??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials

Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials

4.2 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.9 (21)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (21)
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (21)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (8)
    • 1-2 weeks (11)
    • 2-4 weeks (1)
    • 3+ months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (21) · No (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Brad Jenkinson

Brad JenkinsonSydney, NSW

Great service

published

It's always easy and fast to claim with Pet Insurance Australia. I'm taking care of a very ill cat, and the last thing I want to do is mess about with administrative problems when I'm sitting in the emergency department with him, so PIA have helped me keep focused on what matters the most. Thanks so much guys - I can't tell you how much I've appreciated your support...

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Not recommended

published

PIA seems to require more documentation than other insurers which makes their claim process slower than it should be. Both items I have claimed took almost 3 months to pay out.
I had my cat also insured with PIA but cancelled it as I wasnt satisfied with their service, but PIA deducted (and later refunded) the cost (approx. $600) anyway.
I do not recommend.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great claim process

published

This was the quickest turnaround of any insurance claim I've ever lodged! Pet Insurance Australia handled our claim very efficiently and left us feeling we had definitely chosen the right insurer for our gorgeous puppy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Alex for your review. I hope your puppy is doing well? Have a great day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
taminga16

taminga16Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent claims process

published

I changed my pet insurance to PIA from another provider about 4 years ago. Since then my crazy border collie has required multiple vet visits for different injuries and illnesses. Providing his past medical history was easy and although some claims were ineligible, I have been gratified by the level of cover he has received. The claims process is easy, quick and you are kept up to date with the progress of the claim. We are having a new puppy join the family in a month or so and she will be signed up for PIA insurance as well.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, taminga16 for your feedback on PIA. I hope your Border Collie is doing well and a big congrats on your new furry family member! Very exciting. Have a wonderful day.

The best cover for your PET

published

I've had nothing but a smooth and easy experience with PET insurance Aus! I really appreciate their help and how easy they make the claim process. Highly recommend. Thanks again to all the team at PET Insurance Australia!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jayde for your review and high recommendation. I'll be sure to share your thanks with the whole team. Have a fantastic day.

So easy and reliable!

published

PIA is great value. It was extremely easy to set up, customer service are prompt and submitting a claim is SO EASY! We got our claim back within a few days!

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Christel for sharing your PIA experience on Product Review, and the adorable picture of your furbabe! Certainly brightened our Monday morning. Have a great week.

Geoff H.

Geoff H.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Peace of mind and claim resolved very quickly

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Kirsty M.

Kirsty M.South East Queensland, QLD

Excellent value and service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Kristy for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. I hope Tank is doing well. I'll be sure to pass over this lovely comment to our team. Have a wonderful day.

LNR

LNRRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Excellent Service

published

Easy to submit claim. Quick approval - reimbursement was back in my account within 5 days of submission.
Couldn’t ask for a simpler process.
Thank you Pet Insurance Australia. Great service. LR

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks LNR for your feedback on PIA. Have a great week.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonia

SoniaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Extremely happy

published

Good value very easy to open the online account and very reliable support whe the time to make a claim arrived.
The Petinsurance team has been very efficient in their assistance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Sonia for your review and for sharing your PIA experience. I'll be sure to pass this over to the hard-working team. Have a great week.

K Jenkins

K JenkinsPerth, WA

Extremely Happy

published

My Dachshund George had had 2 serious problems in the last 6 months, thank goodness I had insurance with PIA. The claim process was very simple and I was very happy with the amounts I received back. I have been with PIA since I got George 6 years ago and have never had any problems at all.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, K Jenkins for posting your feedback on PIA. I hope George is doing well. Have a great week.

Lisa

LisaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Highly recommend

published

My 4 year old beagle got ill with gastro and had to spend some time in hospital .. I was terribly worried about my baby boy but I knew he was in good hands and I knew that I had pet insurance with PIA so money would not be an issue as from experience they would look after us . Our vet put the claim in on our behalf which was a huge help as well . I highly recommend pet insurance Australia.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lisa for your high recommendation and review. I hope your precious Beagle is doing well.

