??!
2 photos
Pentair Rebel

Pentair Rebel (page 2 of 5)

3.5 from 82 reviews

Reviews

3.5

82 reviews
5
(40)
4
(5)
3
(9)
2
(15)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (20)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (18)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

John

JohnSydney, NSW

Disappointing.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Physical store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Small
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
Polly P

Polly PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This product is useless in lap pools.

published

Useless in lap pools. Only cleans one end, then swirls and stays down that end. My pool shop said there may be a swivel device to stop the twirling and twisting. Expensive and useless.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
bill

billSouth East Queensland, QLD

useless

published

the rebel pool cleaner is absolutely useless on tiled pools. even with the heavier rubber tyres. it has absolutely no traction . it is impossible to get any suggestions on what to do

Purchased in November 2018.

Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dissapointed

DissapointedSydney, NSW

worked well in first year but now experiencing problems

published

first year had no issues Worked quietly and reliable. Won't climb tiled pool wall or steps although did do the floor perfectly. after about 1 year stopped covering whole pool and stayed around the deep end only. had a new unit sent out under warranty and cleaner worked well however 3 months later having the same issue with cleaner only doing deeper half of pool.

Purchased in October 2017.

Pool Size Average
Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

2 years on and still loving it.

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$490.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

no good on tile pool

published

will work OK for awhile but gets stuck while trying to climb walls of pool the advert for the vac says that it is good in tile pools but all the experts say that it is not it is very misleading to advertise and it should be addressed to stop people spending money on something that that the makers know won't work As I understand it know they are sticky tyres available now at about $80 surely by bringing them out it's an admission that people who bought these vacs were ripped off In my opinion

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Awesome pool cleaner

published

I have had this for over 12 months and it’s the best cleaner ever on concrete pool with pebble finish
Amazing results and never stops
Just had to increase flow to climb walls
Too many words too many words too many words too many words too many words too many words

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dave R

Dave RLakeland

I recently switched to a Pentair Rebel and have absolutely no regrets.... it was easy to setup

published

My pool is enclosed by a lanai so most of the debri is small but it goes over the raised drain with ease. It sometimes will tip on its side while cleaning the sides but it always rights itself fairly quickly. I am very pleased with the Rebel’s performance so far.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Peter from the Tweed

Peter from the TweedTweed

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 like

Set and Forget

published

I wanted a cleaner that does a better job on big leaves etc. than conventional suction side 'vacuum' cleaners - I've had a Zodiac, a Kreepy and a cheapo Bunnings (which actually wasn't bad). But I baulked at the price of a proper robotic cleaner (~$1500) and as a compromise I bought this Rebel at around $500. Despite having a fairly small looking orifice, it can pick up almost anything and has never 'stalled'. It's a set and forget deal, and my pool has never looked better.
It's silent and looks well built. I can't speak to its longevity, having had it less than a year, but I think I'd happily pay for any parts it does need in future, given that it does such a great job.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jethro5

Jethro5Sydney

Great cleaner BUT

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Snaggley

SnaggleyAU

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

WARNING - WILL FAIL after 18 months - within 3yr. Warranty.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Brent

Brent

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Its ok

published

Had this cleaner for 2yrs now, it does a great job in my fiberglass pool. .... BUT..... Be prepared to buy replacement gears. Ive just had to order my second drive shaft. Seems to be a huge week point on the vacuum. Next time i will change to a somthing a little more robust.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Don't buy

published

Great pool cleaner to begin with untill you have to buy spare parts lasted only 12 months before cogs and tyres are worn out and need replacing....
Cost to replace these is ridiculous never will i buy another cheaper and easier to buy a cheaper pool cleaner every year if it lasts 12 months and a whole lot less hassle.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

initially worked well

published

the cleaner worked well for the first year but it keep getting stuck by the stairs. The constant rotation of the tire as it was trying to climb the stairs wore out the treads. I replaced the treads ($50) and now the cleaner only circles the drain. i have tried several adjustments and i cannot get it to clean anywhere but around the drain.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
ivestar

ivestar

  • 14 reviews

Works well till the moving parts stop failing

published

One of the aspects I have thrived in whilst working on projects is looking at current formats and procedures and enhance or improving or replacing these systems with easier or more effective methods by developing new systems and procedures. There are a lot of good reviews here but I would be interested to speak to these people after 2 years.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

disappointed with Pentair Rebel

published

I've had my Pentair rebel cleaner for a little over 2 years. Worked fined but the problem started when the parts started to wear. Will be retiring cleaner due to the outrageous cost of parts and would not recommend buying this cleaner. Again the rebel did a good job of cleaning pool but the cost of parts make it to costly to replace parts.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Conor

