??!
2 photos
Pentair Rebel

Pentair Rebel (page 4 of 5)

3.5 from 82 reviews

Reviews

3.5

82 reviews
5
(40)
4
(5)
3
(9)
2
(15)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.1 (20)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (18)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (20)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

JRW83

JRW83AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

A little ripper

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
JRW83
JRW83

10 months of use and still love it

Mel C

Mel CGold Coast

  • Verified purchase

Best value cleaner ever!!

published

We recently purchased a Pentair rebel from our local pool shop (platinum Pool Centre) and I've gotta say it is awesome. We get plenty of leaves and it has no problem keeping up. I have to say that the guys at platinum are so honest and helpful. They have heaps of cleaners to choose from and helped me pick the best one for my pool. This cleaner at $450 is value hard to beat!

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Oilzzz

OilzzzBrisbane

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Works like a charm (and I have variable flow pump)

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kevin707

Kevin707AU

  • 2 reviews

Does the job of cleaning the pool grate

published

Just put it in and it cleans every where only even half way up the wall my pool is concrete
I do not leave it in the pool only put it in when it gets dirty and it finds all the dirt even in the corners in about 4 runs of the filter

Date PurchasedMar 2016
K O'Sullivan

K O'Sullivan

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Amazing! Best cleaning creepy crawly we have had!

published

We have had pools for 17 years and always had trouble with creepy crawlers getting stuck. The pentair rebel is incredible as it never gets stuck. It cleans the pool so well. We have been away for 3 months and come back to a very clean pool . Our pool is 13 m long by 4.5 m wide fibreglass pool.
I would highly recommend to everyone buying a pool to buy this creepy crawly.
We have had the pool cleaner for 6 months and very very happy with this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Stays in one spot.

published

Came with the pool and worked OK at he start. Cleaner has never climbed the walls of the fiberglass pool and rarely moves about. Have checked all settings to ensure as per manufacturer's instructions to no avail. On the rare occasion that it leaves the junction of the floor and wall it does vacuum well.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Rob M

Rob M

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant little device. So glad I have it!

published

We bought our Pentair Rebel a couple of months ago after doing some careful research because we are fairly new to owning a pool. The Pentair Rebel keeps the pool immaculate, it never gets stuck, it doesn't make any noise and there is no vibration of the hose like with our previous device. In summary, it just goes and goes and goes and gives us no grief at all. Recently we went away for a week and came back to see it just working away beautifully as if we had never left. The Rebel costs a little more than some of the alternatives but It has been worth every sent and we thank the staff at Captain Nemos for both directing us to it and for their great price.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Poor

published

This does not work well on vinyl pools. This will not crawl up the walls and often gets stuck in place. Also, you must use teflon tape on the compression adapter that goes in the skimmer box; otherwise you will spend an hour cutting it out in pieces. If you get it moving it will suck up leaves but it often gets stuck.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
JosieJo2000

JosieJo2000Perth, WA

  • 67 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic little beast

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian

IanEngadine

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely brilliant

published

Unleashed the machine on my white pebble dash pool and even though there were no leaves in sight, it left white stripes everywhere it went sucking up dirt I didn't know was there. Climbs the walls well and any leaves or debris that have been blown in so far haven't stood a chance. And no noise whatsoever. Way better than the old ? Kreepy Krawly that was there when I moved in which finally died before Xmas.
After one month, perfect.
Finally, cleaner was sold to me with a three year warranty which the shop honours, not the manufacturer. They also had written testimonies pinned to the wall from other happy customers, I'll be adding mine.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Ian
Ian

Still working perfectly a year later

Works fine to start but look out

published

This product was efficient and worked well for the first year. Then the machine would for no apparent reason stop and remain stopped until manually moved. The cleaner has been examined by an independent tech, and the dealer on two occasions and no defect could be found. The cleaner was tested in another pool with similar results so I am satisfied that the cleaner is at fault. To date the dealer has not offered to replace the cleaner and on two occasions said he will check with the Representative. He presently has the cleaner. There is a two year warranty... so what?

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Excellent and no noise

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
dverted

dvertedCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible on tiled pools

published

Saw all the good reviews but, despite strong assurance from the pool shop the Rebel will not work in a fully tiled pool. The shop assured me it would work but it just sits at the deep end rotating on its axis and won't move anywhere else. I've tried every adjustment but it can't get traction on tiles. Emailed Pentair to see if they had special wheels for tiles but no reply. It probably works great on other surfaces but not on tiles. A big waste of money for me.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
GeoRod

GeoRodSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Perfect so far

published

3 weeks in and its running perfect, no issue, very clean pool .. better than the barracuda and zero noise..
seems to cover the pool faster and hits every edge and wall ... loving it.. Id also say less stress on the suction system also or pool pump.. its not like a barracuda or Kreepy so you dont get the THUMP THUMP THUMP of the line stop starting on the pump suction .. its just straight pull trough .. much better ....