Ang

Ang

  • 2 reviews

Exceptional service.

published

My Bulldog Bambam is always getting into mischief. She has had 2 operations within a month . I’ve had several questions for PIA which have been answered promptly and the staff have always been very compassionate which is so nice.
The turn around for when I submit my claims to when I get my refund is also very quick. I have been with PIA for over 15 years, I highly recommend them and wouldn’t be without them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Ang for your wonderful loyalty and kind words. I'll be sure to share this with the pet-loving team at PIA. Have a great day.

Katelyn G.

Katelyn G.Hobart, TAS

Fast & Simple

published

Our big boy Louie was rushed to emergency late Sunday night with what they thought was an obstruction, he went in for emergency surgery at about 10 pm on that Sunday night. It was a rough night for all involved but turns out he had a serious case of gastro, and has fortunately made a full recovery.

PIA were so amazing to deal with in such a stressful time, our vets were actually able to put the claim in on our behalf, and only a week later we got our benefits in the account (which was not a small amount, over $3000)

I couldn't recommend PIA high enough for making an emergency claim so easy and stress free. Great work!!

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Katelyn for taking the time to post Louie's PIA experience. I hope he's feeling much better. Sending him a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a great week.

duckconcerto

duckconcerto

  • 2 reviews

Highly recommend

published

When we adopted a boisterous male dog we looked into pet insurance (accident) for the first time. PIA were by far the cheapest - in fact, when I reviewed the premium after the first year they were still the best, even after other companies applied a 30% discount. So I was somewhat apprehensive when we did need to make a claim, wondering if low premiums meant poor service. Happily, the claim process was incredibly easy and straightforward and our claim was approved very quickly. I can highly recommend PIA based on our experiences.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Duckconcerto for your high recommendation and review. I'll be sure to pass this over to the pet-loving PIA team. Have a great day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anonymous

AnonymousGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Alfie

published

Well done. Alfie was bitten by a bee. Our claim for emergency care was processed promptly and the communication with us was excellent. Very happy with the service. Regards. Greg

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

I hope you are feeling better now Alfie? Those bees can certainly leave you feeling swollen and very very sore. The whole team at PIA sends you a big cuddle. Thanks for taking the time to share Alfie's story Greg, have a wonderful week.

Brett

BrettGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Bit of a drama to claim and insurance premium skyrocketed right after claim.

published

Claim process was messy. It was back and forth between insurance company who not only messed us about at a very stressful time, but also messed the emergency hospital about on the phone (after insurers asked the emergency department to call them to supply information).

Once it was all approved, our premium was increased by 43%.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
4 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Brett
Brett

Policy number is included in my review

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Brett, I'm really sorry but I can't see any policy number in the above review? If you can provide this number I'll be able to get someone to help asap. Thanks, have a lovely day.

Incredible value

published

My dog Pepita was injured in a car accident and as well as nearly dying she almost lost her hind leg. Thanks to teh cover with PIA we were able to not only save her life but manage to salvage the use of her leg. If we didn't have the cover we would have not been able to give her teh second chance she has!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Andy for sharing your PIA experience. It's so nice to hear how much of a difference our insurance made during a very scary and uncertain time. I hope Pepita is doing well. Sending her a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a great weekend.

Shell64

Shell64Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Very smooth and easy claim process

published

Portal easy to make claim . Money came through quickly. Recommend for price and service. I looked around and found this company to be the cheapest and accident includes cruciate ligament surgery. We used it this time for an accident my lab had

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Shell64 for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your lovely Lab is doing well? Have a great day.

Jenny

JennySouthwest, VIC

Great Service Quick Payment

published

We have had Insurance with PIA for three years now and each of our dealings with them for our Staffy having accidents has been excellent. Payments have arrived within 1 - 2 weeks after I have forwarded my claim. Cannot fault we are very happy

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jenny for taking the time to review PIA. Have a great day.

Page 1 of 2
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Pet Insurance Australia Pet Essentials but you can read 97 questions about Pet Insurance Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$8,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverNot Included
Routine Care CoverNot Included
Tick ParalysisNot Included
Emergency Boarding Fees$500
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period21 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness Not Included
Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.