??!
1 photo
PetSecure

PetSecure (page 2 of 22)

Accident & Illness Cover, Accident Cover
4.1 from 430 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.4 (116)
  • Transparency
    4.4 (102)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (115)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (50), 1-2 weeks (52), 2-4 weeks (25), 1-2 months (2) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (119) · No (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Douglas Spiers

Douglas SpiersGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

A good product

published

Rapid response and payment of claim. A straight forward process with the assistance of the Vet. The Policy has been in place for around 5 Years without any problems. While claims have been rare, it was fortunate that we were covered on this occasion considering the procedure that was required for our dog.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

colleenq

colleenq

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

pet insurance

published

It was very quick and easy Thankyou we were pleased with the rebate . Found them easy to deal with . The policy was easy to set up.I have been with the company 15months

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi colleenq - t hank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your rebate and that we have been easy to deal with. I hope you and your dog are keeping safe. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Baxter14

Baxter14

  • 2 reviews

Reliable and there when needed

published

We have been with Petsecure since our Golden Retriever was 12 weeks old. Baxter had been blessed with good health and we had only made the old claim for small things like skin irritations and ear infections - each of these claims went smoothly and were handled in a timely manor. Unfortunate at the beginning of this year Baxter started to have issues with his hind legs and in April we found out he needed bilateral ACL repairs. Persecute were very helpful during this time and gave us pre approval for the claim. This was very reassuring during a financially stressful time and meant that we knew we could do the best for our boy.
Petsecure are timely in their communications and very compassionate to deal with. Highly recommended!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I caint imagine being without pet insurance, it’s fantastic.

published

This time 8yrs, but we have had petsecure for another of our pets quite a few years ago. They have always been prompt with their refunds,. Over the years I have have found no fault with them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Merrilyn - thank you so much for your positive review. We very much appreciate your loyalty - and are pleased to hear you are happy with the service. We hope you and your dog are keeping safe. Warm regards, LIz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Very Glad we have Pet Secure Insurance.

published

We have been with Pet Secure for about 5 1/2 years, Bella was a Rescue Dog, soon after we got her she started to Have Seizures, The Local Vet did all they could for her and recommended her to a Dog Neurologist
who took over Bella's care, she is on Lots of Medication every day 14tablets daily, but luckily no more Seizures, So we are very lucky to be with Pet Secure because there are lots of Bills for Medication and Vet Visits.
As soon as Pet Secure receives out Bills they reply to let us know that they have received our Claim then a few days Later we get a Cheque or the Money paid Directly into our Bank.

Bella is a Golden Retreiver.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Leonard, thank you very much for your review. It's good to know that Bella can continue to have the care she deserves to keep her safe and happy into her old age. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Ang

AngPeel, WA

  • 2 reviews

Excellent company!

published

We rescued our Labrador cross Mastiff as a pup she’s nine years old now. We insured her with Pet Secure as soon as we got her 9 year ago.
We are very happy with Pet Secures service with prompt refunds. So happy we insured our dog with Pet Secure.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Ang, Aww so lovely that you have a rescue dog - they are the BEST! Thank you for your great review, and your long term loyalty. It is much appreciated. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Terry

TerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great Cover

published

Been with PetSecure Insurance for ages, always prompt to acknowledge receipt of any claim. Then quick to pay. Great Cover, well worth having. As your pet gets older vets are more regular.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Terry, thank you very much for your review - really appreciate your loyalty and very happy to hear that you are happy with Petsecure claims service. I hope you and your dog are staying safe and well. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Without doubt the best pet insurance company!

published

Petsecure are by far the best, most caring, compassionate and understanding pet insurance company I have ever dealt with. Every time I have submitted a claim it has been settled without question and when times were tough and I lost all of my income they were absolutely fantastic. I have been with them for 8 years and would only ever buy my policy with them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Emma, thank you very much for your positive review. We are so pleased to hear that you have had a great experience with Petsecure. Thank you also for your loyalty over the past 8 years. Warm regards, LIz

John Stoker

John StokerPeel, WA

The Insurance cover is Perfect for our Cavoodle.

published

We have been with the company 6 years and it was easy to setup, very good customer service, company answers questions quickly and pays claims within 2 to 3 days.
Has been a fantastic investment

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi John - thank you very much for your 5 star review! We are very pleased to hear you are happy with our service. Thank you also for your loyalty. Warm regards Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Charlotte L.

Charlotte L.Sydney, NSW

Claims processed quickly once received but let down by errors in claims portal

published

Once a claim is submitted the communication about the claim being in process is clear and concise. Funds are deposited in a reasonable amount of time, usually no longer than 3 days from when the claim has been submitted. The customer service team are also responsive and helpful. The one component letting this great provider down is its out of date, glitchy claims portal. I am constantly logged out seconds after logging in, forms and invoices don't always upload and I've regularly received error messages when trying to lodge a claim. If this software and back end was updated to something more proficient this would make for a seamless customer experience.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Kaylene Osborn

Kaylene OsbornMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Amazing Insurance Company

published

I purchased PetSecure insurance when I first purchased Bella some 11 years ago now. It was, at the time, very easy to set up, and I have been paying the premiums easily by direct debit every month ever since. They make it easy, and it's not unlike having your own health insurance, it's health insurance for my beloved pet and family member. Bella has had a few issues over the years, and PetSecure has paid quickly and easily every time. I can highly recommend them, and have done so to other family members who have purchased insurance from PetSecure as well.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Great Prompt Service!

published

I have been with Petsecure for over 10 years and have always insured my pets through them. My dog was recently diagnosed with Melanoma and the service provided by Petsecure and prompt payment of my claims has made this difficult time less stressful. Thankyou so much to all the team at Petsecure!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets4 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Tom H.

