??!
1 photo
PetSecure - Accident & Illness Cover

PetSecure - Accident & Illness Cover

4.1 from 86 reviews

Reviews

(48)
(18)
(8)
(5)
(7)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks (18) · <1 week (14) · 2-4 weeks (10) · 3+ months (1) · 1-2 months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (42) · No (0)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (30)
  • Customer Service
    4.4 (34)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (35)

Never again!

published

Claim process too lengthy and generally have issues with uploading documents for claims. When I cancelled my policy, they continued to charges me an additional 2 months and stated it a was in their Terms and Conditions.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
4 comments
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hello Anonymous, I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience, and I am sorry to hear you have cancelled your policy. If there is anything that I can do to assist, please let me know. Liz

Anonymous
Anonymous

Hi Liz, it would be appreciated if you could refund the premiums taken off my bank account after I cancelled the pet insurance. Thanks.

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Anonymous- can you send me your policy details and I will look into it? Thanks Liz


Kirk

KirkHobart, TAS

  • Verified customer

I sincerely wish that Human Health Insurance were even half as good as PetSecure

published

I have had a great experience with PetSecure. I have two dogs, and my previous dog was with PetSecure too. When my girl got sick a month ago, and she needed to be go overnight to the emergency after hours clinic, it was a real comfort to know that we had the solidity of PetSecure behind us. I have never dealt with a more straightforward and hassle-free insurer in any other domain (health, car, home ...).

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Kirk, thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that your girl got so sick - but thankfully you had insurance in place, so had help with the costs. All the best to you and your dog in 2020. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

  • Verified customer

Great coverage

published

Quick and efficient claims process through multiple vet hospitals. The coverage has really helped financially during the first year of our puppy’s life. Ingesting the wrong things is customary with puppy’s and the claims have been paid out in full with respect to our coverage.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Jarrad - thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the cover has helped you financially during your first year of “puppyhood”! It’s amazing how they find things to eat everywhere! Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Reiner

ReinerGreat Southern, WA

  • Verified customer

Need to review upfront cost per claims.

published

All pet insurance was given Shonky awards 2019 by choice. The problem is they are blanketed by common exclusions which limits there ability to meet consumer demands. In addition to this the upfront cost on each claim can be thousands which can be difficult for most.

Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Glenice Ives

Glenice IvesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

This is a good service but it is very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable.

published

I have been with PetSecure for 10 years and now have 2 dogs with PetSecure. I have found them very good in relation to claims provided the vet has given sufficient information. However they are very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable. I also have problem with the $300 limit on consultations in one year. Recently one of my dogs had one problem that required 3 consults at local vet and one specialist consult and the $300 was gone with one problem.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Shane W.

Shane W.Perth, WA

  • Verified customer

Made many claims. Always pay and very prompt and professional. Couldn't have done without it!

published

Been with this company for years. Made many claims and never had a problem. Even with a sausage dog and 3 back ops :(. Recommend this company, we would of been lost without it!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Hayley Patterson

Hayley PattersonCentral Queensland, QLD

  • Verified customer

Very poor customer service

published

Informed we would wait 5 to 7 working days for reimbursement after claim was assessed. Gave all requested documents immediately. With each call they said they had all the necessary requested documentation until a month later when they needed more. Finally after 7 weeks, many phone calls, lots of anxiety and resorting to threats of litigation reimbursement was put into our account . Won't be renewing with petsecure.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


  • Verified customer

Satisfied customer

published

Took separate Policies for 2 cats. good value for money and claims process quite fast with payment going straight into account. I have recommended this type of PetSecure policy to family and friends.

