??!
2 photos
Pentair Rebel
3.6 from 87 reviews · View Details

Reviews

2.6

20 reviews
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (17)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (16)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Unfortunate downgrade

published

I had robot for 15 years which I had to replace. My pool server recommended the Rebel, and after three months I can report the following major design flaws:
1. It get stuck on the drain cover. The cover is completely standard, obviously the designers did not leave any margins for installation. The previous robot never had this issue.
2. It requires strong suction or it does not move. Very inefficient, especially if you have one of those multi speed pump and you want to save energy.
3. It climb the walls and get stuck there.

Overall it surface coverage per time is very low and a lot of debris stay many days , get blackened and rotten.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$465.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

great pool cleaner

published

this pool cleaner i have had a little over 3 years... as all others the shaft to the wheels wore out...im not going to continue to use it or buy the so called tune up kits ect..to expensive im looking for other cleaners now

Purchased in January 2016 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
bryan s.

bryan s.Perth, WA

Good cleaner wears out the gears too easily

published

Had this cleaner for 2 years, cleans the pool really well and never gets blocked, as a pool cleaner, I would give it 5 stars. I have given it 3 stars is that I am now on the third internal shaft, they wear easily and means the teeth on the inside of the wheel don't catch and the cleaner just spins in a circle. The replacement kit costs $150 (shafts, wheels) , I have had to buy another 2 shafts (left and right) at another $80, which means that I am spending $130/years in parts (which seems a lot to me), the material of the shaft needs to be made from something that doesn't wear as much. The photos show the wear on the shafts on the end.

Purchased in December 2017 for A$448.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mono

Mono

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fully agree with Ross I.

published

Would not consider if you have a tiled pool. The wheels on ours just spin when it gets to the wall and can be in the same spot for several minutes. We have to manually take it to the shallow end where it doesn't stay for long as the Rebel 2 cleans just over half the pool. Very disappointed and our old Kreepy Krawly did a better job.

Purchased in November 2019.

Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Raingod

RaingodPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Our pool has never been so clean

published

After spending more and more money to try to get our old Kreepy Krawly pool cleaner to stop tying itself in knots and sitting in one place in the pool, we gave up and bought a Pentair Rebel 2 from Poolwater Technologies (Sorrento). Bob gave us a demo in our concrete pool with a vinyl liner. It worked well and sucked up the leaves and long fronds from cordylines so we decided to purchase it. Bob then made adjustments to set it up correctly for our pool which I believe is critical for best performance. It's been in for 10 days now, is completely silent and our pool has never looked so clean. I highly recommend the Pentair Rebel 2 and the service we received from Bob at Poolwater Technologies (Sorrento).

Purchased in January 2020 for A$770.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Ross I.

Ross I.

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy if you have tiled pool, even with tiled tyres

published

Bought Rebel 2 with tiled tyres and it wouldn't even go to shallow end.
Tyers just spin and cleaner barely moves around, its just to slippery for it.
Ended up with Zodiac Manta replacing my Zodiac G2

Purchased in January 2020 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
John

JohnSydney, NSW

It is absolute CRAP

published

Works only when Pool is being actually backwashed, otherwise it sits idle on the Pool floor

If you are considering this Pool Cleaner, do not waste you hard earned money! It is absolute CRAP

Purchased in July 2019.

Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning

Best and most reliable cleaner

published

We ve had the Rebel for three years now and it has worked exceptionally well. Manages to pick up pick larger leaves and sticks and covers the whole pool area consistently. Easy to maintain, never needed repairs. We have a vinyl pool and it is very gentle with this surface. It is a very quiet cleaner as well.
We ve had other cleaners before but encountered issues with them. The Rebel was a win for us!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
jrb17

jrb17South East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Pentair Rebel - great pool cleaner

published

After doing some research and asking pool shop owners what pool cleaners they owned, I purchased the Pentair Rebel Pool Cleaner some time ago. It's the best pool cleaner I have ever owned. When first installed, I thought it was a bit slow as it moved around the pool. However, to my surprise, it cleaned the pool in the first session. I recently purchased another one for my 93 year old mother who wanted to fill the pool in as cleaning it was beyond the capabilities of her then pool cleaner. She's delighted at the improvement ; she didn't think it was possible to keep her pool so clean. I bought it via the web from Best Pool Supplies; good price & excellent service.

