaner on the market

published

This is absolutely the worst vacuum you can ever buy for your pool. It keeps circling and circling, and circling, in one area. Never goes from one side of the pool to the other. Always leaves part of the pool not cleaned…. So annoying!
Please, please, do not waste your money !

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
1/5
Small Debris Cleaning
2/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ninka
NinkaAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor durability

published

Having used a Rebel 1 for about 4 years, it was great for the first couple of years, then the small plastic gears started failing through apparent wear, no longer engaging reliably. Purchased a 'tune up' kit last year, which got me another year or so, but now it just stops when a wheel touches the side of the pool.
Disappointed at the durability of this product.

Purchased for $550.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BL
BLNSW, 2020
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

stopped working after 14months

published

stopped working after 14 months which was coverred by warranty ,sent back to dealer and had been told no spare parts after 4 weeks ... and no one knew when the parts would come... still waiting ...

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Demon
DemonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • Verified

Planned Obsolescence???

published

Purchased November 2017. February 2019 it began going in circles and stayed in deep end. Returned and "left drive" was replaced under warranty. November 2019 problem returned again "left drive" was replaced again under warranty. November 2020 problem returned, this time "left drive" and "right hand drive" were replaced under warranty. November 2021 guess what? Yep broken again. Warranty now expired. I have had a gut-full of this product. You would think Pentair would rectify the issue and at least replace/subsidise the faulty product. It seems it is not meant to be used for 8hrs a day 7 days a week 365 days of the year. Go buy something else if you don't want the thing to fail. annually.

Purchased in November 2017 for $550.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

It is terrible and I wish I never bought is

published

It does not clean the pool very well. E.g it can not pick up leaves or stick. It also jams up on these items.
I can clean the pool better with a net and a broom.
The rebel 2 is not design for an outdoor pool

Purchased in June 2021 for $500.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
1/5
Small Debris Cleaning
1/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Harry
HarryCentral Queensland, QLD

Going around in circles

published

We have been using this pool cleaner for a few years now. It is a fantastic little cleaner but after the first one was replaced under warranty and now this one after 18 months to 2 years I have lost faith in the machine. I now have to replace this machine again and am having trouble deciding whether to invest in the same one again only to be concerned it will continue to do the same

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Basil
BasilSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Fit for purpose?

published

Just to add to the growing chorus of complaints re this product, our experience mirrors that of other contributors to this forum. Almost 12 months to the day, the previous unit was replaced under warranty. Now the same issue has resurfaced (if you can excuse the pun). Going around in circles and staying at one end of the pool. Conveniently, the warranty expired 6 months ago, but surely given the failure rate this product would classify as not fit for purpose under the Consumer Law.
I will say that when it did work it was good but I think the company should include more robust materials
and parts to at least last longer than the warranty. Until then, certainly would not recommend.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
3/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Chris H.
Chris H.South East Queensland, QLD

I wouldn't buy this again.

published

Worked *ok* for about a year. When it runs well it's a really effective cleaner. The problem is it will often not run at all even when there's a strong flow. After 18 months it stopped all together. I bought the tune up kit which is a complete waste of $150 for parts that didn't need to be replaced (maybe the plastic bearings did, $10 worth)

Purchased in November 2019 for $600.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lisha_gal
lisha_galSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 128 reviews
  • 37 likes

Fantastic and great price

published

Great product. We tried many pool cleaners and they were terrible. Getting stuck in the pool or jumping out and putting stain on the filtration system. We were recommended the pentair rebel and it's been fantastic. It's easy to use and cleans the pool very well. It has no problems climbing the walls and doesn't miss any leaves or debris. It seems to work similar to the indoor robot (like the roomba) vacuums. We have had it for about 5 years now and it hasn't skipped a beat. I would buy another again.

Purchased in May 2016 at Direct Pool Supplies for $600.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
4/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
3/5
Large Debris Cleaning
4/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
peter
peterDarling Downs, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't expect more than a year out of it

published

Amazing to start for around a year, then as the plastic parts wear and gears don't engage it stops working. I purchased a tune up kit for $160.00 which did nothing, it still stops as soon as it touches a wall. You can adjust the flow rate up and down but it doesn't help. Now I have$700 worth of useless Plastic sitting at the bottom of my pool. Stay away from this brand/model.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2020 at Dad's Pool Shop for $649.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
5/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad Rowe
Brad RoweSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Goes round in circles and does not go up to the shallow end

published

For about 6 years i put up with my Zodiac MX8, pulling it out everytime it stopped with a medium sized leaf and every year replacing the running parts in it as the gears broke down on a regular basis. I asked the people at the pool shop for something with less moving parts and sucked up medium sized leaves without jamming. He sold me the Pentair Rebel 2 about 10 weeks ago now and it has not stopped, no jamming, got the suction right so it doesnt go too fast, very simple with running parts but just over the last week I have noticed that it likes hanging out in the deep end and now another two months down the track it just goes around in circles in the deep end, taking it back to the pool shop today for a refund.

Purchased in December 2020 at Captain Nemo's for $550.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
4/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
5/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
2/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob
BobSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Not good

published

Cost 800 worked well for a while until it decided to go round in circles. Got a replacement under warranty and a repeat of above antics. Solution now appears to be for me to buy a tune up kit for about 140 as the warranty was not extended on replacement. Not a cheap pooi cleaner.

Purchased in January 2017 at Poolsmart for $799.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
4/5
Small Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael
MichaelNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Not good!

published

When it worked, it was pretty good at removing most debris from the bottom of the pool. The first problem was that it had a very hard time climbing the walls (only about a 60 deg. angle) and if it did manage to get up, it got stuck on the safety step. The more annoying issue was that it would just stop - it seemed like the gears didn't mesh correctly and jammed. I had to manually free them by turning the wheels; it would make a clunk sound then start working again. This was a daily occurrence. It got to the point where I was spending more time fixing this than just manually vacuuming. Ended up returning for a refund.