Value for Money
Transparency
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Mother of Bengals - thank you very much for your review. Pleased to hear you’re happy with your policy, and thank you also for recommending PetSecure! Warm wishes for the year ahead. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

  • Verified customer

An absolute life saver

published

I took out my Petsecure Insurance when my Labrador was 8 weeks old.
When she was one she started having Epileptic Seizures, after lots of tests, she was to be medicated for her life. This medication is super expensive in animals, my pet insurance has always covered 85% of her medication & associated tests.
She is now a 7 year old happy Lab, never have I had an issue with Petsecure in those 7 years, it has been a great support to know they have me covered. It has been an awesome investment.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Julie - thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear your Lab is able to lead a happy life, in spite of having a medical condition! All the best to both of you for 2020! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

  • Verified customer

No headaches, peace of mind!

published

We have PetSecure ever since we bought our 1st dog Jose (he is 10now) after 1 year we bought Flor and she completed our family. We opted for the 85% plan and never had problem with the eventual claim. Its very peace of mind

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Isabel, thank you for your review! We are pleased that this cover gives you peace of mind - and we appreciate your loyalty. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


  • Verified customer

Extortionists

published

Policy states 85% coverage. Common ailments like teeth are not covered at all. Other common ailments like cruciate ligaments, cover is reduced significantly. Claims drag on for months, trying to find references to preexistance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Number of Pets5 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Blakey48

Blakey48Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good cover a prompt service.

published

The policy was easy to set up and I think it is reasonable good value. With the exception of a little hiccup early on in the policy my claims have been accepted and paid promptly. My dog will be 4 on January 9 and he has been covered in all of that time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Blakey - thank you for your review and feedback. I hope all your future interactions will run smoothly! Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Paul Terrett

Paul TerrettCentral, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Good unless you need assistance

published

The policy was good initially but back of house customer service is non existent. They never return calls and understanding them is very difficult. To be more effective they need a call centre in Australia where they do not rely on scripts for customer service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets7 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Paul - thank you for your review and feedback. I will ensure this is passed on to our administrators - and I hope we’ll do better next time. Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Roslyn Parker

Roslyn ParkerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified customer

Quick Service

published

We have been with you a few years and are happy with your good service. We are handled in a professional manner. Also we receive payment within a reasonable time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Roslyn, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the service and you’ve received payments in good time. We believe that’s very important. Warm regards and all the best for 2021. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

  • Verified customer

good to have as backup for when your dog needs vet assistance.

published

Have been with petsecure ever since I bought my dog - he is now 10. Claiming took a couple of weeks but it was easy. Would be great if insurance companies covered preventative dental surgery though - that would help ease the cost and burden a little. All in all though we have found petsecure to be good value.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Diamond Girl

Diamond GirlSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

So glad I took the Cover out for my Darling Sheltie 10yrs ago

published

Have only claimed two times in about 10yrs. - both claims very promptly settled and money in account within about 7-10 days. No problems whatsoever. Excellent service from PetSecure, would certainly recommend it for pet lovers.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Diamond Girl! Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you are happy with the service - and thank you too for recommending Petsecure! Warm wishes for the festive season! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Susie

SusieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Excellent cover and so easy to claim

published

I have been with Petsecure for about 17 years. I think it is good value for money and making a claim is so easy and convenient! It gives me peace of mind.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Susie, thank you very much for your feedback. So pleased to hear that you find having Petsecure in place gives you peace of mind, and thank you also for being such a loyal client. Much appreciated. Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


John Stoker

John StokerPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Very happy to have the cover. Couldn't live without it.

published

Excellent value for money. They are only a phone away call to set up the policy.
Claims are resolved in a matter of 4 or 5 days most times.
Been with PetSecure for 5 years.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi John, thank you very much for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate your loyalty. Warm regards and all the best for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


karen

karenPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Be lost without it

published

I have been very happy with the service,i have claimed several times this year money put back in the back usually within 10 to 14 days I would be lost without it.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Karen - thank you very much for your review. Its good to hear that you have been happy with our service. Warm regards and wishing you a peaceful holiday season! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Douglas Spiers

Douglas SpiersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

Efficient service, punctual payment of claims

published

I have been with Pet Secure for about 5 years and have claimed a number of times.
At all times the claims have been handled efficiently and payment made promptly. The service is expensive but good insurance for unforeseen problems.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Douglas - thank you very much for your review. Its good to hear that you have found the insurance valuable and that you are happy with the service when claiming. Wishing you all the best for 2020! Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure


Page 1 of 5

See all PetSecure reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about PetSecure - Accident & Illness Cover but you can read 4 questions about PetSecure.


Get an answer from our members and PetSecure representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.