Purchased at Best Pool Supplies for A$489.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colin

Colin

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works ok but costly to run

published

Geared shafts wear out quickly and costly to replace. Very poor selection of materials used for the gearing, unsuited to task and grossly over priced for such easily mass produced plastic parts.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning

3 months needs tires

published

The first clue should have been the original tires wouldn’t make it over the drain covers. The guy at Leslie’s kicked in an upgraded tire gratis. Now less than 3 months it is getting caught on the drains. A quick inspection, the tires show excessive ware. I gave up my Hayward for this because I was tired of replacing the shoes every 2 years. I wish I had my Hayward back!

Purchased in July 2019 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
TC80

TC80Gold Coast

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

Useless tile tyre - class action required

published

You can still see the ads on YouTube saying it works on tiled pool. The fact that they released a "tile tyre" means it won't work on tiled pools. I bought the new tiled tyres. Useless after 2 weeks. If there is a class action on this pool cleaner, sign me up.

Purchased in November 2017 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty after 5 months and waiting over a month for warranty repair / replacement

published

Worked well for 5 months then one wheel stopped turning so it just cleaned a small circle in the deep end. Returned under warranty and still waiting after a month.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$495.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Scott

ScottNortheast, VIC

Not for TILED POOLS

published

Purchased for us as a gift. The supplier claimed you could watch it all day waiting for it to clean a certain spot. I’ve tried everything and I cannot get it to leave the deep end of the pool. Lacks weight, grip and quality!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average

Cleaner fail

published

My cleaner started going around in circles i was told to replace the tyres and did so, still no good. They sent me another cleaner that broke down after only 8 months. Won't cover under it warranty and the only explanation is that it is a water problem !!! OH DEAR DID IT GET WET !

Purchased in July 2016 for A$680.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jen

JenMurray Region, NSW

Not Good

published

Bought the Pentair Rebel over 12 months ago, first one had to be replaced due to a bearing issue with the wheels. Replacement worked great for a few months, now it just cleans in one area of the pool. I've adjusted flow, backwashed, just done everything to get it to work properly. Won't climb walls as it shows in the promotional video, clearly not good for tiled pools, this should be stated on the product packaging, so that consumers are aware before outlaying hundreds of dollars on a product that is not fit for purpose. Very disappointed.

Purchased in December 2017 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Polly P

Polly PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This product is useless in lap pools.

published

Useless in lap pools. Only cleans one end, then swirls and stays down that end. My pool shop said there may be a swivel device to stop the twirling and twisting. Expensive and useless.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Dissapointed

DissapointedSydney, NSW

worked well in first year but now experiencing problems

published

first year had no issues Worked quietly and reliable. Won't climb tiled pool wall or steps although did do the floor perfectly. after about 1 year stopped covering whole pool and stayed around the deep end only. had a new unit sent out under warranty and cleaner worked well however 3 months later having the same issue with cleaner only doing deeper half of pool.

Purchased in October 2017.

Pool Size Average
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

2 years on and still loving it.

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$490.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Andrew M

Andrew MBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Was excellent - but needed warranty claim at about 18 months

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Best Pool Supplies for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all Pentair Rebel reviews

Questions & Answers

Colin and Maree Johnson

Colin and Maree Johnsonasked

Has anyone got a review on the Pentair prowler 920 robotic pool cleaner

No answers
Laura

Lauraasked

Is it recommended to change the wheels on the rebel pentair if I am replacing the tires? Or is it ok to just change out the tires because they are worn? Thank you for any help.

No answers
Lynn A.

Lynn A.asked

My rebel wants to stay in the deep end and we have to move it to the other end by hand. It then works but always migrates back to the deep end. Help it is only 3 years old.

2 answers
Mike
Mike

My pool & rebel were started up 18 months ago, & my rebel does the same. Only cleans deep end. I brush shallow end towards deep. Hopefully someone will provide advice for this issue.

David S.
David S.

I had the same issue, this is an design flaw in the Rebel 2. the drive shaft gets worn out easily and the wheel will stop turning when this happens. You need to unscrew the wheel that doesn't turn and install the new drive shaft. You can get the parts in your local pool shop https://www.poolspot.com.au/left-drive-kit-for-pentair-rebel.

I hope this helps

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.