??!
1 photo
PetSecure
4.1 from 431 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.0 (15)
  • Transparency
    4.0 (13)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (15)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (7)
    • 1-2 weeks (9)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (19) · No
Previous
Next
Nicole Miethke

Nicole MiethkeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fast and easy claim process

published

Fast and easy claim process and payment which helps a lot when your pet has an accident. I have been with them for over 3 years. Good value for money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Nicole - thank you very much for your review. So pleased to hear you are happy with the cover and service. Thank you also for your loyalty over the past 3 years.

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Charlotte L.

Charlotte L.Sydney, NSW

Claims processed quickly once received but let down by errors in claims portal

published

Once a claim is submitted the communication about the claim being in process is clear and concise. Funds are deposited in a reasonable amount of time, usually no longer than 3 days from when the claim has been submitted. The customer service team are also responsive and helpful. The one component letting this great provider down is its out of date, glitchy claims portal. I am constantly logged out seconds after logging in, forms and invoices don't always upload and I've regularly received error messages when trying to lodge a claim. If this software and back end was updated to something more proficient this would make for a seamless customer experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Lindam

LindamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Current Technical Difficulties

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marcia

MarciaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Best decision I ever made

published

Cover is not cheap, but so worth it when your pet needs urgent veterinary intervention. I've been with PetSecure since 1998 and covered 7 pets over the time, including long term illnesses such as epilepsy, diabetes and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, numerous surgeries including multiple removals of benign and malignant tumours, and emergency abdominal surgery, referrals and treatment by a veterinary neurologist (for epilepsy), ultrasounds etc etc.
A down side is you still need to be able to pay the bill in full at the time of treatment, however my vet sends all the info once paid directly to PetSecure and I usually have the claim resolved and reimbursement in my account within 48 hours.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Marcia, thank you very much for your review and your feedback. It's good to know that you have pet insurance in place when your beloved pets suffer from illness and injury. Thank you for your loyalty. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Doug

Doug Southern and Hills, SA

Great value, certainly been good for the care of our two staffies

published

Been with Petsecure for more than 11 years, through broken legs, allergies, operations and just General illness. Claims handled promptly, within a week, especially now that claims are lodged through the portal.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Doug - thank you for your review - we are very happy to hear that you’ve found the service to be good throughout the various ailments your Staffies have experienced! We hope you are all well and safe during these trying times. Warm regards Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Stan Franks

Stan FranksSydney, NSW

Claims

published

claims resolved in quick time
I have been with insurance company for 2 years.
Hope monthly rates stay within my budget.
My Online Account is very easy to follow for inquiries needed.
Customer Service excellent.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Stan, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have had a positive experience over the past two years. Warm regards, and stay safe. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Clive L

Clive LPerth, WA

always so helpful answering queries

published

We have had our two Westies insured with you from their arrival with us at 10-12 weeks. Claims are dealt with very efficiently and now we lodge on line it appears to be a very smooth process.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Clive, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the cover for your two Westies! We hope that you are all well and safe. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Great service

published

Good value pet insurance for my two and a half year old Blue Heeler.
Claiming has been easy via our vet, and I have been paid swiftly once the claims were approved.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Glenice Ives

Glenice IvesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

This is a good service but it is very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable.

published

I have been with PetSecure for 10 years and now have 2 dogs with PetSecure. I have found them very good in relation to claims provided the vet has given sufficient information. However they are very expensive. A $300 (25%) increase in one year is unacceptable. I also have problem with the $300 limit on consultations in one year. Recently one of my dogs had one problem that required 3 consults at local vet and one specialist consult and the $300 was gone with one problem.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blakey48

Blakey48Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Good cover a prompt service.

published

The policy was easy to set up and I think it is reasonable good value. With the exception of a little hiccup early on in the policy my claims have been accepted and paid promptly. My dog will be 4 on January 9 and he has been covered in all of that time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Blakey - thank you for your review and feedback. I hope all your future interactions will run smoothly! Warm regards for 2020. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jenni Liddell

Jenni Liddell

  • 2 reviews

good to have as backup for when your dog needs vet assistance.

published

Have been with petsecure ever since I bought my dog - he is now 10. Claiming took a couple of weeks but it was easy. Would be great if insurance companies covered preventative dental surgery though - that would help ease the cost and burden a little. All in all though we have found petsecure to be good value.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Ang

AngPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews

Need continual help with finances

published

Happy with Policy and easy to set up, Premiums go up every year I suppose like any other Insurance company. Could not have done without Insurance cover.
Within two weeks for any claim as long as I use the Pet Secure Portal.
We have been with Pet Secure 8 Years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Ang, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your Policy. Seasons greetings to you and your pet. Warm regards, LIz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Linda Rogers

Linda RogersWestern Australia

  • 5 reviews

A Blessing for Gilly and me

published

This was a good purchase. The claims are resolved in reasonable time. I have had the insurance for at least 8 years. It has meant I can take my Gilly to the vet and have him well cared for and had him be comfortable.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Linda, thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have been able to take care of Gilly when necessary. Thank you for choosing Petsecure. Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Rebecca