Date PurchasedOct 2016
5 comments
GeoRod
GeoRod

Still going perfect ... I have a pebble pool not tiles ...

GeoRod
GeoRod

Almost 3 months not an issue. Just checked the flow / suction again with the tool to keep it running perfect. Runs like a dream

GeoRod
GeoRod

Still perfect...

Lynnoze

LynnozeAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent pool cleaner.

published

Bought the rebel pool cleaner and had it running for 2 months. Works very efficiently. Its a purely mechanical cleaner with large gearing inside thats easy to open up and clear out if anything gets jammed in there (which happens occasionally). Unlike some other reviews my experience is that it doesn't quite get up onto the steps in my pool but that doesn't bother me. I simply sweep the step debris off for it to collect on the bottom. So far so good.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

Phil

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

The best

published

This has transformed my life , its performance in my opinion is unmatched no more having to fiddle with weights or moving when stuck .The rebel glides around with ease on my fibre glass pool plus up the walls.this is the first time I have ever reviewed anything but it is that good .

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Best money ever spent

published

Was so frustrated with my old cleaner getting clogged in corners. The rebel is perfect, bought one week ago. It goes in every corner of the pool climbs the walls, it hasn't missed a beat and it does the work so sillant. My pool looks cleaner than ever before. Highly recommended,

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Kevin M

Kevin MGold Coast

Excellent pool cleaner

published

Couldn't be happier with the Pentair Rebel, doesn't miss a beat, pool is spotless. Purchased it 7 weeks ago. It's a few more dollars than the traditional kreepy krawly types but worth every cent! It even picked up a couple of loose pool tiles the first day we used it. Strongly recommend! The staff at Captain Nemo's, Helensvale were also very helpful and did it competitively, matching online prices

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Awesome pool cleaner

published

Bought the Rebel to replace standard pool cleaner with diaphragm. Old cleaners drove me crazy by stopping due to leaves, nuts etc, getting caught in corners etc etc.
The Rebel picks up almost everything, nuts, leaves, sand dirt - everything. Never gets stuck in corners, climbs the walls. The pool cleaner guy came by last week and said - wow your pool looks cleaner than ever !
highly recommend.

ideal cleaner for lap pool

published

Looked online at a few pool cleaner video reviews and went for the Pentair rebel. I got it with 3 extra hoses from Poolequip Perth for a great price. It comes with a 3 year warranty. My pool has never been cleaner, it even cleans the walls. It has gears so never gets stuck.Brilliant product.

See all Pentair Rebel reviews

Questions & Answers

Mark A.

Mark A.asked

I recently bought my Rebel 2 Pool cleaner for my Pebble pool. The Rebel 2 Pool cleaner is having great difficulty climbing the walls, gets about 6 inches up and just floats back down. I had the pool shop do a call out, they dropped the float level down to about 6 inches up on the first small hose and dropped speed down.

This slightly helped. I was advised it was because of the new tyres especially because of the lugs on the tyres they are pushing the Rebel away from the sides. I was advised that as these wear down I should notice a difference in the climbing.
Is anyone else having this same problem ?

2 answers
bryan s.
bryan s.

I have never had this problem, it sounds like the are talking rubbish to me, it should work straight away, I have a concrete pool (smooth surface) and it climbed the walls new and with worn tyres, I’m. Not sure how rough the pebble surface is but I suspect it’s just not getting the required suction

Mark A.
Mark A.

Hi Bryan, ty for the reply. I have used the device provided, with the Rebel 2 and it is at the maximum level for pressure. As to speaking rubbish I wish I could add a vid file of it on here. The lack of climbing and the drop away of the Rebel 2 was noted by the pool shop and their response was as I wrote. This was why I respectfully asked the question.

Chris

Chrisasked

My rebel cleaner has worked good for two summers now but it seems to be "sleeping" more then ever. In a corner, half way up the side wall, it just stops and doesn't move. Once I manually move it back into the middle of the pool it will start working again but soon after goes to sleep again. Any help?

No answers
Wil B.

Wil B.asked

I have a 3 month old Pentair Rebel. It has been working fine until recently. It appears to primarily run in reverse. With the debris/suction opening Facing the rear and handle to the rear. Once it hits the wall, it will flip onto its top and stay there for a long time. Any suggestions?

1 answer
bryan s.
bryan s.

Maybe take a video and take it back to shop if it’s only 3 months old, it’s still under warranty

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.