??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover

Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover

4.1 from 74 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.8 (41)
  • Transparency
    4.8 (41)
  • Customer Service
    4.8 (42)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (19)
    • 1-2 weeks (15)
    • 2-4 weeks (3)
    • 1-2 months (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (42) · No (0)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Positive experiences with PIA

published

We have been with PIA for 6 years and made several claims for things we never would have imagined happening. PIA has responded quickly and made the process easy. Thankyou

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lisa for your review on PIA. Have a great week.

This is perfect! The peace of mind is worth far more then the monthly fee

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Fabulous Freddie

Fabulous Freddie Richmond-Tweed, NSW

Super Happy... this is an excellent service such a life saver to have this insurance

published

This policy is good value and very easy to set up
I have lodged many claims and very prompt to resolve them as our Freddie has many allergies which is on going
I’ve been with pet insurance for 2 1/2 years now and very are happy ... thanks PIA

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Fabulous Freddie! What a wonderful photo! We simply love the bowtie. It's great to hear that PIA is taking the itch out of the allergies for you. Have a great day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rebecca P.

Rebecca P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Super happy!

published

Really easy to claim and very fast after our dog ingest too much grass and needed to have emergency surgery on a Saturday night, thank you PIA you were very helpful!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Rebecca, I hope your dog is OK and has made a full recovery from eating too much grass that resulted in surgery. Sending them a big "get well PIA cuddle" from the whole team. Have a wonderful day.

Lora T.

Lora T.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

We could provide the care our girl needed to stay alive

published

PIA was amazing when it came to claiming our girls vet stay. Our claim was almost $20k due to her getting Tetanus which required her to stay in ICU for over 2 weeks. PIA allowed us to give our girl the support she needed to stay alive and the claim process was seamless. Thank you PIA, Koda thanks you as well.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Great company

published

Very happy with the service pet insurance Australia provides. Claim process is super quick and easy! Annual premium is competitively priced. Read the PDS and understand exactly what you are and are not covered for before choosing any insurance product that way you will not be disappointed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
craig m.

craig m.Western District, VIC

Extremely Happy

published

PIA is fantastic and easy to deal with. After our pointer had surgery on a hind leg all we had to do was inform the Vet of his Policy number and PIA processed the claim promptly allowing us to care for him and get him back up and running again.
Well and truly worth it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Craig for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. I hope your precious Pointer is doing well after their surgery? Have a wonderful week.

Kevin

KevinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Thank God for their resolution team

published

Called to check up on my policy,

Apparently I cant change my excess level because I have made one $30 claim. And the consultant also said that every time I renew my pet insurance every year there is a 30 day waiting period again?

However Liana called me back and helped me understand everything.

I’ll be staying with this company due to her and the level of care I have received

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
4 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Kevin, I'm sorry to hear of this and I'd like to pop you in touch with a supervisor asap to get this resolved. Can I please have your policy number? Thanks, have a lovely day.

Kevin
Kevin

PI11920212

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Kevin, a supervisor will be in touch soon. Please let me know if you have any problems. Have a lovely day.

Iris

IrisSA, 5290

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Gives peace of mind

published

I have been with Pet Insurance for many years, and they settle claims as soon as they can. Just recently my little dog had to have an operation, and his claim was settled quickly and smoothly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Iris for taking the time to post your PIA experience on Product Review. I hope your little dog is doing well and has made a full recovery from their operation. Have a lovely day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jonathan L

Jonathan LSydney, NSW

Excellent service, relatively painless and fast claim process

published

We recently joined PIA having just bought our healthy and beautiful 10 month old dog. Approximately one month into the policy our dog unexpectedly needed to go the vet about five times for a range of unforeseeable reasons, and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy and quick the claim process was. Quite painless, very impressed. Thank you PIA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jonathan for posting your review on Product Review regarding PIA. I hope your pup is doing well? Have a great day.

Cathy

Cathy

  • 2 reviews

Allows you to do the best for a beloved pet

published

I have had the major medical cover for my Bernese Mountain Dog since she was a puppy. She was recently very unwell and needed a major operation. PIA were thoroughly supportive and their ‘gap ‘ payments organised through my veterinary practice took the financial worry away so that I could concentrate on her recovery. She is now much better.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Melanie K.

Melanie K.Sydney, NSW

Who would have thought there would be an insurance company that genuinely cares about you and your pets!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Melanie for your lovely review and kind words. I'll be sure to share this with all the pet-loving team at PIA. I hope Stella is doing well? Have a great week.

Melanie K.
Melanie K.

She is on the road to recovery. We are very positive about her prognosis, she is almost back to being normal Stella ❤️

Jacqui H.

Jacqui H.South East Queensland, QLD

Best value for money & easy to work with, with lovely staff.

published

1st & 2nd dog policies were very easy to set up, 10 minute phone calls & all sorted.
They've proven to be very easy to work with, as my vet lodges claims & receipts directly with my Policy number and I can view claims & benefits online.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jacqui for your review on Product Review. Have a fantastic day.

Mignon A

Mignon AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Thank god for pet insurance!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Mignon for taking the time to review PIA on Product Review. I hope Dolly is doing well and made a full recovery. It must have been a terribly frightening experience. Sending Dolly a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a wonderful week.

Vicky

VickyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Love Pet Australia Insurance, highly recommended on quick and efficient services

published

Lodged a claim during these challenging 2020 COVID times and was processed in a fortnight. Love Pet Australia Insurance. Pet Portal was so easy to use and load documents. Thank you!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Vicky for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA with Product Review. I hope your pet is doing well? Have a great day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Excellent, again!

published

Thanks again. Easy Pet Portal interface to lodge the claim, efficient service and quick and correct settlement within 1 week
We've been very pleased with PIA service from the outset. We've been with PIA about 5 years.

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Pete for your great feedback and the picture of your precious pooch! Have a great week.

David Crook

David CrookHolt 2615, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Great - pet insurance has been a godsend. We would have still paid for surgery but this certainly softened the blow!

published

The PIA policy is good value for money; the online claims process is fast and user friendly; staff are always helpful and courteous; and they always follow up after treatment to see how our best mate is going!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks David for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your pet is doing well after surgery and made a full recovery. Have a wonderful week.

Stephen

StephenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Quick - Easy and Helpful

published

Pet Insurance Australia have been great in what has been a very difficult time for us and our puppy! They have been quick and super easy to deal with thus far!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Stephen for your feedback on PIA. I hope your puppy is doing well and on the mend? Have a lovely day.

PIA was very supportive

published

The PIA policy was quick in responding to our submission for a surgery our pet had to go through after they found a Sarcoma lump, from three fatty lumps he had in his body. They covered a good amount of the cost, as the premium of our coverage stated. We were very happy with the result and again were reminded of how helpful it is to have health insurance for one's pet.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jose for reviewing PIA. I hope your pet is doing well after surgery. Have a wonderful week.

Jessica K.

Jessica K.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

This has saved us thousands of out of pocket $!

published
  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jessica for taking the time to review PIA and your high recommendation. I hope your precious dog is doing well? Sending a big PIA cuddle their way. Have a lovely week.

Page 1 of 3
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Pet Insurance Australia Major Medical Cover but you can read 97 questions about Pet Insurance Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$15,145
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverIncluded
Tick Paralysis$1,200
Emergency Boarding Fees$1,200
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period21 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.