ConorMOUNTAIN CREEK

Works really well

published

Bought this product about 2 months ago to replace a Baracuda style cleaner. Pool is a regular rectangular shape, in ground concrete pool. Really easy to fit and set up and with a few minor adjustments on the suction valve to allow it to climb the walls sufficiently, it was cleaning the whole pool. Would recommend it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Kyle

KyleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't do stairs.

published

I've had this cleaner for just over 18 months and it's great on the pool floor and to about half way up the walls. I've got 3 entry steps and a step on the other side for sitting or standing on. I bought the rebel on recommendation from our pool shop. We had a robotic cleaner but it did after a couple of years. The rebel was cheaper than a robotic cleaner so I decided to give it a go. After a couple of weeks it was noticeable that the stairs were dirty. I had to manually clean them and have had to since. I've changed the settings and moved the float etc but the stairs remain dirty. Wouldn't recommend this if you have stairs.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Shells

ShellsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best pool cleaner for our pebblecrete pool.

published

We have had our Rebel pool cleaner for just over 6 months and it has worked beyond our expectations. We have a lot of gum trees close to our pool on our neighbours side and this little guy just smashes the leaves like there is no tomorrow. When we brought our house it came with the normal zodiac type pool cleaner that we had to fix/coax to work every day. This little guy is set and forget and frankly worth every cent. The only to we need to do is manually get branches out of it but we would have to do that with any pool cleaner so to us it is a non issue. We can not recommend this enough and are going to buy another one in case they stop making them! Please don’t stop making them!!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Love this pool cleaner.

published

So much better than a our barracuda. Quiet, hardly notice it's on, even when you're in the pool. It picks up large leaves without any issues. Never gets stuck. Pool looks great. Had it for two years now without any problems. Thoroughly recommend it to anyone needing to replace their pool cleaner.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
See all Pentair Rebel reviews

Questions & Answers

Mark A.

Mark A.asked

I recently bought my Rebel 2 Pool cleaner for my Pebble pool. The Rebel 2 Pool cleaner is having great difficulty climbing the walls, gets about 6 inches up and just floats back down. I had the pool shop do a call out, they dropped the float level down to about 6 inches up on the first small hose and dropped speed down.

This slightly helped. I was advised it was because of the new tyres especially because of the lugs on the tyres they are pushing the Rebel away from the sides. I was advised that as these wear down I should notice a difference in the climbing.
Is anyone else having this same problem ?

2 answers
bryan s.
bryan s.

I have never had this problem, it sounds like the are talking rubbish to me, it should work straight away, I have a concrete pool (smooth surface) and it climbed the walls new and with worn tyres, I’m. Not sure how rough the pebble surface is but I suspect it’s just not getting the required suction

Mark A.
Mark A.

Hi Bryan, ty for the reply. I have used the device provided, with the Rebel 2 and it is at the maximum level for pressure. As to speaking rubbish I wish I could add a vid file of it on here. The lack of climbing and the drop away of the Rebel 2 was noted by the pool shop and their response was as I wrote. This was why I respectfully asked the question.

Chris

Chrisasked

My rebel cleaner has worked good for two summers now but it seems to be "sleeping" more then ever. In a corner, half way up the side wall, it just stops and doesn't move. Once I manually move it back into the middle of the pool it will start working again but soon after goes to sleep again. Any help?

No answers
Wil B.

Wil B.asked

I have a 3 month old Pentair Rebel. It has been working fine until recently. It appears to primarily run in reverse. With the debris/suction opening Facing the rear and handle to the rear. Once it hits the wall, it will flip onto its top and stay there for a long time. Any suggestions?

1 answer
bryan s.
bryan s.

Maybe take a video and take it back to shop if it’s only 3 months old, it’s still under warranty

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.