?
? !
2 photos
Pentair Rebel
3.5 from 97 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.6 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.1 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (11)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (11)
Previous
Next
Brad Rowe

Brad RoweSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Goes round in circles and does not go up to the shallow end

published

For about 6 years i put up with my Zodiac MX8, pulling it out everytime it stopped with a medium sized leaf and every year replacing the running parts in it as the gears broke down on a regular basis. I asked the people at the pool shop for something with less moving parts and sucked up medium sized leaves without jamming. He sold me the Pentair Rebel 2 about 10 weeks ago now and it has not stopped, no jamming, got the suction right so it doesnt go too fast, very simple with running parts but just over the last week I have noticed that it likes hanging out in the deep end and now another two months down the track it just goes around in circles in the deep end, taking it back to the pool shop today for a refund.

Purchased in December 2020 at Captain Nemo's for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

Looking for Pool Pumps?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

96 reviews
Ad
Michael

MichaelNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Not good!

published

When it worked, it was pretty good at removing most debris from the bottom of the pool. The first problem was that it had a very hard time climbing the walls (only about a 60 deg. angle) and if it did manage to get up, it got stuck on the safety step. The more annoying issue was that it would just stop - it seemed like the gears didn't mesh correctly and jammed. I had to manually free them by turning the wheels; it would make a clunk sound then start working again. This was a daily occurrence. It got to the point where I was spending more time fixing this than just manually vacuuming. Ended up returning for a refund.

Purchased in October 2020 for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Poorly designed plastic drive - don't buy.

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $525.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy

UnhappySydney

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish don’t buy this product

published

Broke down after 8months requires $150 parts to fix, told not under warranty. The warranty is a joke the cleaner is worse. These pool companies should hang their heads in shame. But I forgot, they don’t care as they are making $$$$$ out of suckers like me.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Unfortunate downgrade

published

I had robot for 15 years which I had to replace. My pool server recommended the Rebel, and after three months I can report the following major design flaws:
1. It get stuck on the drain cover. The cover is completely standard, obviously the designers did not leave any margins for installation. The previous robot never had this issue.
2. It requires strong suction or it does not move. Very inefficient, especially if you have one of those multi speed pump and you want to save energy.
3. It climb the walls and get stuck there.

Overall it surface coverage per time is very low and a lot of debris stay many days , get blackened and rotten.

Purchased in May 2020 for $465.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ross I.

Ross I.

  • 2 reviews

Don't buy if you have tiled pool, even with tiled tyres

published

Bought Rebel 2 with tiled tyres and it wouldn't even go to shallow end.
Tyers just spin and cleaner barely moves around, its just to slippery for it.
Ended up with Zodiac Manta replacing my Zodiac G2

Purchased in January 2020 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for $550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

Looking for Pool Pumps?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

96 reviews
Ad
John

JohnSydney, NSW

It is absolute CRAP

published

Works only when Pool is being actually backwashed, otherwise it sits idle on the Pool floor

If you are considering this Pool Cleaner, do not waste you hard earned money! It is absolute CRAP

Purchased in July 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Pool SizeAverage
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
Chris

ChrisBrisbane

  • 28 reviews
  • 15 likes

Massive regret

published

I ignored all of the bad reviews of the Rebel 1 thinking they would have fixed the issues but clearly it's no different. 6 months in and my rebel 2 goes 2/3 up the wall, drops down, does a spin then goes up the same part of the wall. Repeat that for 4 hours. Large leaves block it up also. I paid $500 and it was a complete waste of money.

Purchased in September 2019 for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TC80

TC80Gold Coast

  • 17 reviews
  • 21 likes

Useless tile tyre - class action required

published

You can still see the ads on YouTube saying it works on tiled pool. The fact that they released a "tile tyre" means it won't work on tiled pools. I bought the new tiled tyres. Useless after 2 weeks. If there is a class action on this pool cleaner, sign me up.

Purchased in November 2017 for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Petet

PetetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Faulty after 5 months and waiting over a month for warranty repair / replacement

published

Worked well for 5 months then one wheel stopped turning so it just cleaned a small circle in the deep end. Returned under warranty and still waiting after a month.

Purchased in February 2019 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Scott

ScottNortheast, VIC

Not for TILED POOLS

published

Purchased for us as a gift. The supplier claimed you could watch it all day waiting for it to clean a certain spot. I’ve tried everything and I cannot get it to leave the deep end of the pool. Lacks weight, grip and quality!

Build Quality
Value for Money

Cleaner fail

published

My cleaner started going around in circles i was told to replace the tyres and did so, still no good. They sent me another cleaner that broke down after only 8 months. Won't cover under it warranty and the only explanation is that it is a water problem !!! OH DEAR DID IT GET WET !

Purchased in July 2016 for $680.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

Looking for Pool Pumps?

Read the reviews for EvoHeat Force-i Pool Heat Pump

96 reviews
Ad
John

JohnSydney, NSW

Disappointing.

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
bill

billSouth East Queensland, QLD

useless

published

the rebel pool cleaner is absolutely useless on tiled pools. even with the heavier rubber tyres. it has absolutely no traction . it is impossible to get any suggestions on what to do

Purchased in November 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Don't buy

published

Great pool cleaner to begin with untill you have to buy spare parts lasted only 12 months before cogs and tyres are worn out and need replacing....
Cost to replace these is ridiculous never will i buy another cheaper and easier to buy a cheaper pool cleaner every year if it lasts 12 months and a whole lot less hassle.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Pentair Rebel compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2
See all Pentair Rebel reviews

Questions & Answers

matt w.

matt w.asked

Hi can someone tell me why my rebel cleaner goes onto its side (on one wheel) it was working perfect now just does this continuously, only 5 months old. Thankyou

No answers
Mick

Mickasked

Purchased my Rebel Pentair back in 2013 and have been reasonably happy with it. Have used the tune up kit on a couple of occasion to replace cogs, wheels etc. Have just purchased a new tune up kit but appear to have bought the Pentair 2 kit by mistake. from what I can make out from the adverts, it appears to have very similar, if not the same, components with the exception being the tyre tread. It is in the mail already so I’m likely stuck with it, so can anyone confirm, other than the tyres, what other differences there are with this kit and what likely won’t work/fit in my old machine? Thanks, Mick

1 answer
Patriot
Patriot

My suggestion is to call the manufacturer or if you have a pool 'store' nearby perhaps they can help.

D M.

D M.asked

It’s truly the damndest thing. In my rectangular pool (and regardless the level of suction) it climbs the wall, releases, climbs the same spot again until the wheels rotate at which time it releases from the wall, and having rotated just slightly before releasing it falls at such an angle that after completing the rotation it’s aimed right back up the same spot on the wall.

This absurdity is so mesmerizing that I’ve spent up to 30 minutes watching. It can eventually move, but only to do the wall gag in another location, typically spending its hours in 3-4 locations and always in the deep end.

Replaced parts but no change. I don’t see everyone else describing the same observation, so I don’t think it’s a piece of junk. But I also don’t know what to do. Any ideas?

No answers
See all Pentair Rebel questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)799
Replaced byPentair Rebel 2 Automatic Vacuum Pool Cleaner
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website

Other Suction Pool Cleaners

Previous
Next
See all Suction Pool Cleaners

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.