??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover

Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover (page 2 of 3)

4.1 from 73 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.9 (40)
  • Transparency
    4.9 (40)
  • Customer Service
    4.9 (41)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (19)
    • 1-2 weeks (15)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (41) · No (0)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
gweginoz

gweginozAdelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great insurance product; fits our needs perfectly!

published

We’re very happy with our major medical plan; and very lucky to have taken it when we got our cat: she was diagnosed with a chronic condition that would have ended costing us an awful lot of money.
PIA customer service people are kind, process claims fast, answer all your questions and so far have been very honest dealing with our numerous invoices (no arguing). I could not think of not having pet insurance, now and in the future, and PIA are great!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks gweginoz for taking the time to place your feedback on PIA. I hope your cat is doing well? Have a great week.

Larree W.

Larree W.

  • 3 reviews

Tiger Snake ...Jack Russell

published

Our Jack Russell was bitten by a tiger snake..
We rang the vet as we are not in a town they were to meet us there where they administered snake anti venine
Thanks to the vet and their diligence they saved her a few days in intensive care...she finally came home skinny but alive as snake bite takes their mussell
I put a claim with Pet Insurance in via email when I received the large bill from the vet ...the claim with Pet Insurance was delt with swiftly
I would highly recommended Pet Insurance as we have 2dogs ,as I felt it is good value and the people that work are very helpful
And we have been with Pet Insurance 5 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Larree for sharing your experience with PIA. I hope your precious Jack Russell is doing well and has made a full recovery? Have a wonderful week.

No surprises in my claim process, simple and efficient.

published

It took approx. 2-3 weeks for the claim to be processed.
The claim receipt had all detailsed explained with full amount that I paid and claimable amount.
PIA makes pet insurance a simple, hassle free protection for my pet and I.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Polly for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. Have a wonderful weekend.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Di N.

Di N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Brilliant Service / Quick Process

published

Each & every time PIA has processed our claim very quickly, within days and refunds in our bank account in under a week. Cannot ask for better service or insurance cover.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Di N for taking the time to post your PIA experience. Have a great day.

Bertha

Bertha

  • 2 reviews

Good coverage / easy process

published

Good coverage and easy process to follow to get the benefit. Just a couple of emails, calls or follow ups in the vet office aloud to get paid in 7 days tops.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Bertha for your review. Have a wonderful day.

John O

John OGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

PIA is a must especially when you live in rural victoria

published

We have been with PIA now for 2 years ,December 2019 millie one of our cats was snake bitten she spent 3 weeks at the vet who lodged our claim to PIA the claim was processed within 5days . 3 weeks later max got bitten by a snake again a 3 week stay at the vet again the vet lodged the claim to PIA and once again it was settled within 5 days so cannot praise PIA enough.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, John for sharing your experience on Product Review. I hope your Max and Millie are doing well after their snake encounters, it must have been a very scary time for you all? Have a lovely day.

Esty

EstySydney Surrounds, NSW

They really care about our pets

published

Our pets recently arrived from overseas and I selected PIA for medical cover. Our one dog developed cruciate ligament problems within 4 months of arriving in Australia. Fortunately I had paid for the cruciate ligament checks and had a waiting period waiver on file, nevertheless on a quote of 8000 dollars for a bilateral surgery, we were grateful that PIA approved the surgery as they could have asked us to do one at a time over two years. This would have meant two surgeries and recovery periods. Our pet is recovering nicely and I just want to thank PIA for the professional caring service. You guys rock!

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Esty for your taking the time to share your PIA experience. I hope your dog is doing well after surgery. I'll be sure to share your lovely comments with the team. Have a super day.

PIA is a godsend!

published

I have been with PIA for my staffy for about 5 years and have made numerous claims as my dog ended having a lot of health issues. PIA makes it super easy to lodge a claim and is so prompt with paying my claims. Makes it extremely stress free. Thank you PIA! I would be in a world of financial stress without you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Annabella for your review. I hope your precious Staffy is doing well. Have a fantastic week.

So glad to have this cover

published

My dog has had two cruciate ligament tears (back left knee and back right knee) in the last couple of years. In both cases, the claim was paid within a few weeks and covered a significant amount of my quite large vert surgery bills!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Cliff for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your dog has made a full recovery from their cruciate ligament treatments. It's great to know PIA was able to take a little of the stress away during this time. Have a wonderful day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonya R.