Tom H.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

They saved us

published

We have been with them 4 years within the first year of being with them unfortunately our dachshund required a major surgery got back 85% no dramas really quick turn around for the claim

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Gail

Gail

  • 2 reviews

Very happy with PetSecure. Claims are always processed promptly.

published

Have been with PetSecure for 9 years. Pet insurance is expensive but in our case Well worth the money as our pet has had many claims due to his illness.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Gail, thank you very much for your positive review, and thank you for your loyalty over the past 9 years. Warm regards, LIz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

This insurance has paid for itself many times over.

published

A customer for 11 years. Policy was quick to set up and claims attended to quickly. Terms and conditions are clear so you know what you are signing up for.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Eli - thank you very much for your review. We’re pleased to hear you are happy with our service and your cover. Thank you also for your loyalty over 11 years Warm regards Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Pet Insurance

Find out how PetSecure compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
shirley denton

shirley dentonQueensland

  • 3 reviews

I highly recommend Pet secure

published

I have two dogs insured with pet secure
The policies offer great value for for money
My claims have been processed in a timely manner
With my older dog who has
Serious medical problems
All claims have been met
I have been with Pet secure over five years now
I highly recommend this company

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Shirley, thank you very much for your review in June. We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for your loyalty over the past 5 years. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Lindam

LindamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Current Technical Difficulties

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Luke

LukePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very easy with no fuss!

published

Been with petsecure for 11 years and have been very happy with them. Very easy and fast if you need to make a claim and wouldn't have a pet without insurance!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Luke thank you for your review - and thank you for your loyalty! Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Marcia

MarciaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Best decision I ever made

published

Cover is not cheap, but so worth it when your pet needs urgent veterinary intervention. I've been with PetSecure since 1998 and covered 7 pets over the time, including long term illnesses such as epilepsy, diabetes and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, numerous surgeries including multiple removals of benign and malignant tumours, and emergency abdominal surgery, referrals and treatment by a veterinary neurologist (for epilepsy), ultrasounds etc etc.
A down side is you still need to be able to pay the bill in full at the time of treatment, however my vet sends all the info once paid directly to PetSecure and I usually have the claim resolved and reimbursement in my account within 48 hours.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Marcia, thank you very much for your review and your feedback. It's good to know that you have pet insurance in place when your beloved pets suffer from illness and injury. Thank you for your loyalty. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Gary Jones

Gary JonesMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Thank You for allowing us to have our Dog after a serious Illness

published

Petsecure have helped us with the treatment for our Dog Poppy who has contracted an aggressive cancer, we have had the surgery and now Chemotheraphy, and hopefully a longer life

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Gary, I am so sorry to hear that Poppy contracted cancer. I hope that the operation and treatment does the trick, and gives her a long and good quality of life. Thank you very much for your review. Warm regards, Liz

Gary Jones
Gary Jones
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Good luck with Poppy’s chemo Gary. We are fortunate that there are things that can be done nowadays to help our beloved pets when they fall ill. They are such an important part of our lives. Warm regards, Liz

Review collected in partnership with PetSecure

Page 2 of 22
See all PetSecure reviews

Questions & Answers

Dave

Daveasked

Accident Cover

If my 1 year old puppy has previously broken a bone in one of its front legs and had metal plate put in. Would this be covered in future if the dog has a new break on the same front leg?

No answers
Edna H.

Edna H.asked

PetSecure

what is the cost for full coverage for 2 chiwawahs?

3 answers
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Edna, thank you for your question! The best thing to do is to go online and get your personal quote for your 2 dogs. There are a few variables, like the age of the pet and the cover you choose, which will affect the premium. visit www.petsecure.com.au to get a quick quote. You can also call 1300 855 160 and we can give you a quote over the phone.

Masniah W.
Masniah W.

I am not happy at all because i pay 5k for surgery and not cover and i was told it pre existing condition. but i was on insurance when she first start having the incontinent and i have not yet claim until this big surgery happened. so to me no point having insurance if it not even cover for int medicine. so if i have to pay 10K i won't get some back. so what the point paying 37 a month that just waste of money.

PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Masniah - thank you for your feed back - the underwriter would have reviewed the vet history of your pet to come to the decision - but if you private message me your policy details I will look into your claim. However it is correct that pre-existing conditions are excluded - this is because insurance is intended to cover unexpected events, and if the condition already exists then it would not be an unexpected event. You can also email me the details at liz@petsecure.com.au Regards, Liz

Pippin

Pippinasked

PetSecure

My dog ( Papillion) has very early stage spinal degeneration......7 years old No slipped discs etc and no need for surgery.
Would he be covered

1 answer
PetSecure
Liz W.PetSecure

Hi Pippin, this sounds like this is a pre- existing condition which means it would not be covered. He can only be covered for illnesses that are not pre- existing. Kind regards Liz

Get an answer from our members and PetSecure representatives

Details

Compare both PetSecure
CategoryPet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$8,000$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 85%Up to 85%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverNot IncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Tick ParalysisNot Included$500
Emergency Boarding Fees$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days$500 if you are hospitalised for 5 or more consecutive days
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period21 Days21 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days
Compare both PetSecure

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.