RebeccaPerth, WA

I need pet insurance it is a choice of treatment or death for my dogs.

published

I am very pleased with the way my claim was paid in a short time after receiving my claim. I think it is getting to expensive to insure dogs, Even for my young dog the cost seems very high, however I really have no option so will continue to insure my dogs.. I have been with Petsecure for 4.5 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Rebecca - thank you for your review and feedback and thank you for your loyalty. I hope your dogs are doing well. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Jennifer P

Jennifer PPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Claim for my Puppy

published

My puppy is 17 months and had a couple of small claims before and was paid very promptly However this last claim which was for $1200 didn't run so smoothly as they kept saying they didnt have the appropriate documentation which had been sent 3 times . Having said that I would not go any where els I am about to get another dog in 2 weeks and will be insuring with PetSecure

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Jennifer, thank you very much for your review, and your feedback. I am sorry that your last claim did not run so smoothly. I will make sure the claims team are aware of this feedback and hopefully we will do better next time. Warm regards, Liz

Jennifer P
Jennifer P

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David Kenny

David KennyPerth, WA

A worthwhile investment.

published

My Aussie Shepherd "Focus" now going on 13 and sadly has age related issues.
She has been insured with Petsecure for 11 years and with ongoing treatment Petsecure has covered costs with no fuss.
It is a worthwhile expense for my best Mate and relieves the financial pressure.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

hi David, thank you very much for your review. It is difficult when your pet ages and develops issues - but thankfully you are able to give Focus the care he deserves. I hope he is comfortable and leading a happy life with you. Warm regards, Liz

David Kenny
David Kenny

"Focus" is a SHE ! the love of my life .

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Sorry David! I had a dog called Bozzie who was also a she, but everyone assumed she was a he - so I do know how it feels! Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

James Mcfarland

James McfarlandSydney, NSW

Satisfied with service

published

Have been with Petsecure for about eight years. Always quick responding to claims.
Whilst I think the premiums are quire expensive ( I have three dogs) the service and
speedy esponse (to date) keeps me with you. Thankyou.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi James, thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you are happy with the service we provide for your 3 dogs. Thank you for your loyalty. Warm regards Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Would be lost without it

published

With Pet Secure for 10 years. Now that my dog has significant health issues, I can provide the expensive medications for her. I lodge online and claims are paid into my bank account, usually within 2-3 days. Customer service is excellent and staff are really helpful.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog and Horse
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Constant rejection of a comprehensive insurance claim

published

Very poor. Yes they can confirm that my old dog is comprehensively insured however they can offer no valid reason as to why my claims for him are continually rejected.

February 11th 2019: Better than some

Claim processing is quite quick. I have been with the company for 9.5 years. I feel that the premium increases are quite alarming, particularly when the rebate for annayl vaccination is so paltry. No where near the 85% refund of other procedures.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hello Amanda - thank you for your feedback. If you would like to have your claim reviewed please let us know and we can do this for you. Kind regards , Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

See all PetSecure reviews

Questions & Answers

Dave

Daveasked

Accident Cover

If my 1 year old puppy has previously broken a bone in one of its front legs and had metal plate put in. Would this be covered in future if the dog has a new break on the same front leg?

No answers
Edna H.

Edna H.asked

PetSecure

what is the cost for full coverage for 2 chiwawahs?

3 answers
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Edna, thank you for your question! The best thing to do is to go online and get your personal quote for your 2 dogs. There are a few variables, like the age of the pet and the cover you choose, which will affect the premium. visit www.petsecure.com.au to get a quick quote. You can also call 1300 855 160 and we can give you a quote over the phone.

Masniah W.
Masniah W.

I am not happy at all because i pay 5k for surgery and not cover and i was told it pre existing condition. but i was on insurance when she first start having the incontinent and i have not yet claim until this big surgery happened. so to me no point having insurance if it not even cover for int medicine. so if i have to pay 10K i won't get some back. so what the point paying 37 a month that just waste of money.

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Masniah - thank you for your feed back - the underwriter would have reviewed the vet history of your pet to come to the decision - but if you private message me your policy details I will look into your claim. However it is correct that pre-existing conditions are excluded - this is because insurance is intended to cover unexpected events, and if the condition already exists then it would not be an unexpected event. You can also email me the details at liz@petsecure.com.au Regards, Liz

Pippin

Pippinasked

PetSecure

My dog ( Papillion) has very early stage spinal degeneration......7 years old No slipped discs etc and no need for surgery.
Would he be covered

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Pippin, this sounds like this is a pre- existing condition which means it would not be covered. He can only be covered for illnesses that are not pre- existing. Kind regards Liz

Get an answer from our members and PetSecure representatives

Details

Compare both PetSecure
CategoryPet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$8,000$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 85%Up to 85%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover IncludedIncluded
Illness CoverNot IncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included$500
Emergency Boarding Fees$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days
Compare both PetSecure

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.