Purchased in October 2020 for $450.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
2/5
Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
3/5
Small Debris Cleaning
4/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Unhappy
UnhappySydney
  • 2 reviews

Rubbish don’t buy this product

published

Broke down after 8months requires $150 parts to fix, told not under warranty. The warranty is a joke the cleaner is worse. These pool companies should hang their heads in shame. But I forgot, they don’t care as they are making $$$$$ out of suckers like me.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Noise Level
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Functionality
2/5
Small Debris Cleaning
1/5
Large Debris Cleaning
1/5
Wall and Step Cleaning
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Unfortunate downgrade

published

I had robot for 15 years which I had to replace. My pool server recommended the Rebel, and after three months I can report the following major design flaws:
1. It get stuck on the drain cover. The cover is completely standard, obviously the designers did not leave any margins for installation. The previous robot never had this issue.
2. It requires strong suction or it does not move. Very inefficient, especially if you have one of those multi speed pump and you want to save energy.
3. It climb the walls and get stuck there.

Overall it surface coverage per time is very low and a lot of debris stay many days , get blackened and rotten.

Purchased in May 2020 for $465.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Pool Size Average
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Adso
Adsoasked

Not a question.. but to share my troubleshooting tips.. still stand by my review, that Rebel Cleaners are the 'least-worst' of all the other cleaner options.. particularly for pools with really heavy leaf matter... They are all horrid in their own way...

I manage 2 pools, 1 has a Rebel Mk1 thats still killing it after 3yrs, my Mk2 is about 1.5yrs and was suddenly 'hanging in the deep end' all the time.. it could turn and go straight.. but it wouldn't explore.. even if I removed hoses to restrict how far it could go.

They have a 3yr warranty, so after reading this thread, I called support.. they try to use language to make it sound like its your fault, as if the pool jets are suddenly the problem, or how many hours did you use it.. get past that.. they will also ask for photos. But once you get past that, they sent out a Left-Hand-Drive replacement kit in the mail, honestly if the old one was worn, it was less than a finger-nail worn.. like barely even perceptible.. but damn I replaced it and it started working again... It actually starts climbing walls again, which I realise it must have stopped doing a long time ago.. so clearly the new parts makes it run like a new one again. This is a shame, but at least you have 3yrs of support...

Now, you dont actually want the Rebel climbing walls.. a) it wastes a lot of time, but b) it will generally go up and suck air and make your pump stall.. the tip is to cut something like a kids eraser into 2 halves, and stick one under each tyre, it makes it so the rebel will lose its traction on the wall and fall back down, and doesn't impact its movement along the floor.

1 answer
Ninka
Ninka

I agree, least worst is a good description. At least all the gears and shafts are available as spare parts so after 2 or 3 years, it can be rebuilt.

Chris
Chrisasked

Pintar pool cleaner staying in same area of Paul

1 answer
Paul Z.
Paul Z.

I fixed mine for now. the design is a bit poor with a lot of free play in all of the bearings which adds up to enough to allow the gear on one side to slip and once this starts, further wear happens fast. Tightening up on one of those may fix the issue if you get to it soon enough before wear on the end of the black gear shaft gets too bad. To fix... Open the lid by pulling ononn the tab,... as shown at the start of this video (ignore the video after that).. https://youtu.be/jqEEpgwRXeI Take off only the wheel near the big cam using a 5mm Allen key and then pull out the spring-loaded clutch taking care not to lose the 2 springs that pop out.. the clutch has 2 identical halves.. prise them gently apart by levering a screwdriver inside the spring holes in turn and then work around the perimeter to prise apart.. once an even gap of 5mm forms it will pop open. . Cut a piece of plastic about 5mm x 5mm by about 0.7mm thick (I sacrificed an old credit card) and jam it in the gap between the bearing (with the gear shape inside it) and the housing at a point closest to the other idler wheel. Make sure the shim is not protruding out past the bearing and reassemble. This has reduced the Freeplay in that bearing and that may be enough to stop the gear from slipping and wearing further. Good luck!

Pod
Podasked

Hi, my pentair rebel 2 gears (or whatever makes it go) do not appear to be engaging. After it swivels to change direction, it then tries to go in a straight line but just continues to go in tiny circles/swivels.

1 answer
Paul Z.
Paul Z.

I fixed mine for now. the design is a bit poor with a lot of free play in all of the bearings which adds up to enough to allow the gear on one side to slip and once this starts, further wear happens fast. Tightening up on one of those may fix the issue if you get to it soon enough before wear on the end of the black gear shaft gets too bad. To fix... Open the lid by pulling ononn the tab,... as shown at the start of this video (ignore the video after that).. https://youtu.be/jqEEpgwRXeI Take off only the wheel near the big cam using a 5mm Allen key and then pull out the spring-loaded clutch taking care not to lose the 2 springs that pop out.. the clutch has 2 identical halves.. prise them gently apart by levering a screwdriver inside the spring holes in turn and then work around the perimeter to prise apart.. once an even gap of 5mm forms it will pop open. . Cut a piece of plastic about 5mm x 5mm by about 0.7mm thick (I sacrificed an old credit card) and jam it in the gap between the bearing (with the gear shape inside it) and the housing at a point closest to the other idler wheel. Make sure the shim is not protruding out past the bearing and reassemble. This has reduced the Freeplay in that bearing and that may be enough to stop the gear from slipping and wearing further. Good luck!

See all Pentair Rebel questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)799
Replaced byPentair Rebel 2 Automatic Vacuum Pool Cleaner
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.