Sonya R.Northeast, VIC

So glad to have this cover

published

We have had this Policy since our Staffy was 4 months old. He is 8yrs now and recently a large lump appeared on his Left Shoulder, whilst his Left Back Leg started to present painful! This company have been amazing to deal with even advising me of Pre-Authorisation forms the vet could fill out for pending surgery to see if we were covered. Having his surgery we now know we will get 80% back. Wonderful, I could not recommend them highly enough.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Sonya for sharing your Pet Insurance Australia experience and your high recommendation. I hope your precious Staffy has made a full recovery from surgery. Have a lovely day.

Lea Wilkinson

Lea WilkinsonHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

So pleased i chose PIA

published

I Joined PIA 3 year ago Setting up my policy was easy. I have lodged a few Claims and found PIA, to be excellent in resolving my claim within weeks.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lea for taking the time to review PIA. Have a wonderful day.

Tanya Morgan

Tanya MorganCampbell 2612, ACT

Such a valuable investment

published

Our Chow, Yogi Bear, was limping and we thought it would be a minor issue. Ended up being quite a major medical intervention and expensive. Thanks to PIA, we were out of pocket for way less than anticipated. The process of claiming was totally seamless. Our vet did the lodgement and we had a cheque in our hands in less than a week. Thanks PIA. You've exceeded our expectations. Happy to report that Yogi is back to being 100%.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Tanya. Thanks for sharing yours, and Yogi's, PIA experience. So happy to hear that Yogi has made a full recovery. Have a wonderful day.

Charj

CharjPerth, WA

Fantastic service when needed

published

My dog ate some poisonous nuts and needed emergency treatment. Once they received all the right paperwork ( which did take a while!) They paid out promptly and fully.

Very happy with the service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Charj for taking the time to review PIA. Have a great day.

Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

Confirmed its worth having Pet Insurance

published

PIA operator I spoke to was sympathetic to our pets medical problem and seemed well trained. She was quick to confirm our cover. PIA was prompt to reimburse our vet bills.
Thanks

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Mike for taking the time to review PIA. I'll be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the team. Have a great day.

Princess

PrincessGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic insurance I have been with them 2 years so happy with them. Thank you.

published

Really easy to lodge a claim..
friendly service.i am happy with this insurance as it is my first time having a pet and insurance.
Policy is good value. I have been with them 2 years. Fast in lodging claims.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Princess for taking the time to review PIA. Have a wonderful week

Princess
Princess

Your welcome so happy you are always here for us...

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa

LisaSydney Surrounds, NSW

Best Insurance Experience Ever

published

We got our new Great Dane puppy insured when he was 12 weeks old. 4 days after, he was involved in an accident with our horse and sustained dreadful injuries. PIA helped us out with covering his vet expenses. Couldn't be happier

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lisa for sharing your pup's story. I hope he has made a full recovery from his accident? Have a lovely weekend.

regnault

regnault

  • 3 reviews

Extremely satisfied with both staff and service

published

My payment for our dog's treatment came through at the same time Pet Insurance was getting a bad wrap by Choice. I couldn't disagree more with Choice. PIA proved to be excellent value for money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Regnault for taking the time to write a review and for voicing your feelings regarding Choice, it was rather sad that they didn't speak with more pet insurance clients. Have a great day.

Dawn L.

Dawn L.South East Queensland, QLD

Great fast service and cover. Thanks!

published

My beloved Cavvy recently had to have MRI and treatment for a suspected stroke/neurological issue. I sought pre-approval before the procedure, and received a postive response very quickly. The whole online claim and refund process was effortless and really helped knowing that it wouldn't be stressful. Very happy with the service and cover.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Dawn for sharing your story. It's lovely to know PIA was able to help during such a terrifying experience. I hope your beloved Cavvy is doing well? Have a wonderful weekend

Dawn L.
Dawn L.

Thank you!

Paul

PaulHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great help with our budget rather than going into debt.

published

Policy is good value and good back up when the vet bills come in. Not being able to insure a pet once they turn 9 years isn't good as this is when the bills really start.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Kerry

KerryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Process was so easy and quick!!

published

The process of lodging the claim was very easy and I was reimbursed for the vet costs in a week.
I'm very happy with PIA and would definitely recommend to others

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Kerry for your recommendation and review. Have a lovely afternoon.

Page 2 of 3
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover but you can read 97 questions about Pet Insurance Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$15,145
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverIncluded
Tick Paralysis$1,200
Emergency Boarding Fees$1,200
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period21 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.